multiMAN beginner's guide

Discussion in 'PS3 - Tutorials' started by Cyan, May 2, 2011.

  1. Cyan
    OP

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,076
    8,586
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    to delete the cache, there's a setting in multiMAN.
    Maybe your version is too old and doesn't have any cache. or you never cached anything (it's maybe only affecting games with multipart on external drive, caching the unplit part on internet). But you can check if you have that option.
    Go to the XMMB (XMB-like menu layout). To the left side, go to MultiMAN settings (the toolbox icon) and search for the cache option (it's near the top)
    You can select delete cache, and it will list all the affected games.

    Oh, I just read my guide again, and it's saying :
    "Since multiMAN v2.00.00, user settings can be changed directly from the XMMB layout, under the Settings column."
    So you probably don't have that column, and therefore no cache setting available here.
    [​IMG]


    You can look in your multiMAN folder on your internal hdd, if it's few MB you don't have any cached game file. If it's few GB, you can find that folder easily and delete it manually.


    About the game settings, now that I think about it, they are stored inside the game folder (PS3_GAME). not inside multiMAN.
    At least, it's where it was saved on 2.x
    sorry I don't remember all the changelog and when features were added or edited.

    Just backup your entire multiMAN folder to your computer (using FTP) and you will be sure to get all the settings saved.
     
    robilyn likes this.


  2. Zero72463

    Zero72463 GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,255
    602
    Jun 27, 2016
    United States
    There is a limited version of Multiman for PS4 right? Does this in anyway help with the PS4 version, or will you be doing something on that to? @Cyan
     
    Last edited by Zero72463, Aug 29, 2016
  3. kenmai

    kenmai Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    0
    Nov 22, 2016
    got a ps3 with multiman 1.16 and a omg lvl2 patcher. System software version 3.55. Can i upgrade it to higher multiman or can it play new games? newbie here. thanks
     
  4. Dulicious

    Dulicious Member

    Newcomer
    12
    2
    Dec 3, 2016
    United States
    thanks!
     
  5. LaMpiR

    LaMpiR Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    0
    Aug 26, 2017
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Hello good people. I just a gift ps3 with 4.81 firmware. I have no idea what was the original firmware. Is there any chance to jailbreak it? Thank you.
     
  6. Cyan
    OP

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,076
    8,586
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    that's not the correct thread.
    there is one named "is my PS3 jailbreakable?"
    I think you need E3 flasher hardware device to overwrite your PS3's memory and downgrade the firmware to 3.55
    Few years ago, it was required that the console already had a firmware that low (or lower) at least once, I don't know if it's still a requirement.
     
    Last edited by Cyan, Aug 26, 2017
  7. codezer0

    codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Member
    2,428
    396
    Jul 14, 2009
    United States
    The Magic School Bus
    Too bad the e3 only works on neutered consoles that never had backwards compatibility.

    Nothing has been made (that I'm aware of) that will work on a NAND flash console.
     
  8. Cyan
    OP

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,076
    8,586
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    NAND console are the old ones, right? new one uses NOR if I'm not mistaking.
    edit: yeah, NAND ones require teensy and soldering skills.

    He should look at a serial number table to know which console type he has and see if he can downgrade it.
    the charts I found are probably outdated, better not link them.
    I found this, so he can check is oldest possible firmware : https://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-check-minimum-firmware-version.318773/
     
    Last edited by Cyan, Aug 27, 2017
  9. LaMpiR

    LaMpiR Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    0
    Aug 26, 2017
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Firmware check is saying update data of version 4.22 or later can be installed. So I cannot jailbreak mine?
     
  10. Cyan
    OP

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,076
    8,586
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    I didn't follow PS3 hacking progress, so I can't tell.
    but back when I wrote that guide (2011) you needed a console which already had 3.55 or lower to downgrade to that firmware.
     
  11. RaptorDMG

    RaptorDMG Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    70
    15
    Sep 13, 2015
    Yes only ps3's that can install 3.55 or lower can be downgraded and jailbroken
     
    Cyan likes this.