1. Sneethan

    OP Sneethan GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2020
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi,
    over the past few weeks my PC will get to the lock screen quite fast but take around 2 minutes to get to the desktop, the only known startup ups i have enabled are taskbarx, adobe startup apps and biog wallpaper. I also use bootracer to minimise load. I also still have over 300 gb left on my drive and dont want to reset it. Any ideas?
     
  2. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,064
    Country:
    United States
    Put power and sleep timer to never and remove your password so you never had to worry about it being locked.
     
  3. Sneethan

    OP Sneethan GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2020
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    Australia
    Sorry, i meant locked from cold boot only, lock screen works fine and i have to transport it to school as its my work laptop.
     
  4. tech3475

    tech3475 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Country:
    My first steps would be to make a backup, test all connected Disk drives and run anti malware software e.g malwarebytes.

    Does the same thing happen if you just wait at the login screen for a while and if you hibernate instead of shutdown?
     
  5. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,064
    Country:
    United States
    No if you close the lid it is meant to being put into sleep mode and there fore the screen are lock. You just going have to re login again, if it had a SSD it will be much faster boot time than your standard HDD.
     
  6. Sneethan

    OP Sneethan GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2020
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    Australia
    If i close the lid login is instant.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Waiting yes hibernate will test as i set it up yesterday
     
  7. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,064
    Country:
    United States
    Well does it have a solid state drive or do you have a regular HDD? Solid state have a much faster boot time, also if your cpu core aren''t fully enable, it will take much longer time to process stuffs.
     
  8. Sneethan

    OP Sneethan GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2020
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    Australia
    hdd, but it used to be quite quick
     
  9. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,064
    Country:
    United States
    Is the computer your or does it belong to the school, since you did mentioned about work, If you don't have administrator right on the computer asks your employer IT department to check if all your CPU cores are running, running 1 core is slower than whatever amount of cores you have within msconfig -> boot-> advance options.
     
    Last edited by Hayato213, Oct 19, 2020
  10. tech3475

    tech3475 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Country:
    Have you tried defragging it?

    Although honestly, I would get an SSD if you can. It’s been a night and day difference on my boot drives.
     
  11. Orangy57

    Orangy57 bruh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    658
    Country:
    United States
    Even with a nearly empty hard drive windows 10 will take around 2 minutes to start through a hard drive just because it's such a big OS. If you get an SSD it'll be like 30 seconds tops from cold boot into a browser
     
  12. Sneethan

    OP Sneethan GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2020
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    Australia
    Its mine, i just use it for work as well as games and video editing
     
  13. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    2 minutes for a regular hdd is not that bad. I've had it take like 8-10 minutes but it probably needed defragging and I had too many startup items. I just said to hell with it got a SSD and 30 seconds to boot and I still have a bunch of startup items.
     
  14. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,064
    Country:
    United States
    The recommendation is replacing the regular HDD if you don't have an SSD, that 30 seconds boot time is well worth it, You can tweak all you want but probably won't beat that SSD.
     
  15. Sneethan

    OP Sneethan GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2020
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    Australia
    Fair point, i will look into it
     
  16. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Country:
    United States
    This is terrible advice. You should never prevent a laptop from going into a low state unless you want it to die. You should also never remove an account password. That's the dumbest thing I've ever heard.

    @OP, what are your specs? Quite honestly, it's probably the wallpaper thing you have set to launch at startup. Provided it pulls images from the internet, it's probably constantly polling your network status until it can make a DNS request. This eats up a ton of resources. Especially if it's related to Unsplash. Use Wallhaven for your wallpapers.
     
    Last edited by Joom, Oct 20, 2020
  17. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,064
    Country:
    United States
    Perhaps you can't read for real, but nevermind that, that was before he stating he was using the computer for work. All these tweakings ain't going help him beat a SSD performance versus a regular HDD boot time.
     
  18. Sneethan

    OP Sneethan GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2020
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    Australia
    I also said i use it for other things. I an interested about the wallpaper theory as it only happens AFTER I enter my pin

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I just use hibernate now anyway
     
  19. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,891
    Country:
    United States
    I did see that. There are ways to resolve this and not spend money, though. OP can scrape a bunch of wallpapers from wherever they want and use them as a sideshow instead. And everyone knows SSDs are faster than hard drives. That's why I didn't bother replying to that.
     
  20. Sneethan

    OP Sneethan GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2020
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    Australia
    Is the walpaper thing true? It confuses me why it would be default then
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Windows, login, issue