Wood-menu for EZ Flash V(i)?

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by markvn, Apr 20, 2010.

Apr 20, 2010

Wood-menu for EZ Flash V(i)? by markvn at 3:46 PM (3,541 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. markvn
    OP

    Member markvn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    Netherlands
    This morning I installed WoodR4 on my brother's original R4.
    I didn't expect too much from it, but it's amazing!
    Will it also work on EZ Flash? Is there maybe an EZ Flash-version coming?
    And, if it's possible, Dual-Boot?
     
  2. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I think theoretically it can be ported to any cart, and dual boot shouldn't be a problem too. The thing is: someone has to do it. It always stroke me as odd that no one ever ported the R.P.G. menu to the R4. Now it has been done, but it did take a couple of years.
     
  3. Takeshi

    Member Takeshi GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,946
    Country:
    Germany
    So, you came back from the future just to ask this? [​IMG]
    Anyways, I don't think anyone is porting it to EZ-Flash cards. In it's current state it's safe to assume that it doesn't work; why didn't you test it?
     
  4. markvn
    OP

    Member markvn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I meant: will it be possible (and not too difficult) to make it work?
     
  5. markvn
    OP

    Member markvn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Or a tool to make a .nds file of it?
     
  6. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Without ez5 loader sources you can't adapt wood RPG to ez5 flashcarts.

    Reverse engineering is possible but needs time. I don't think either YWG or Normmatt care to do that. [​IMG]
     
  7. impizkit

    Member impizkit Lazy Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Country:
    Australia
    I suppose its possible. Like its been said, someone just needs to do it. Carts that have encrypted firmware like the CycloDS will never see a custom firmware, but if a cart doesnt have an encrypted firmware, its possible. Will just take time to make it and release it.
     
  8. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Needs only the kernel sources of the flashcart. The firmware is not required.

    BTW, the word firmware is so different between all flashcart's team what perhaps you were talking about the OS (kernel) ? [​IMG]
     
  9. impizkit

    Member impizkit Lazy Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Country:
    Australia
    You are right. Some call it a firmware some a kernal. Either way, some carts are encrypted and cannot be developed for independently.
     
  10. markvn
    OP

    Member markvn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    Netherlands
    But what if it can be ported to a single .nds file? So you can load it, after booting with EZ Flash Boot-thing...
    I presume that would work, as you don't need encrypted things etc.
     
  11. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The kernel is tied to the flashcart's hardware. Need to build a specific rom loader and file browser for each flashcart.
     
  12. markvn
    OP

    Member markvn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    Netherlands
    But what about the hacked M3 Sakura kernel? This one works on many flashcarts too...
     
  13. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,815
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Do you happen to have the M3 Sakura source code? No, you don't.

    It AIN'T happening any time soon.
     
  14. impizkit

    Member impizkit Lazy Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Country:
    Australia
    This thread has gotten stupid.
     
  15. Drag0nflamez

    Member Drag0nflamez GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What's wrong with the default EZ-Flash menu (2.0) - it's faster then ever (only the part before SD boot now takes a little time, perhaps a FW update, though I still have 705)

    The R4DS really needed replacements because it wasn't supported [​IMG]
     

Share This Page