1. PsyBlade

    PsyBlade Snake Charmer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Hmm ... my EU launch day wii read ssbb + mpt fine as far as I can tell
    but I only used a friends ones for some days ... maybe I only stayed on the first layer
     
  2. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,202
    Country:
    France
    Then it's only a few bad batch from the launch day.
    I'm sure I've read other GBAtemp user's comment about their launch day wii who can't read Double layers too. (and that's why there a guide to fix it).

    Nintendo offered to fix these batch, we had to send the wii back, but as I had a Wiikey I never sent it, and never wanted to send it.
     
  3. User423

    User423 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    I had the same problem with dual-layer games on my launch Wii. The solution was to use the official lens cleaner. It´s worth a try, as it costs only ~10€.
     
  4. Kiaku

    Kiaku GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    273
    Country:
    United States
    Had my eye on this before, but I never knew that it was considered the best RPG game for the Wii... I might as well try it out when it releases.
     
  5. Giga_Gaia

    Giga_Gaia GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,422
    Country:
    Canada
    Just because the game is originally a full single layer disc doesn't mean adding dub will make it dual layer. They could very well compress things to make it smaller to fit on a dvd5.

    If they did that, they wouldn't have to pay a little extra for a dual layer, plus no one would ever notice.

    At the moment, it's not confirmed to be dual layer, there is no way to know if it's dual layer or not, because it's not out. Unless some very reliable reviewer who has the game confirmed it, then no one can tell you if it is or not.

    The only confirmation we will have is when the game is leaked and it appears on the front page with filesize.
     
  6. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,202
    Country:
    France
    Ah, I didn't know lens cleaner was enough for some people.
    Yeah, it's worth a try.


    @Giga_Gaia :
    How would they compress it? making the sound very bad quality, like 64kbps?
    English is sometime longer to dub than Japanese, you have to talk longer unless you cut sentence sense to a minimum. It would be bad.
    It's not hard to believe they chose a high quality sound and decided to go with a bigger DVD to fit everything. They could have removed Japanese completely too, instead of compressing and resulting in two bad sounds languages.
    Though, if they went for bigger DVD size, maybe they could have translated it to more languages at once, or more dubs [​IMG]

    French website already posted the game box, some people already have it. they don't have any benefit to say it's dual if it's not.
     
  7. Giga_Gaia

    Giga_Gaia GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,422
    Country:
    Canada
    Guess we will have to find out when the thing comes out. Anyway, they could also compress the entire video. That could easily be done without anybody noticing anything.
     
  8. squall23

    squall23 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    Canada
    1. There's really no reason to compress audio on a console game in this day and age.
    2. There's like only 1 video in the entire game, the rest of the cutscenes are in engine.
    3. People already do have the game if you haven't noticed already.
     
  9. ManFranceGermany

    ManFranceGermany Atheist, Socialist and pro EU!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    I didn't know this...the first wiis cant play double-layer?
    and Nintendo didnt react and replaced them?
     
  10. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,202
    Country:
    France
    They didn't call the stock back, as it was much later that people found the problem (On Super Smash Bros Brawl release). They only fix it for people who sent their console back saying that SSBB didn't work. I don't remember if they fixed it or just replaced the complete drive with its mother board and chipset.
    I never wanted to send it back, as I've a soldered modchip and never needed it (I'm not a SSBB fan).

    It's happening only on DMS chipset mother bards.

    Well, I think I can always start playing it until it reach the second layer [​IMG]
    By that time, I would be back at my work (I'm in holiday), someone has a wii.
    except if the data is not chronological on the disc.
     
  11. Ergo

    Ergo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    614
    Country:
    United States
    My Wii was literally bought *at* Nintendo in Redmond (three days before it showed up at retail) and it plays DL discs just fine, so it apparently isn't a universal problem.
     
  12. airpirate545

    airpirate545 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    United States
    Hoping/Anticipating an early dump [​IMG]
     
  13. Syrous

    Syrous Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    My launch day Wii reads Dual Layers just fine, SSBB works and so does Sakura Wars So long my Love.
     
  14. Giga_Gaia

    Giga_Gaia GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,422
    Country:
    Canada
    My Wii is a launch wii and can play dual layers just fine. I played SSBB hundreds of times. Maybe it's because mine has a modchip, but it can read the DL discs.
     
  15. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,202
    Country:
    France
    Well, good for everyone else then [​IMG]
    Not a lot of people are affected. (and maybe only DMS PAL)

    It has nothing to so with modchips, it's the laser calibration which allow second layer reading.
     
  16. Giga_Gaia

    Giga_Gaia GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,422
    Country:
    Canada
    Since even launch wii can read DL discs, if the laser calibration is wrong and your wii can't read DL, doesn't it means it's defective or broken.

    Also Cyan, you got 3333 posts. Quadriple digits [​IMG]
     
  17. Fudge

    Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Country:
    United States
  18. Juanmatron

    OP Juanmatron Slater Color
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,667
    Country:
    [​IMG]

    BTW, they give him a 7 on graphics and they say "this is the best that the Wii can do"? [​IMG]
     
  19. Nah3DS

    Nah3DS Madre de Dios! Es El POLLO DIABLO!!!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,858
    Country:
    Argentina
    Certainly not. The Last Story is better in terms of graphics.
    What truly shines in Xenoblade is the art direction... everything is so gorgeous in this game.
     
  20. deros

    deros Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Kinda disappointed that there's no leak yet. Having to wait for another 5 days until my pre-order arrives is literally killing me.

    Last Story and Xenoblade are two totally different beasts. Last Story might look better if you look at it superficially, but from a pure techincal point of view the gorgeous open-world of Xenoblade is a more remarkable feat. Graphics isn't just the amount of polygons and the sharpness of textures.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Chronicles, Xenoblade, Thread