Hardware Wii U error -5 at boot

Do you have any Nand backup or can you acces the home menu?

  • No, I don't have any backups..

    Votes: 2 50.0%
  • No, I can't access the home menu

    Votes: 2 50.0%

  • Total voters
    4

Pepeu557

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2018
Messages
111
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
184
Country
Brazil
Just bought a Wii U with CFW installed (which idk what it is), and when I turn on, it loads the first logo screen and after that, goes to a black screen and then it shows other loading screen and after that, the -5 error, that one that can't find the file.. I don't know if it has CBHC installed, because id doesn't show any info at boot, and tried a lot of homebrews but didn't worked.. can you guys help me?
 

RCJayce

The Defender Of Tomorrow
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
632
Trophies
0
Location
New York
XP
827
Country
United States
That error is related to the SDCard and file placement, try looking the Wii U hacking guide and place all the files in the SD as the guide says.

Don't worry is just a matter of putting the right files at the right places.
 

Pepeu557

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2018
Messages
111
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
184
Country
Brazil
That error is related to the SDCard and file placement, try looking the Wii U hacking guide and place all the files in the SD as the guide says.

Don't worry is just a matter of putting the right files at the right places.

Can you send me a link of the guide?
 

Pepeu557

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2018
Messages
111
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
184
Country
Brazil
That error is related to the SDCard and file placement, try looking the Wii U hacking guide and place all the files in the SD as the guide says.

Don't worry is just a matter of putting the right files at the right places.
Still -5 =[..
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,730
Trophies
2
XP
18,569
Country
United States
it sounds like the system is trying to boot into the homebrew launcher at boot or some other app on the sd card. have you tried another sd card?
 

Pepeu557

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2018
Messages
111
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
184
Country
Brazil
I believe, if that has happened, you'll get a system error.
Well, It gives me the -5, so the system is not bricked, thank god x)
The last owner has set a app that i still don't know what it is, or a specific file is missing..
I heard about a kind of CBHC cleaner that we use our pc to remove from a extracted slc, but can't remember the name

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

when you turn the system on, do you see a black screen with Autoboot CBHC or something like that in white letters?
No, that's why I think Haxchi was installed over CBHC, I can't even access CBHC menu through the Sync button
 

Pepeu557

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2018
Messages
111
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
184
Country
Brazil
when you bought it, did it come with a hdd and sd?
Unfortunately not, when I turned it on, it brings the -3 error, also, the last owner installed the cfw three years ago, and then the dude who sold to me probably didn't knew the console was already with CFW on it, and tried install Haxchi on it, he even told me that
 

wicksand420

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
2,800
Trophies
1
Age
37
XP
2,218
Country
United States
Unfortunately not, when I turned it on, it brings the -3 error, also, the last owner installed the cfw three years ago, and then the dude who sold to me probably didn't knew the console was already with CFW on it, and tried install Haxchi on it, he even told me that
I think installing haxchi over cbhc just leaves you with haxchi, it shouldn't mess up the system, show me what you have on your sd once
 

Pepeu557

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2018
Messages
111
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
184
Country
Brazil
I think installing haxchi over cbhc just leaves you with haxchi, it shouldn't mess up the system, show me what you have on your sd once
upload_2019-8-23_2-51-52.png

Well, since I don't know the right files, I got it from a website that give us everything all set
 

wicksand420

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
2,800
Trophies
1
Age
37
XP
2,218
Country
United States
ok, cause some times certain sd cards don't work well with wii u

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Oh, by the way, I saw before you said you had to press the sync button to get the menu in cbhc, I think it is actually the home button on the game pad
 

jesus96

Pinkboi
Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
311
Trophies
0
XP
822
Country
Mexico
fat32 through guiformat, also, No, I only have 1 SD atm, the other one it was from a friend

IOSUHax/CBHC/Haxchi/Mocha SD loader error codes list:
-1 : HBL related, can't open or not enough memory to open HBL elf file
-2 : HBL related, entry point not found
-3 : SD Card not found
-4 : SD card found, can't mount it
-5 : SD Card found, can mount it, can't find/read/open the file
-6 : not enough memory to open file

remember that all the apps need to be on the WiiU/apps not only apps,because thats for the Wii side

do you have a screenshot of the wiiu folder?
 

wicksand420

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
2,800
Trophies
1
Age
37
XP
2,218
Country
United States
IOSUHax/CBHC/Haxchi/Mocha SD loader error codes list:
-1 : HBL related, can't open or not enough memory to open HBL elf file
-2 : HBL related, entry point not found
-3 : SD Card not found
-4 : SD card found, can't mount it
-5 : SD Card found, can mount it, can't find/read/open the file
-6 : not enough memory to open file

remember that all the apps need to be on the WiiU/apps not only apps,because thats for the Wii side

do you have a screenshot of the wiiu folder?
Agreed, something is not in the right place on the sd, I think I've seen this before a few times
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Next gen will probably be all portable
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Some things (like Super Famicom games) just feel right when you play them using the original hardware and a CRT
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    The PS tablet
    Gift
  • mthrnite tempBOT: @ mthrnite
    switches the box from tv to game
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Not so sure about that - the tendency for "graphics uber alles" tends to lead to very high power consumption
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    If you look at what's now portability graphics are catching up to console quality
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Nintendy is a huge example of not everyone caring about powerful specs most that do will be hardcore PC players anyway
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    The thing is that the IATA rules impose a pretty hard limit of 100Wh on battery sizes for lithium batteries - and it doesn't look like Li is going away soon
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    So if you want (say) 4 hours of runtime you need a maximum system-level power consumption of 25W
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Yeah but we already have AAA titles looking fine on tablet form 1080p displays
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Human eye can only tell so much of a difference
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    For reference, the PS5 is rated at 350W and the Xbox series X at 275W - and that's console only, without any display
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    But the future always holds performance never know what the aliens will donate from their left over tech
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Maybe :) - but batteries have turned out to be a pretty hard problem
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Like I said most that will truly care will already be hard core gaming pcers
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    And DF subscribers :)
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I bet you could find a neighbor with a ps5 and they'd have no idea what the word spec means
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Yeah probably - people on forums seem to care a lot, but they are heavily self-selected
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Most on forums try to get a good learning of actual tech
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Papaya, so good
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Only 13 more titles to go on ps3 yay
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I still have a remnant of the taste of the papaya
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    @KenniesNewName June will come sooner than the end of that process
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    PS3 had horrible speeds off the drive
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs
    Gift
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs