Wii turned off while updating... how to fix?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by yunior597, Oct 7, 2011.

Oct 7, 2011
  1. yunior597
    OP

    Newcomer yunior597 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    my wii was turned off while officially updating... now is bricked.

    i wonder is anyway i could fix it?
     


  2. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Did you have bootmii@boot2 installed or have a nand backup?
    Also what do you get when you open it? Do you get nothing at all or an error message
     
  3. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,546
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    That's bad, if you don't have bootmii boot2 or a working priiloader or something like that your wii is most likely full bricked...
     
  4. yunior597
    OP

    Newcomer yunior597 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    Sorry it was a non- hacked wii. No bootmii as boot2 or ios or priiloader... T_T

    And when i turn it on... i get nothing just black screen.
     
  5. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    Well, I would have recommended sending it to DeadlyFoez, but you need a NAND backup. I think you'll need a new console.
     
  6. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    seeing it's unmoded: why not consider sending it to ninty
     
  7. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,546
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah that would be some pretty intelligent step. Ninty should do the job for free if you still have guarantee.
     
  8. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could Foez not use Ohneswanzenegger?
     
  9. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    That's true. The serial is on the bottom (I assume) so making a new NAND could be an option.

    You could also send it to NoA, and you'd be able to save your games you bought. I wonder if you could dump a brick'd Wii's NAND and extract saves and games? :wonder:
     
  10. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If he can create a working nand.bin with said app, then he should be able to use Infectus. Just trying to think outside the box guys. Although, if its unmodded, why should he pay?
     
  11. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    Fail. You can't make a new nand without the keys.
     
  12. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    The wii NEEDS to have a vulnerable boot1 or a NAND backup for me to do anything to help the OP. If the op can compare his serial number to the ones in this thread then he can tell me if his wii does have a vulnerable boot1 so I can fix it, but in all honesty he is better off trying with N since he has not hacked it at all and it is free in most cases.

    BTW, I HATE GBATemps new forum layout. It fucking sucks. To the mods... Turn it back to the way it was.
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My bad
     
  14. yunior597
    OP

    Newcomer yunior597 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    it is vulnerable to boot1 since is a very old wii... but is not hacked.
     
  15. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    How old is it, and what is the full serial number?
     
  16. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    I could fix it for you then if that is true, and nintendo might not be willing to repair it since it is that old, and if they do then the wii wont have a vulnerable boot1 when you get it back, thus preventing you from ever having an easily fixable wii to avoid these issues in the future.
     
  17. yunior597
    OP

    Newcomer yunior597 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    Serial Number:

    LU352896481
    Anyway still full bricked while updating...

    No Bootmii/Preloader installed.
     
  18. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Your wii does not have a vulnerable boot1. Nintendo is your only option.
     
  19. rip-it-up

    Member rip-it-up GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd send it to ninty. just tell them it didnt turn on after a update and im sure they will fix it for free.
    do you have a nintendo serice centre were you live?
     
  20. yunior597
    OP

    Newcomer yunior597 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    ok ill try, but i live in dominican republic there is no nintendo service center here.
     

Share This Page