YSMenu won't launch roms

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by House Spider, Sep 20, 2009.

Sep 20, 2009
  1. House Spider
    OP

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
    I have YSMenu installed on my R4 but it won't launch roms. It shows a loading bar for a while but it won't actually launch roms. Why?
     
  2. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,074
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Then you built it incorrectly or you have a clone R4 or both.
     
  3. House Spider
    OP

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
    It loaded BlobDS 0.6 (homebrew) but it won't launch Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars. I am sure I installed it correctly except for the modifying the YSMenu.ini part. I don't have a clone. I have an offcial R4.
     
  4. Veristical Blaze

    Member Veristical Blaze GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    The Edge Of Shibuya
    Country:
    Netherlands
    GTA has piracy protection [​IMG]
     
  5. House Spider
    OP

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
    I am pretty sure it doesn't work because the R4 supports 512kb of Save Data when GTA needs 1mb, so I don't think its pirarcy. I can eaasily get GTA to work but lose WiFi. I need this to get GTA to work with WiFi.
     
  6. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,074
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    GTA needing a 1mb save file was nothing more than a misconception. It doesn't need one.

    The game does have piracy protection but if you use YSMenu it can be fixed (without breaking WiFi functions) with a cheat code. If you build YSMenu with latest unofficial DSTT firmware you can even play it without the cheat code. Just make sure you use YSMenu0903270000, DSTT v1.17a02 and an unpatched GTA ROM.

    This may or may not work if you have one of the many R4 clones.
     
  7. House Spider
    OP

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
    Thanks people, I got it to launch roms and get WiFi working in GTA:CW. I think Nintendo will put piracy blocks on more games...
     

Share This Page