Hardware Wii Remotes on the Switch?

DoJo_Master

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 7, 2013
Messages
637
Trophies
0
Age
29
Website
www.3dsthemes.com
XP
451
Country
Canada
Just a quick question, with so many wiiu ports on the switch I was wondering how difficult it would be to create some custom controller drivers and pair up some wii remotes via bluetooth. Are we anywhere near that level for cfw yet? Could this be possible in the future? Could open the door for some wii emulation :O
 

hatchcanon

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 18, 2018
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
116
Country
United States
Considering the wiimotes are dated hardware, I believe they are purposely blocking them... In the future, possibly since it is bluetooth but then you would also have to figure out how to get the sensor bar to work as well.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DoJo_Master

Zyvyn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2017
Messages
2,060
Trophies
0
XP
2,350
Country
United States
Just a quick question, with so many wiiu ports on the switch I was wondering how difficult it would be to create some custom controller drivers and pair up some wii remotes via bluetooth. Are we anywhere near that level for cfw yet? Could this be possible in the future? Could open the door for some wii emulation :O
would require an adapter of sorts for it to connect but other than that it already has the functionality
 
  • Like
Reactions: DoJo_Master

DoJo_Master

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 7, 2013
Messages
637
Trophies
0
Age
29
Website
www.3dsthemes.com
XP
451
Country
Canada
Considering the wiimotes are dated hardware, I believe they are purposely blocking them... In the future, possibly since it is bluetooth but then you would also have to figure out how to get the sensor bar to work as well.
Well the sensor bar doesnt actually need to be connected to the switch its just a bit of light for the wii remote too read, infact I used to use two candles and that worked amazing
 
  • Like
Reactions: bundat

huma_dawii

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2014
Messages
3,838
Trophies
1
Age
30
Location
Planet Earth
XP
3,680
Country
United States
Well the sensor bar doesnt actually need to be connected to the switch its just a bit of light for the wii remote too read, infact I used to use two candles and that worked amazing
Plus the sensor bar is just for the IR part of the Wii Mote, you don't really need it. (Specially if they only add the Wii Motes with Motion Plus...)
 
  • Like
Reactions: DoJo_Master

DoJo_Master

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 7, 2013
Messages
637
Trophies
0
Age
29
Website
www.3dsthemes.com
XP
451
Country
Canada
Wiimotes and wii pro controllers do work on switch. I have been looking into getting different controllers like getting something for my PS2 controllers to be used as GameCube controllers.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07413R4HS
Well thats cool, I was more wondering if there was a software solution instead of hardware
 

fst312

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
953
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
New York
XP
1,915
Country
United States
Well thats cool, I was more wondering if there was a software solution instead of hardware
Not to sure about that but even though I’m not updating to 6.0, I’m wondering what the controller part of the update is about, not to sure if they mentioned what it did or did I hear wrong and nothing about the controllers were updated.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DoJo_Master

fst312

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
953
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
New York
XP
1,915
Country
United States
Except this only works with 1 other controller at a time.
Not considering the mayflash magic adapter anymore, I guess I’m back to just searching to see if I could get my Playstation controller to an adapter to connect to my GameCube adapter. Would have been nice to have all wiimotes working together. I really wish I could trust some third party GameCube controllers.
 
Last edited by fst312,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: 🍆 +3