Gaming Windows 7 on Dell Mini 10?

saison

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
314
Trophies
0
XP
220
Country
United States
I'm currently running XP and I really don't like it.

My specs are:
Processor - IntelÂAtom™ CPU Z530 @ 1.60GHz (2 CPUs)
Memory - 1014MB RAM
DirectX Version - 9.0c

If any further information is required, I would be happy to oblige.
 

Skyline969

MENUdo Afficionado
Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
2,209
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Saskatchewan
Website
Visit site
XP
528
Country
Canada
Should run on that. You'll want to bump up the size of your page file once you install Windows 7 though, just in case. I have multiple background applications and full aero, and I only use 600-1000 MB of RAM. However, a page file is good for if you use something heavier.
 

Skyline969

MENUdo Afficionado
Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
2,209
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Saskatchewan
Website
Visit site
XP
528
Country
Canada
It's like virtual RAM, if you will. To change it in Win7, click start, control panel, switch to classic view, system. Click advanced system settings, and then click settings in the performance area. Go to the advanced tab, click change. From there, you can change the page file. The rule of thumb is 1.5 time your RAM, but I usually go double or more.
 

myuusmeow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2007
Messages
1,646
Trophies
0
Website
google.com
XP
327
Country
United States
Think RAM just saved to the hard drive. It gives you more memory, just much slower. I doubt you will need to do that. I regularly run 5+ tabs in Firefox+Music+Yahoo Instant Messenger+Steam+uTorrent and I never really go that high.
 

saison

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
314
Trophies
0
XP
220
Country
United States
Okay, thanks for the help. I'll probably upgrade in the next week
biggrin.gif


EDIT: One more thing to ask, should I get 32-bit or 64-bit?
 

Jdbye

Always Remember 30/07/08
Suspended
Joined
May 10, 2006
Messages
1,070
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Norway
XP
288
Country
Norway
Windows 7 is known to run amazingly well on netbooks, I say go for it
smile.gif


But Joe88 is correct - 32 bit is your only choice.
 

Joe88

[λ]
Global Moderator
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
12,738
Trophies
2
Age
36
XP
7,460
Country
United States
64bit can run both anyway

its just installs any 32bit programs in Program Files(x86)
and 64bit in Program Files
 

Skyline969

MENUdo Afficionado
Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
2,209
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Saskatchewan
Website
Visit site
XP
528
Country
Canada
Joe88 said:
64bit can run both anyway

its just installs any 32bit programs in Program Files(x86)
and 64bit in Program Files
I know that - my roommate has a 64-bit processor. But what I'm saying is that not many new applications take full advantage of the 64-bit processor yet. Once more applications come out that take advantage of it, then I'll consider switching.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://southpawers.com/2024/06/11/eminem-how-music-got-free-documentary/ this is actually a... +1