Wiikey2 problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by WiiCrazy, Nov 17, 2008.

Nov 17, 2008

Wiikey2 problem by WiiCrazy at 7:34 PM (3,930 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    I have a ntsc-j to pal converted wii and recently had it 6-wire wiikey2 installed...

    At the modder's place, we tested the wii with pal games and they worked as expected... Then at home I tested some ntsc disks which were recently working with the backup launcher... they don't even get identified by the system, disc channel displays a question mark... I never experienced this with d2c pro modded previous ntsc-us wii, pal games were being detected normally and to play those gecko os or freeloader was sufficient most of the time...

    And some ntsc games are not problematic but most of them is..

    By the way I updated the wiikey2 to the latest firmware with the update blocker, I have also starfall installed... fiddled with both the wiikey2's configuration and starfall yet I couldn't find the problem...

    I tried to downgrade the wiikey2's firmware, thinking it could be the cause, it doesn't let me... it has some kind of downgrade protection...
    And the last question is : Wiikey 2 Rescue Disc v1.2 at http://www.wiikey.cn/resources/ here, could this be used to downgrade the wiikey2 firmware?
     
  2. Johnny_V

    Newcomer Johnny_V Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Portugal
    That is weird... I have a PAL Wii modded with Wiikey2 on a Wii-clip v14 and all the games I have work fine.
    The only ones that gave me problems are those I burned on crappy media.
    Have you tried different brands?
    Oh, and burning at low speeds DOES improve reading. I used to burn at 8x or even more and got many DRE's.
    Now I just use Ridisk or Verbatim at 2x and not a problem since.
     
  3. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    I'll test verbatim media with the same games... I doubt there will be any change...
     
  4. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Turn the region free option of the Wiikey2 off. Let Starfall do the job, that should fix it.
     
  5. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Well I've already tested that... it doesn't work...
     
  6. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Hmm I checked Starfalls features and if I see it correctly it isn't 100% Wii region free, yet. And the compatibility of all modchips is at abotu 70% region free, so you'll have to use GeckoOS for now.
     
  7. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Well the problem is not the game freezing, the game disc doesn't get identified which results in gecko os as "no dvd" expectedly... (please eject the disc refer to the help and troubleshooting error)
    I don't think it's a problem with the scratched disk or media since those were playable just one day before I got the wii chipped...
    Strange thing is,

    1. PAL games using the same media never have the problem
    2. Most of the NTSC games has this problem though some of them work
     
  8. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Are you sure you have turned the region patching of the Wiikey off?
     
  9. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,356
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    i was gonna get a wiikey 2 cos wiikey 1 cant play fuck all anymore. all the new games NTSC wont work on pal wii with wiikey 1.
     
  10. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Of course yes!

    What I'll try to do today,
    1. Burn and use recovery disc of wiikey2
    2. Use old config disc on it, I hope it'll work I guess recovery disc is for this...

    Maybe new firmware's update blocker feature (though I disabled it) messing things up
     
  11. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Well I've tested mario kart pal today, it doesn't get identified yet after cutting power and turning on it does get identified and works...

    Also tested another game that is not working this way and it worked too... But it sucks of course removing the power cable everytime to make it work...

    Still I'll test initializing the wiikey2 config after using recovery disc..

    edit: well I burned and tried recovery disc, it doesn't get identified... it seems there is a problem with my wii's wiikey2 installation regarding region free support...
     
  12. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    The recovery discs doesn't get identified. That's it's thing. The wiikey snatches the code from the drive-cache, without the disc being recognised by the system

    Did you screw anything around in AnyRegionchanger by any chance?
     
  13. Johnny_V

    Newcomer Johnny_V Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Portugal
    You have some serious issues with your wiikey 2. When I told you before that everything was working on my wiikey2 I forgot to tell that I have the chip soldered on to a wii-clip v14 with all the "wires" soldered to the clip. Also, to unlock region free I inserted an own region original wii dvd, after that everything worked, and still is, fine.
    Don't know what to say, you should probably take your wii to a shop where they can check if anything is wrong with your chip.

    BTW, is it original? I've seen some people get errors with cloned wiikey's...
     
  14. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Well it's profesionally modded actually... but that first inserting an own region original disc step we missed... I'll retry it using the rescue disc... and using a pal original disc afterwards... I hope it works that way...
     
  15. inuyasha09

    Newcomer inuyasha09 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Australia
    Sorry for being off topic but how did you chnage u region from ntsc-j to pal I need to do the exact same thing
    so I know what I'm doing... lol thanks and I suggest you take it to ur modder to see if he/she can get it working.
     
  16. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    It was 3.1J beforehands...

    1. Installed homebrew channel using the installer disc (Modchip was setup to be in region NTSC-J)
    2. Using anyregion changer changed all relevant fields from japan to europe... saved the settings....
    3. Using semi-brick fix pal disc did an 3.2 update (Modchip was setup to be in region PAL)

    The modchip used during the process had jumpers for region settings so your mileage may vary...
     
  17. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    It was 3.1J beforehands...

    1. Installed homebrew channel using the installer disc (Modchip was setup to be in region NTSC-J)
    2. Using anyregion changer changed all relevant fields from japan to europe... saved the settings....
    3. Using semi-brick fix pal disc did an 3.2 update (Modchip was setup to be in region PAL)

    The modchip used during the process had jumpers for region settings so your mileage may vary... I used the disc for update since there was no wireless connection in the place I did all this stuff...
     

Share This Page