XP Desktop Won't boot past Welcome screen

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Rock Raiyu, Feb 14, 2009.

Feb 14, 2009
  1. Rock Raiyu
    OP

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    The desktop downstairs (which is running XP) won't boot up past the Welcome screen when you turn it on. I sort of know what the problem is, but at the same time, I don't want to reinstall the XP OS because then we have to setup our internet connection all over again which is a pain the ass to setup the wifi because it won't work till hour after hour of labor trying to get it to work. So I'm wondering in there is any other way to fix this. Any help will be appreciated.
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,731
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If your wifi is that much of a pain junk it and start again as that is ridiculous.

    Back on topic what does safe mode (hold F8 after the BIOS screen ends) do:
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/chsafe.htm

    Also if you make it into safe mode try disabling startup items one by one (or you can try a few at once if you know what you are doing) with something like a squared hijack free:
    http://www.hijackfree.com/en/
     
  3. Devante

    Member Devante Crescent fresh at best.

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Country:
    United States
    What exactly happens at the Welcome screen? Does it give an error? Does it just sit there?

    Here's what I'd do.

    1) Use a boot CD (such as a Windows XP or Bart PE disk) and load up a command prompt/recovery console and then run "chkdsk /r c:"

    2) Boot into Safe Mode.

    3) Run the following virus cleaners
    a. Malwarebyte's Antimalware
    b. a-squared Free
    c. Spybot
    d. HiJack This (look for unusual looking entries)

    4) If you recently installed Service Pack 3, uninstall it. Likewise, if you recently installed a piece of hardware, uninstall it.

    5) Report your progress here!
     
  4. Rock Raiyu
    OP

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Well it boots up past the Welcome screen but it takes a while for it to get past it. On top of that, the Start toolbar doesn't show up at all. CTRL + ALT + DEL won't show the toolbar.
     
  5. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Boot into safe mode, done by pressing F8 on startup, after that do a system restore, hopefully things will work. P.S Report back if probs. persist
     
  6. Rock Raiyu
    OP

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    System Restore doesn't even boot up.
     
  7. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    did you by any chance just install SP3? because I have seen identical behaviour in 4 PCs owned by different people that all had exactly the same problem after installing SP3. I really do wonder if this was a tactic by M$ to get more people to "upgrade" to vista... but, I guess I shouldn't attribute to malice that which can be attributed to stupidity. in any case, the only solution I found was to reinstall windows.
     
  8. Rock Raiyu
    OP

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, it has SP2. But now that I think about it, this all happened after I flashed my 360..
     
  9. Devante

    Member Devante Crescent fresh at best.

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Country:
    United States
    Did you try the things I mentioned above?

    Also, did you have to install drivers on your PC for the VIA SATA card that is used to flash your XBOX 360?

    Try uninstalling them, or, if it's a PCI card, remove it and see what happens.
     
  10. Rock Raiyu
    OP

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Took out the card, I can't uninstall the drivers for the VIA in Safe Mode. Computer still boots up past the Welcome screen with only the background, can't click anything, Start Menu isn't there and there isn't any icons.
     

Share This Page