Guide to: Converting PS1 games for PSP

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Jamstruth, Jan 28, 2010.

Jan 28, 2010
  1. Metoroid0

    Member Metoroid0 Any objections Adam?

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,260
    Location:
    K-2L
    Country:
    Japan
    Ah you shouldn't bother :D but thanks ^_^
     


  2. Isaac

    Member Isaac American

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Here? Right here? What about, say... over there?
    Country:
    United States
    I converted an iso, it worked first time. I'm guessing your iso is corrupt, if you ripped it yourself, do it again (I use imgburn to rip a .bin), if you downloaded it, try a new source. I WOULD link you the iso i used if it were allowed, but its not.
     
  3. Metoroid0

    Member Metoroid0 Any objections Adam?

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,260
    Location:
    K-2L
    Country:
    Japan
    It's OK, i understand :)
    Can you at least tell me the name of the site without www or .com and so on, i'l figure out the rest (since it is not alowed)

    Or i can try to find the right one till i find it. At least now i know thanks to you that game can be played on PSP.

    TKS by the way ;)
     
  4. Isaac

    Member Isaac American

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Here? Right here? What about, say... over there?
    Country:
    United States
    Its my understanding that I can't at risk of being banned. I can tell you that you will need to use ecm tools to decrypt the iso.
     
    Metoroid0 likes this.
  5. Metoroid0

    Member Metoroid0 Any objections Adam?

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,260
    Location:
    K-2L
    Country:
    Japan
    Yes, your right..Sorry for being so rude to ask that of you.

    Thank's for your help, it helped me A lot! :) ^__^
     
  6. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's only if you've downloaded the game from someone who prepped the ISO for compression with ECM conversion to reduce the final file size. Most people won't ever have to bother with ECM.
     
  7. Metoroid0

    Member Metoroid0 Any objections Adam?

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,260
    Location:
    K-2L
    Country:
    Japan
    Please someone tell me how to make Tomb Raider 2 work on my PSP... i'm waiting like 1000 days on answer :O i really don't know what to do...
     
  8. blaisedinsd

    Member blaisedinsd GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    956
    Country:
    United States
    What I have found on the problem games I have had is to give up on trying to rip and convert and instead search for an eboot. I have found a couple of games that were giving me issues including the first Tomb Raider. I think these are rips of the versions you get when purchasing from the playstation store, but they work and don't have the issues I saw when ripping myself.

    I did have to follow the popsloader thread, my 6.60 PRO CFW wouldn't launch these types of games, but I rolled it back one or two versions by holding R button when launching and they have been working great since.
     
  9. blaisedinsd

    Member blaisedinsd GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    956
    Country:
    United States
    So is there a way to take my saves from my PSX memory card and use them on my PSP?
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a gameshark or some other way to get the saves onto your PC, then there's a couple of conversion programs, and something like CWCheatPOPS can import the save files.
     
  11. Metoroid0

    Member Metoroid0 Any objections Adam?

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,260
    Location:
    K-2L
    Country:
    Japan

    I tried to download EBOOT of PSX game "Tomb Raider 2" but non of them worked and one that did was in German -.-
    But how did isaac made HIS game to work??
     
  12. Endrit49

    Newcomer Endrit49 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    Australia
    wwhy is the text so large
     
  13. Metoroid0

    Member Metoroid0 Any objections Adam?

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,260
    Location:
    K-2L
    Country:
    Japan

    What text? o.O
     
  14. blaisedinsd

    Member blaisedinsd GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    956
    Country:
    United States
    To make mine work I followed this thread http://gbatemp.net/threads/guide-to-installing-popsloader-v3-on-pro-b8-through-pro-c-cfw.301579/

    Then hold down the R button when launching the game, select 6.39

    This has worked for all games I have tried that are psn eboots, it remembers too so you don't have to hold R every time you launch the game after you select it the first time.

    Have not tried tomb raider 2, but I got part 1 working.
     
  15. Metoroid0

    Member Metoroid0 Any objections Adam?

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,260
    Location:
    K-2L
    Country:
    Japan
    Actually, i made it work. You don't need to hold anything down, just to find correct ISO and convert it and that's it. :D
    I can only say because of the GBAtemp rules, that i downloaded Euro (PAL) version of Tomb Raider 2 iso and game ID is SLES00718
    I hope that helps someone wanting to make Tomb raider 2 Work :)) just try different ISO files people (whell it's not always in ISO format but you get the point) :D
     
  16. Metoroid0

    Member Metoroid0 Any objections Adam?

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,260
    Location:
    K-2L
    Country:
    Japan
    But my other Question is, How can i make my own PMF icon animations and AT3 Back-Ground music for my PSX eboots?

    I searched all over the internet, but didn't find anything user/noob frendly, they just confused me even more
     
  17. Gamemaster1379

    Member Gamemaster1379 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    577
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
  18. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Just a quick question, can I copy all the folders/items from my memory card to my PC and then format the memory card safely? Will it do anything with my PSP settings/firmware?Just to be safe, I don't think so but better safe than sorry
     
  19. Mira

    Member Mira GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    Italy
    a question:i've followed this guide but jap games doesn't work with this
     
  20. locolol

    Newcomer locolol Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Mexicali,BC
    Country:
    Mexico

Share This Page