Wii System Menu dissapeared!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by shaka!!, Apr 5, 2009.

Apr 5, 2009

Wii System Menu dissapeared! by shaka!! at 10:12 AM (4,850 Views / 0 Likes) 34 replies

  1. shaka!!
    OP

    Newcomer shaka!! Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    So I was looking for a way to unhack my wii (so I could start over, way too many things went wrong) and read up about in the forums and followed the suggestions to format my Wii.

    After doing so it shut down and when I turned it off, much to my amazement, my Wii System Menu was gone and now I'm in some random menu that has the following options:

    Systemmenu
    Homebrew Channel
    Installed File

    Load/install File
    Systemmenu Hacks
    Settings​

    IOS v3.0
    Systemmenu v290 preloader v0.28

    What do I do? Any help is much appreciated!
     


  2. pika9323

    Member pika9323 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    Germany
    Its the Preloader Menu [​IMG]
     
  3. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Congratulations, It's a Preloader [​IMG]

    Go to Seetings, select "Boot Systemmenu" and "Return to Systemmenu" and you should be fine...but I've read that you want to make your Wii a Virgin..so I guess something went wrong...because if you would have done everything right, Preloader would be gone...I hope for you that the Systemmenu still boots..the version 0.28 had a nasty bug which bricked the Wii when formating it...
     
  4. shaka!!
    OP

    Newcomer shaka!! Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Yes, I've tried that. Doesn't work. It says "Error autobooting systemmenu! Ticket not Found!"
     
  5. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Please, don't say me that you clicked the Format-Button in the systemmenu...
     
  6. shaka!!
    OP

    Newcomer shaka!! Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Yes, that was the advice I received when searching through threads at wiiso.com with people who wanted the same thing as myself.
     
  7. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Use any region changer to reinstall your system menu. Old preloaders had a bug where it wouldn't work correctly after formating the Wii.

    Btw. formating your wii is allways a bad idea. Allmost nothing gets deleteed. for example all IOSs, preloader, system menu, etc. stay the same...
     
  8. shaka!!
    OP

    Newcomer shaka!! Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    How do I go about doing this?
     
  9. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    You have 0.28, so you're now bricked...I think I've read that it won't boot the HBC and the systemmenu...try to place a WAD-manager/AnyRegion-changer.dol on the root of the SD-Card, and install it...only thing that COULD help...
     
  10. menage730

    Member menage730 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    cant he go to hbc & run any region changer

    he still got preloader its not a full brick
     
  11. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    No, I'm pretty shure he can't...there are other Threads with had the same problem, and they couldn't boot the HBC...He has to place a boot.dol on the Root of the SD-Card (Any-Region Changer or WAD-Manager, if there's no Internet), go to "Load/Install File" and install the .dol. Then he COULD maybe boot from it, and reinstall the menu...if that don't work, there's nothing he can do, only send it to Nintendo...
     
  12. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Oh I forgot. Since he formated the homebrew channel should be gone. Is there any other way to start homebrew from preloader?
     
  13. shaka!!
    OP

    Newcomer shaka!! Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Thanks for the advice guys.

    Menage, I can't go to hbc, when I try to it says "Error autobooting HBC, maybe title not installed?"

    Blue-K, I installed it and it said that it installed ok. Now what? I went to the installed file and just a bunch of random numbers came up on my screen and there was nothing I could do.
     
  14. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Mhm..looks like a Code Dump...try another App..if there's still some numbers..try this .dol here:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=136256&st=0

    Don't rename it, simply place it on the root of SD, and install it. It should then load the boot.dol, that you have on your SD...Preloader has sometimes problems with loading .dols...If that don't work, sorry, then you can't do something...you must send it to Nintendo then...
     
  15. menage730

    Member menage730 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    did you try loading hbc not loading the file sorry i f it sounds like a stupid question
     
  16. shaka!!
    OP

    Newcomer shaka!! Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I selected the Homebrew Channel option the preloader gives me and that is the response I get.

    Not sure what you mean about loading 'the file'.
     
  17. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    You have a boot.dol on your SD-Card? If so, well, than I don't know what you could do...guess you'll have to send it to Nintendo..sorry [​IMG]
     
  18. shaka!!
    OP

    Newcomer shaka!! Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Ahh damnit. It pisses me off that someone would purposely give another person advice to brick their Wii.

    Last time I use wiiso.com :c
     
  19. menage730

    Member menage730 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    same thing happened to me about 8 months ago & i was so nervous & anxious that i was doing that dumb shit i kept loading the installed file lol dude i even had crediar himself trying to help he gave up i eventually figured it out after 2 days but check that site blue k said it might help
     
  20. shaka!!
    OP

    Newcomer shaka!! Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    The file blue k linked me to, although installing correctly, isn't doing anything.

    How did you fix yours?
     

Share This Page