Hacking PS Vita 3.15 FW... best route for CFW?

snappycg1996

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I am a total noob in the CFW scene for the Vita. I was huge in the PSP scene back in the day, but never bought a Vita. I bought one off my brother who never used it either and it has firmware 3.15 which was released two years ago I believe.

I would like to be able to run homebrew/emulators, PS1 games, and more importantly, PSP games. I read about VHBL and TN-V, but are these the best solution for my old firmware or is there something more CFW permanent?

D

Deleted User

Sorry, but you're out of luck for a native Vita CFW. You're options at the moment for PSP/PS1 backups are, like you said, through TN-V. But not VHBL; that is only for PSP homebrew.

As for wanting to set up the PSP-side CFW (TN-V) then you can either follow my guide, or Hackinformer's PlayStation Guide.

EDIT: I just remembered that there is also a way to make Custom PS1 Bubbles for the home screen so that you can run them through the Vita's official PS1 "emulator" so they run faster than what TN-V can run them at. But in my opinion, it's not recommended because I, personally, have never been able to get them working for my life. :wink:

Last edited by ,

snappycg1996

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Sorry, but you're out of luck for a native Vita CFW. You're options at the moment for PSP/PS1 backups are, like you said, through TN-V. But not VHBL; that is only for PSP homebrew.

As for wanting to set up the PSP-side CFW (TN-V) then you can either follow my guide, or Hackinformer's PlayStation Guide.

EDIT: I just remembered that there is also a way to make Custom PS1 Bubbles for the home screen so that you can run them through the Vita's official PS1 "emulator" so they run faster than what TN-V can run them at. But in my opinion, it's not recommended because I, personally, have never been able to get them working for my life. :wink: