multiMAN beginner's guide

Discussion in 'PS3 - Tutorials' started by Cyan, May 2, 2011.

  1. codezer0

    codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Member
    2,411
    385
    Jul 14, 2009
    United States
    The Magic School Bus
    Actually... it is.
     


  2. trumpet-205

    trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Member
    4,363
    542
    Jan 14, 2009
    United States
    Still wouldn't put any bets into it. Many PS3 developers are "anti-cobra" to being with.
     
  3. codezer0

    codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Member
    2,411
    385
    Jul 14, 2009
    United States
    The Magic School Bus
    :glare: well, maybe some people need to get the *expletive* over themselves and work on it.

    It's open source now, so there is no excuse left.
     
  4. trumpet-205

    trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Member
    4,363
    542
    Jan 14, 2009
    United States
    Before Cobra went open source many developers have already decrypted the content on Cobra USB, there never was any movement to implement it on CFW or separate PS3 homebrews.

    IMO this open source does nothing to PS3 Scene.
     
  5. codezer0

    codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Member
    2,411
    385
    Jul 14, 2009
    United States
    The Magic School Bus
    I really don't get all the hate for those of us with BC PS3's. :angry:

    First they refuse to make a solder-free solution for any of the NAND-backup solutions out there.

    Next they completely skip over disc backup support for PS2 and favor PS1 games.

    Now that we actually have the source code to make it happen, nobody wants to finally make it happen?

    Nevermind the full-screen PSP game support.

    This seriously upsets me right now. :nayps3:
     
  6. Psionic Roshambo

    Psionic Roshambo GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,803
    652
    Aug 12, 2011
    United States


    It's not so much hate as there really are not that many BC PS3's in the grand scheme of things.

    So they just kind of get ignored :(

    Trust me I feel your pain as mine is a 20GB launch unit and while I can convert almost any PS2 game into a PS2 Classic, getting them to work is not something I have had a lot of success with.
     
  7. ToddofWar420

    ToddofWar420 CoverFlow Artist

    Member
    496
    197
    Mar 20, 2012
    United States
    Outworld
    This is a very awesome guide Cyan. Thanks for your time and efforts you've put in to this.
     
  8. Zeliga

    Zeliga One step closer.

    Member
    191
    32
    Sep 28, 2013
    Kalos
    Nice guide, I found it very helpful thanks cyan.
     
  9. Cyan
    OP

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,422
    8,003
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    Thanks.
    Even if it's based on 2.x, I'm glad it helped you with 4.x
    I'm sorry it doesn't cover new features (like MMOS), and it might explain things which are not there anymore. I don't have time and courage to update it. Maybe if it was converted to a Wiki, everyone could update it?
    But it's a way to see how basic function of the program are working.
     
    shadetree likes this.
  10. AdmissionBanned

    AdmissionBanned Member

    Newcomer
    36
    8
    Aug 2, 2013
    Chad
    Hello Im trying to get a 4.55 Firmware game working on my Rebug 4.46 I have the latest version of multiman BUT its telling me i need to update?

    Help me please thank you very much
     
  11. Smashbro29

    Smashbro29 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    443
    37
    May 25, 2009
    United States
    I was wondering if you could delete folders from within the explorer.
     
  12. Cyan
    OP

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,422
    8,003
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    I never tested to delete files or folders from multiMAN, I use only the copy command.
    I think there's a delete option when you open the context menu over a file, I don't remember if there's one with folder (maybe only empty folders?).
    I didn't use multiMAN past 2.x, so I'm basing my knowledge on the old interface, not the "desk-like" interface.
     
  13. JTW

    JTW Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    0
    Nov 11, 2014
    United States
    I registered just to say thanks for this great guide. It has been very helpful in setting up my PS3 for NTFS. Thanks for all your hard work.
     
  14. CheeseCake

    CheeseCake GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    279
    146
    Jul 26, 2014
    United States
    On the Kitchen Table Obviously
    Yea you can delete files in the File Manager. It's like using Windows Explorer. There's Copy, Cut, Delete, Rename, File info, etc.

    I recommend not touching anything else except your HDD0: files because that's all you would really need to access if you're a common CFW user like me.
     
  15. Smashbro29

    Smashbro29 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    443
    37
    May 25, 2009
    United States
    Thanks, I'll give it a shot. I want to clear all my music and doing it on the XMB is the most tedious thing ever.
     
  16. gamer89

    gamer89 Newbie

    Newcomer
    4
    0
    Dec 26, 2014
    United States
    I have spent countless hours trying to get my Seagate 3 TB external HDD to work with Multiman but nothing seems to work. I have CFW Rogero 4.55.

    It will not detect my FAT32 partition, I have tried everything, from setting it to primary, logical, setting it "active." Formating it so it has a 32 KB cluster size. Nothing works.

    Games work fine off my small USB keys, however this external HDD is causing me so much trouble.

    Someone please help?
     
  17. codezer0

    codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Member
    2,411
    385
    Jul 14, 2009
    United States
    The Magic School Bus
    The PS3 itself can't detect more than 2TB per drive to begin with.
     
    gamer89 likes this.
  18. gamer89

    gamer89 Newbie

    Newcomer
    4
    0
    Dec 26, 2014
    United States

    OH, I never knew that. Even if the FAT32 partition is 1 TB on a 3 TB drive, it still won't detect it?
     
  19. codezer0

    codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Member
    2,411
    385
    Jul 14, 2009
    United States
    The Magic School Bus
    Then what you might be running into is the other problem, the same problem I had when I tried using a 3TB hard drive for my backup/image drive... Simply, it might be an issue where the PS3 doesn't like these new "4K sectors" going on with every hard drive with a capacity greater than 2TB.

    I certainly hope the PS4 did address this; though I don't have a lot of faith in Sony there, either.
     
    gamer89 likes this.
  20. gamer89

    gamer89 Newbie

    Newcomer
    4
    0
    Dec 26, 2014
    United States

    I see, so I think my best bet here would be to stop struggling with my 3 TB & buy a 2 TB external or internal. I do have a 1 TB external formatted to FAT32 & it works fine, it's this 3 TB that's giving me so much trouble. Thanks for the help btw & fast reply!