How to dump your own 3DS/DS games/saves.

Discussion in 'NDS - Tutorials & FAQs' started by Rydian, Jan 13, 2011.

Jan 13, 2011
    • Member

    Chaz. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All I can say is that NDS Adapter+ is actually amazing. Not had one problem and updates piece of cake. and for the price I paid it was well worth it. I reccomend it over the other 2 ways as it is so much more simpler.


    • Member

    TehSkull Addict

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    2,686
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Might be good to include the R4i SaveDongle under the hardware solutions.
    • Member

    felystar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Posts:
    143
    Country:
    Spain
    1.- I've heard in the net that "NDS Backup Tool Wifi" is able to make a backup of your original cartridge game and also to copy a game into that cartridge that isn't the one that was supposted to be in the cartridge, is that true?
    2.- I have used this but I have a problem. I create the .sav file for "Mario & Luigi Partners in Time" wich has 64kb size. Now I want to dump a .sav into my cartridge which is different, it weighs 512kb. If I try to dump that .sav, when I go into the game it seems like it is the first time I am playing the game, I have no progress, everything it's erased. I converted the 512kb .sav to a 64kb .sav using Shunyweb. I say I want to convert from a "RAW Format (.sav)" to a "RAW Format (64kb)". It seems to work well, because I get my new .sav but when I dump it into the cardrige... it doesn't work. It keeps saying there is no game saved. Then, I tried to dump the original .sav that I had in my computer, IT WORKED! Why doesn't it work with another .sav? What do I have to do? Thank you for reading this whole story :)
    • Member

    Team Fail Don't screw with me, kid.

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Posts:
    3,672
    Country:
    Canada
    Did you want to add save backup using the R4i Save Dongle? I can get it all for you as I got a review one.
    • Member

    felystar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Posts:
    143
    Country:
    Spain
    No, I was using my DS Lite and NDS Backup Tool Wifi DLDI patched with my M3 DS Simply and used SmallFTPD in my computer.
    • Newcomer

    twistedominoes Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Posts:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    whenever i try dumping my ds game it says secure area error...does this work on 3ds? :mellow:
    • Newcomer

    themini278 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Posts:
    37
    Country:
    Ireland
    Sorry for bump, need to find out how to do this quickly.
    Have latest AKAIO, 3in1 is in slot 2, battery isn't dead as I was able to play Mother 3.
    When I start backup tool it says ' 3in1 expansion pack not found Please redo from start'
    I tried both the version in this tutorial and the lastest one.
    • Newcomer

    ripperroo123 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Posts:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Can we fix the formatting in the OP?
    Also, does any software solution work on the newest Pokemon games?
    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by ripperroo123, Jan 17, 2013
    • Member

    Yepi69 GBATemp Pokemon, EarthBound, Mother3 Proud Fan Boy

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    1,665
    Location:
    Onett and Tazmily Village
    Country:
    Portugal
    Is it compatible with EZ-Flash IV? As I read, EZ-Flash IV isn't compatible with DLDI patching.
    • Reporter

    FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Posts:
    18,252
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The EZ4 is quite capable of DLDI patching, it lacks autopatch (though if you really want there is a DS code DLDI patcher) and it does not have argv support so some of the very latest/fanciest DS homebrew might not work properly unless you launch it through http://sourceforge.net/projects/devkitpro/files/hbmenu/ or something like it.

    Edit- as for pokemon I believe only the pokewalker stuff needed a specialist dumping program, one was made for those but I am not so sure what goes there.
    • Member

    KazoWAR GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    1,426
    Location:
    Winter Haven
    Country:
    United States
    I believe you are talking about this, but it is not only for Pokemon, but supports all NDS save types.
    • Newcomer

    Symbolik Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Posts:
    16
    Country:
    Portugal
    Does this allow me to, for example, transfer a savegame that I have from a flashcart/emulator to an original game cartridge?
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Posts:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. Only on a DS/Lite though, as the page says.
    • Newcomer

    Symbolik Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Posts:
    16
    Country:
    Portugal
    Thanks :)
    • Newcomer

    Anthoney Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Posts:
    21
    Country:
    Australia
    -deleted-
    Last edited by Anthoney, Mar 16, 2013. Reason: misunderstood.
    • Member

    DiabloStorm Five Gold Star Medalist

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Posts:
    666
    Location:
    Charicific Valley
    Country:
    United States
    Any other link to Dsavemanager? 404'd

    Also...NDS Backup has been updated/changed around a bit, is your guide still good? (Also also...these don't delete/modify the original saves do they?)
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Posts:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    • Newcomer

    Emolsifier Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Hey Rydian, I followed your instructions and noted that the guide failed to mention a key point in succeeding in Slot-1 Wifi dumping using FTp:

    Your wireless signal must be WEP(open). IF the computer generating the server is connected to a WPA network the DS being used will fail to connect regardless of whether the port is open or not. This stumped me for a good hour before I finally read it in another guide for another application for dumping.

    Thanks for the awesome guide!
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Posts:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Well, that goes for DS connectivity period. :P
    • Member

    Kazekai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Posts:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    There doesn't appear to be a place to ask this question so I hope it's fine if I ask it in here, would anyone know how to dump GBA ROMS? The file sizes are so small that I've just downloaded ROMs of my games from ROM sites but would be curious to know how to dump GBC/A games as well as DS games.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page