windows 7 64bit to 32 bit

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Hellow, Oct 22, 2009.

Oct 22, 2009

windows 7 64bit to 32 bit by Hellow at 6:38 AM (1,010 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Hellow
    OP

    Member Hellow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    brighton, south australia
    Country:
    Australia
    can i install windows 7 64bit on a 32 bit only computer because ive got a 64bit iso but want to change it to the 32bit version. OR. is there a way to change an HP Pavillion dv6000 32bit notebook to 64bit even though it says its not compatible with 64bit
     
  2. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    wrong section. if the computer says it is not compatible with 64 bit, then there is no way to install 64 bit software on it.
     
  3. sadak5

    Member sadak5 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Country:
    Mexico
    I the processors is 32 bits, you'll NEVER be able to install a 64 bits OS (windows linux, mac, dosen't mather). the change of the processor in a trademarked PC (HP) is unlikely, the best way is buy a new one.

    Besides, why install a windows 7 64 bit version in a home computer? There are few software that rully uses the 64 bit buffer in a processor (that's why so many vendors instal 32 bit version of windows in a 64 bit capabke pc). THe 32 bit software runs in an emulated version, making a 64 bit processor be slower than a 32 bit one.

    If you think of the RAM thing, I recommend the limit (4 GB) and buy a better graphic card (a 1Gb be good, the graphic processors are a lot way faster than CPU).
     
  4. Lentium

    Newcomer Lentium Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Canada
    Running 32-bit software on 64-bit Windows isn't exactly emulation, memory access (which includes memory virtually mapped to hardware) just goes through an address translation. Because of the way Windows manages virtual memory, 32-bit or 64-bit software doesn't have to worry about keeping track of the exact blocks it gets and therefore all software goes through the same kind of address translation whenever it accesses memory. There should be no measurable performance hit.

    If the CPU in your PC in indeed 32-bit only, then there's nothing you can do to put 64-bit Windows on it, but I say go for 64-bit if you can. I doubt the next version of windows will have a 32-bit edition, especially if netbook architecture shifts over to 64-bit.
     
  5. overslept

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Should go in the Computer Systems section
     
  6. sadak5

    Member sadak5 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Country:
    Mexico
    I know the 32 bit over a 64 bit is not emulation, but it applies only for pc, not servers, as versions of windows for servers actually had to emulate the environment of a 32 bit pc (the procesor is the actual one which emulates the 32 bit buffer for instructions.

    Also, microsoft has stated the next version (or at least the info was leaked) will have support for 32 and 64 bits, for PC only, and they aim to bring only support in server versions for 64 and 128 (yes, you read 128) bits.

    Also, this topic needs to be closed and/or moved.
     

Share This Page