DIOS MIOS (Lite)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by sk0ld, Jun 23, 2012.

Jun 23, 2012

DIOS MIOS (Lite) by sk0ld at 6:44 PM (511,664 Views / 36 Likes) 4,789 Comments

    • Member

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    5,135
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    The reason the active/primary myth keeps going on is that while it doesn't have to be MARKED "active", the TYPE of partition does have to be "primary" and people get those two mixed up. If you make a partition it's almost always going to be a primary partiton.

    (- You can have up to 4 primary partitions on your hard drive OR one extended partition with up to 3 primary partitions and then put even more virtual partitions inside the extended partition. "primary" is a TYPE of partition and probably ALL of your partitions will end up being primary unless you tell it otherwise.
    - "active" is just which one is marked for DOS/Windows to boot off of and has nothing to do with DM(L) at all.)


    • Member

    sonictopfan New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Message Count:
    764
    Country:
    Kuwait
    It's weird how many people are complaining on having issues, I didn't have those issues and games run fine for me, using DM 2.6 with USBLGX on a 500GB WD HDD formatted to FAT32 32 cluster primary and active with sleep mode off and most games as iso format (except for Phantasy Star Online Episode's I and II), the only problem I have now is using an altered .dol function is no longer working which i used to abuse to get Sonic The Fighters and Sonic R to work without a disc!

    It seems something got broken down the line when the screenshot feature was added which is a shame, personally I could live without the screenshot feature even though it can be very useful if it was kept!
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    9,115
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    That's really strange, because enabling Force Progressive (+ original gamecube memory card) is what usually freeze that game.
    Now it black screen if you don't force 480p?


    For the PadHook, it's not only the padHook.
    It's the combination of PadHook + Patch Progressive, disable one or the other to prevent black screens.
    Padhook is not really needed, just press reset or power on your console to shutdown, while progressive is visually interesting.



    About the "first partition", someone reported that his third partition was working with GameCube.
    Though, it's his first primary partition on the drive. I'm waiting for confirmation from himself.
    • Newcomer

    actionclash New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Message Count:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks for the extra info

    for me, on my previous DML (which i think was 2.2) and the current stable version of USBLoaderGX, Tales (PAL) worked on 480p patched + original memory card (but still had the weird artifacting), but also still worked on PAL non-480p resolution.

    I've tested MGS Twin Snakes (PAL), and that is able to work fine in non-480p, which tells that it is nothing to do with 2 disc games
    • Member

    trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Member Since:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    3,959
    Country:
    United States
    Well I switched to DML (SD card loading) and it fixes any black screen problem.
    • Member

    CheatFreak47 Just your average Wii hacker.

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    627
    Location:
    TEH INTERNETZ!
    Country:
    United States
    For n00bs:
    The setup for Dios Mios (and best for general wii-use) is to have the first partition (leftmost in disk managers) formatted as FAT32 with 32K Cluster Size, and it has to be primary. (Primary is the default, so no worries there) Setting the partition as Active is reccomended also, as i've experienced trouble with Wii Homebrew Apps with non-active set drives. (If what maxternal said about "Active" is true-- then i have no clue why, but keep it in mind) On top of Dios Mios use, this setup works for Wii Backups, Emulated NAND, Homebrew Channel, and any homebrew that support USB, making it the most preferred setup.

    I've set up 3 HardDrives for people, and ~20 flash drives for people like this and had a 95% success rate. (One of the flash drives were incompatable)
    That's the setup I use. If you want a huge FAT32 partition (More than 32gb) You have to use EaseUS Partition Master-- which is free for home use, and is the reccomended software for handling this formatting shit anyway.

    WBFS is outdated, NTFS is incompatable, and both are impossible to use with Dios Mios. No exceptions.

    Dios Mios requires a GameCube Controller to play games, and a GCN memory card is highly reccomended as well, as NMM (Memory Card Emulation on the USB device) is buggy and isn't compatible with a lot of games.
    • Member

    iffy525 not famous

    Member Since:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Message Count:
    747
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know if this happened to anyone else, but when I played Baten Kaitos Eternal Wings for the first time with a real gcn memory card, it corrupted the card and I had to format it, and I lost everything. So I have to use DM 2.2 with NMM because NMM seems to not work for that game with DM 2.6 (I didn't test any other versions though). Just a heads up.
    • Newcomer

    lonewolf89 New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Message Count:
    21
    Location:
    Palace Of Wisdom
    Country:
    Saint Kitts and Nevis
    yikes! :O did u happen to have NMM on while on 2.6?
    • Member

    iffy525 not famous

    Member Since:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Message Count:
    747
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah that is a possibility. I don't think I did because the default is to have it off, but I do not know with 100% certainty. I do know however that NMM does not work for that game in 2.6, but it works fine in 2.2.
    • Newcomer

    lonewolf89 New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Message Count:
    21
    Location:
    Palace Of Wisdom
    Country:
    Saint Kitts and Nevis
    just tried it for my self...it does get corrupted however I didn't lose my other saves thank god!(took my memory card put it back in and restarted the game and it asked me if i wanted to deleted the save file and i said yes)
    EDIT:baiten kaitos origins works fine on 2.6(on a real memory card) thou oh btw has anyone got animal crossing to work with NMM?
    Last edited by lonewolf89, Dec 30, 2012
    • Newcomer

    JoeSchmoe24 New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Message Count:
    1
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes the same thing happened to be with the NTSC version of Baten Kaitos, I deleted the corrupted saves before exiting the game and luckily didn't lose all my memory card data. The PAL version of Baten Kaitos works fine for me on 2.6 though (no memory card trouble)
    • Newcomer

    mclow New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Message Count:
    75
    Location:
    Nuremberg
    Country:
    Germany
    hey guys happy new year XD

    i was thinking about changing the wii to wiiU since wiiflow is working....
    but i still need one information....
    is dios mios working on the wiiU with wiiflow????

    if its not working i wouldnt get the new wiiU!
    thx
    • Member

    Etheboss Official LULWUT supporter

    Member Since:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,783
    Location:
    Around somewhere
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You know Dios Mios needs a GC controller...so it will probably never happen.
    • Newcomer

    mclow New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Message Count:
    75
    Location:
    Nuremberg
    Country:
    Germany
    yeah thx just noticed the wii u got no gc port.... -.- this really sucks know i have to keep my wii -.-

    u never know maybe in the future somebody manages to emulate the gamecube controller port on the new wiiU controller....
    i dont think this is the biggest problem ....

    first problem is to get dios mios running.... and im not sure ... i think the virtuall wii from the wiiU is diffrent then the normal wii!!
    • Member

    sonictopfan New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Message Count:
    764
    Country:
    Kuwait
    Keeping your Wii to play GC games via DM(L) now while having a Wii U is like keeping your DS lite to play GBA games via EzFlash 3in1 while having a 3DS!
    • Member

    camurso_ New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Message Count:
    519
    Country:
    Portugal
    What if we have, too, a GBA? :blink:
    • Newcomer

    EagleDelta1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    So, I know the DIOS MIOS dev has stated no Classic Controller support, though I assume this is from pre-WiiU. Question is, will that stance be rethought for the WiiU or is DIOS MIOS just never going to have WiiU/WiiMode support?

    EDIT: Does Crediar even have plans to Dev DIOS MIOS for WiiMode or are we stuck with Devolution?
    Last edited by EagleDelta1, Jan 2, 2013
    • Member

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    5,135
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Because of the way DM(L) works, it's supposedly impossible to connect to the WiiMote while it's running. I think we're stuck to Devolution. There was BARELY enough space to write in the part of the program that communicates with the USB in DM(L) and since the Bluetooth that the Wiimote/classic controller connects to is internally connected to USB on a Wii and Wii U you would have to have code for USB connection AND for Bluetooth AND for the Classic controller emulation ... and there's just not that much space available.
    • Newcomer

    EagleDelta1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Even that depends on how Anti-Piracy is implemented for the Wii U version. Devolution leans heavily on Anti-piracy measures and I personally won't buy an external DVD drive for anti-piracy, especially when (at least according to the Library of Congress here in the US) modding consoles is just as illegal as piracy is.
    • Member

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    5,135
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    No matter how the AP ends up getting implemented in the Wii U version, it's still the ONLY thing that can play GC games on the Wii U in the near future.
    (Maybe SOMEDAY there will be GameCube Virtual Console injection ... or someone with the required rather technical knowledge, understanding and time will make a Devolution clone without AP ... but Devolution will certainly be the FIRST available option and the only one for a while at least.)

    ... although this is not really the place to talk about Devolution. The thread about it's AP is here :
    http://gbatemp.net/threads/why-add-anti-piracy-measures-to-devolution.330634/
    and the thread about everything else is here :
    http://gbatemp.net/threads/devolution-public-release.330554/
    Last edited by Maxternal, Jan 2, 2013

Share This Page