Wood R4 FAQ.

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Mages4ever, Apr 9, 2010.

Apr 9, 2010

Wood R4 FAQ. by Mages4ever at 2:21 AM (103,947 Views / 0 Likes) 313 replies

  1. Mages4ever
    OP

    Member Mages4ever GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    The Noob-Friendly Guide and FAQs About Setting Up Wood R4. ​

    Latest Revision - 6/16/10 - Wood R4 v.1.09.
    [​IMG]
    (Thanks to jurassicplayer for the logo.)

    -Work in progress. many more sections to come.-

    Alright, so you have an old R4 lying around, and you’re like, “Well, WTF do I do with this piece of shi junk?” Here’s your solution. Wood R4. Wood R4 is an alternative firmware based off of Wood RPG. Basically, you’re getting an Acekard-like interface on your R4. The following is a guide on how to set up your R4 to run the Wood R4 firmware.

    Contents
    1. Obtaining the firmware.
    2. Getting the firmware onto your Micro SD card.
    3. Adding roms.
    4. Oh fu-! My saves don't work [​IMG]

    Section 1. – Obtaining your Firmware
    The only way to obtain Wood R4 is via the main page’s news section. Alternatively, you can visit this section for the most current, and previous versions of the firmware. Here is a link to version 1.08

    Section 2. - Getting the firmware onto your Micro SD card.
    So now you’ve gotten the firmware, but it’s in a .rar format. Don’t freak out. Head on over to this site for a tool to unpack the .rar file. Once you’ve done that, open up the folder. It should be labeled something along the lines of “wood_r4_v1.08” or whatever the latest revision is. Now, open up that folder and you should see a folder called “root.” Put all of the contents of that folder onto your micro SD card. (And not the root folder.)
    When finished, your Micro SD card should look like this:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Section 3. - Adding roms.
    Alright, you have your shiny new firmware on your R4, but how can I add games? Well, you can do this any way you like. All you need to do is drag and drop the roms onto your Micro SD card. You can also use folders for better organization. For example, I put my roms in a folder called, "Games," my homebrew in a folder called, "Homebrew." Then, for the games I'm currently beating, I make another folder and put my roms in there. You can organize your roms any way you like! ;D

    Section 4. - Oh fu-! My saves don't work [​IMG]
    No need to panic. In the FAQ, there's a link to a .sav converter. Wood R4 uses .nds.sav rather than .sav, so you just need to convert the file extension. It's really easy to use. All you do is you put all of your savs into a folder with the .bat file inside. Then, just run the program and it'll convert your .sav files into .nds.sav files. It's as simple as that. Be sure to back up your save files before running this program to prevent accidental data loss.

    FAQ
    Latest Revision - 6/16/10 - Wood R4 v.1.09 Change Log.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Change Log
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     


  2. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. Exbaddude

    Member Exbaddude The Prince.

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,042
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Great FAQ! Still wondering if I should switch from YSMenu to this.
     
  4. ZeroPF

    Newcomer ZeroPF Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    Uranus
    Country:
    United States
    Switch, I've tested it and it's a lot better
     
  5. Mages4ever
    OP

    Member Mages4ever GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
  6. Exbaddude

    Member Exbaddude The Prince.

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,042
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the quick reply. Gonna update then! [​IMG]
     
  7. janus3

    Newcomer janus3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    again, pardon my ignorance, but i'm using themes from my old R4ds using 1.18 firmware. will those themes work now?

    how do we switch themes if so? it's used to be hitting "select."

    also, the switch the extensions, do we just type hover over it and then click to rename .sav to .nds.sav manually.

    i'm truly sorry for these ignorant questions which i'm sure are retarded to our more advanced members.
     
  8. edisonbebo

    Newcomer edisonbebo Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    new york
    Country:
    United States
    the only thing that buggs me is that there is no softreset and i use it alot on my r4 1.18.besides thats,many thanks,this is awesome!!,btw will there be softreset in the future?
     
  9. ZeroPF

    Newcomer ZeroPF Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    Uranus
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure you have to use Acekard themes now
     
  10. janus3

    Newcomer janus3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States

    oh, okay. that makes sense. thanks for the heads up.
     
  11. Mages4ever
    OP

    Member Mages4ever GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    According to the team, yes, there will be SR support in the future.
     
  12. janus3

    Newcomer janus3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    okay, now how do i manually rename them? what i thought was right, isn't working. thanks for helping btw, i know it's a pain.
     
  13. janus3

    Newcomer janus3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    nm mages, it worked, i'm an idiot.

    btw, i was using a .dat cheat from the old 1.18 r4 firmware, how do i go about using it on this one?
     
  14. GutsMan.EXE

    Member GutsMan.EXE GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need to use the usrcheat.dat which you can download from the official gbatemp cheat database [​IMG].
     
  15. Exbaddude

    Member Exbaddude The Prince.

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,042
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Does it support SDHC? Because it's still the R4 ):
     
  16. ZeroPF

    Newcomer ZeroPF Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    Uranus
    Country:
    United States
    It does not
     
  17. janus3

    Newcomer janus3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    just want to double check, it is a different file? the one i have i did dl from gbatemp.
     
  18. Mages4ever
    OP

    Member Mages4ever GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Either or works.
    That being said, the usrcheat.dat that you'd download would probably have way more cheats o-o
     
  19. janus3

    Newcomer janus3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    i've gotten everything running but the themes and cheats. do i place the cheat.dat file in the cheats folder of _rpg, if so, how do i get them running. thanks for the help thus far, i'm truly indebted to you. i do believe i have the latest cheat as i monetly check for the new cheats and use the rcee program to take out the ones i don't need. as for themes, i guess i just find some acekard ones now and place in ui? do i need to create a new folder for them? sorry for the questions again mages.
     
  20. zeromac

    Member zeromac Finally reached 1000 posts EXACTLY

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,194
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    Australia
    [​IMG] This is pretty awesome, all of my games work on it [​IMG]
     

Share This Page