Wii stopped reading discs??

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Xandu, Sep 3, 2008.

Sep 3, 2008

Wii stopped reading discs?? by Xandu at 5:06 PM (1,262 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Xandu
    OP

    Member Xandu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Egypt
    Ok so I went to Dubai and finally modded my Wii with "D2CPro". I tried it in the store, originals worked, backups did and even GC backups did. It worked flawlessly.

    And today I came back, and guess what..? It doesn't even load originals any more !! Even if you put a "CD-ROM" upside down!! I don't think it even tries to read it!!

    It spins some, makes weird noises, then comes up with the black screen:

    An error has occurred.
    Press Eject Button,
    remove the Game Disc,
    and turn the power off.
    Please read the wii manual for more information.

    Here's a video:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Here are some pictures of the inside:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!


    Please no (take it back/change the chip/send it to Nintendo) because all of these suggestions are impossible at the time.

    Forgot to mention, the ride from the airport to my house was REAL bumpy. How do I check if any wire came loose?
     
  2. Volkov

    Member Volkov GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Australia
    maybe a wire came loose while transporting it home...

    you might need a multimeter to test it...I've seen it happen plenty of times!!!
     
  3. Xandu
    OP

    Member Xandu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Egypt
    Yeah I forgot to mention, the ride from the airport to my house was REAL bumpy. How do I check if any wire came loose?
     
  4. Volkov

    Member Volkov GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Australia
    Get a multimeter and set it to ohms Continuity, I think. The picture should be of a little speaker. Touch the bit ON the wii chip, and the other point touch the modchip corresponding wire. The multimeter should beep if it's a straight connection. Make sure to test properly, if there's one connection loose, you can either try fix it with heating it up, if you're experienced, or take it back...and say it never worked when you came home.

    Paying to get it done should come with a reliability, and solderpoints should NOT come loose as easily as this...but I have seen it time and time again...sometimes it will work, sometimes it wont...it sucks.

    Hope I can help you

    btw you can get a cheap multimeter for like $10 dicksmiths or something, whatever cheapo electronics store you have where you live...
     
  5. Xandu
    OP

    Member Xandu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Egypt
    I checked (without the meter yet) but they seem to be soldered properly..

    Which cables on the board cause this specific error?
     
  6. Volkov

    Member Volkov GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Australia
    if the modchip has a faulty wire it could cause it to not read the discs...

    ALSO check all the ribbon cables, but they should be in...

    it's really impossible to tell if they look soldered, you need to check with a multimeter
     
  7. Xandu
    OP

    Member Xandu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Egypt
    Hmm ok I'll check with the multimeter. Meanwhile, what should I check for until I get one?

    I'll upload some 8 Megapixel pictures. The ones in the first post are with a Nokia E65 2MP camera.
     
  8. Xandu
    OP

    Member Xandu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Egypt
    More pics:


    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  9. Volkov

    Member Volkov GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Australia
    unplug all the ribbon cables with flat-nosed pliers, gently, then plug them all back in, if the wii still operates, takes a disc, but wont recognize it, then you have a loose wire (that's IF you say it worked at the shop), my guess anyways...
     
  10. Relys

    Member Relys Master of Computer Science

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    860
    Country:
    United States
    You're fucked.
     
  11. Xandu
    OP

    Member Xandu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Egypt
    Hmm ok thanks for the help Volkov, I tried the ribbon cables but no luck. I'll report back when I try the multimeter. Is it alright if I remove the black electric cable off the part where the chip's wires are soldered to? (this pic):

    http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u120/SXandu/DSC06220.jpg

    That really helped me Relys..
     
  12. Relys

    Member Relys Master of Computer Science

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    860
    Country:
    United States
    There's actually nothing else to say if you can't try the above you explicitly highlighted in red text.
     
  13. Xandu
    OP

    Member Xandu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Egypt
    After checking all 31 cables with the multimeter.. They're all soldered correctly but..

    Apparently they set the jumper settings on JAP (my Wii is USA). Don't know how it worked at the store with JAP settings.

    I set the jumper settings to USA now and same message with same spinning. I revert it back to JAP (how it was). No luck.

    So, what got screwed? My Wii drive or the modchip? And how did it work with JAP setting??
     

Share This Page