1. Der_Blockbuster

    OP Der_Blockbuster GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    779
    Country:
    Germany
    Hello,
    My Wii U's Hdmi output doesn't work.
    Tried different cables and TV's.
    It did 3 days ago.
    But now it's just plain black.
    When using Composite (AV) it works.
    When switching the signal in the settings,
    The Wii U tells me that my TV is off.

    I have a multimeter maybe there's a broken chip?

    I can solder and wanna get it fixed.

    Any Idea's fellow tempers?
     
  2. Itsuki235

    Itsuki235 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    United States
    I would 1) replace the console, 2) use Component cables or 3) use an HDMI adapter.

    Component cables support 1080p. There are also composite->HDMI adapters if you specifically need HDMI but do not mind the quality drop. They are usually called Wii2HDMI and they work on the Wii U as well.
     
  3. EmulateLife

    EmulateLife GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,992
    Country:
    United States
    I don't understand why replacing the console would be your first choice? I actually had the same thing happen to me and have been using the same console for 2 years, never thought about replacing the console.
     
  4. Itsuki235

    Itsuki235 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    United States
    The options were in no particular order.

    The console can be replaced because they are inexpensive: $40-60. The GamePad actually costs more even.

    Some people do not want to deal with it and just want it fixed right away. It is worth knowing that it is an option even if you choose not to go down that route.
     
  5. Der_Blockbuster

    OP Der_Blockbuster GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    779
    Country:
    Germany
    Okay, I will actually try using component cables.

    All I want is 1080p.
    I have one WiiToHDMI, I think I tried it on the broken one but it didn't work...

    I will have to try again when I come home this Thursday.

    If it doesn't work, this means some digital output, is broken.

    Someone is selling gamepad, console, pro controller and games for 120€.
    This might be an alternative.

    I won't need the old wii u anymore then... But who buys a defective one.

    We'll see
     
  6. EmulateLife

    EmulateLife GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,992
    Country:
    United States
    If you're going that route I'd look for a Wii U only for even cheaper.

    But on the other hand it's not a terrible thing to have an extra Gamepad in case something happens to the one you've got I guess, or you could try to sell it.
     
  7. Vinícius

    Vinícius Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Brazil
    I am on the same boat as you, but mine has a broken sd slot. I bought one from China and I will try resoldering it.

    You can try it too: https://pt.aliexpress.com/item/Orig...b5-4441-935c-835bc6d3b584&transAbTest=ae803_4

    If you do not have any soldering skills, look for some eletronic repair store. It is not a hard job, there is plenty of videos on the internet.


    Can I ask you if you already tried to blow or use some flashlight to see if there is some dust or something crooked?
     
  8. Nimrod-002

    Nimrod-002 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    344
    Country:
    Morocco
    did u try changing hdmi resolution while in Av mode

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    and use phone flashlight to see if a pin is missing from the port
     
  9. Demix

    Demix GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    I had same problem, when on hdmi was black screen. So I used av. Then one day I decided to put in different room different TV and it automatically detected...so I tried hdmi one more time to see and it worked. Don't know why it didn't want to work when manually switched to hmdi but it worked on automatic
     
  10. ChinoyPepino

    ChinoyPepino Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    It's either the HDMI port or the HDMI chip : IC Chip MN864718A
    I am in the same boat, but I am using Component video at the moment.
     
    napalamman and Der_Blockbuster like this.
  11. Demix

    Demix GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    Try changing the setting to automatic and plug in hdmi
     
  12. napalamman

    napalamman Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    I had this problem recently. So do you have to replace the motherboard? The Component video port was blackout as well. Does anyone have any idea what causes this console bricking anomaly?
     
    Last edited by napalamman, Aug 3, 2020
  13. Demix

    Demix GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    Black out anomaly maybe an unsupported tv setting like the Wii had
     
  14. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11,205
    Country:
    United States
    if it's an unsupported resolution, I think you can still hear sound.
     
  15. Demix

    Demix GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe on component, but HDMI is all in one. If the Wii u pad is working, try to change setting to automatic
     
  16. meepdarby

    meepdarby Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Did you try changing your video settings from the settings screen?
     
  17. Der_Blockbuster

    OP Der_Blockbuster GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    779
    Country:
    Germany
    Of course the screen just says, no input detected. Wii U tells me no TV is connected
     
  18. meepdarby

    meepdarby Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried cleaning the hdmi port or using a different cable?
     
  19. Luigi_Ra

    Luigi_Ra Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Mexico
    Any solution to this? I have a faulty HDMI port too, sometimes it works but barely, my main tv doesn't have component inputs (an oled TV).

    I tried component in other tv and works but 1080p looks bad, 1080i and 720p works fine over component so I want a way to play my Wii u games on my only HDMI tv :(
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - broken,