Wii MotionPlus Built-In Issues?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by tonybologna, Jul 17, 2011.

Jul 17, 2011
  1. tonybologna
    OP

    Member tonybologna GO VOLS!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    USA- East Tennessee
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys! We recently bought the MotionPlus connection along with another separate MotionPlus built-in controller. The MotionPlus as the separate add-on is working just fine. I re-calibrated the remote to the sensor bar & this one seems to be okay. I can't say the same about the Wii MotionPlus built-in controller.

    I can't seem to get it to work right. It's not being picked up from the sensor bar at all times. I need to have it in a certain location for the sensor to pick it up. The location is about 8-10 ft. away from the TV & down low. We have our sensor bar located above our TV. If I don't have it in a certain area it will not work. It's not like that with the other controller. I do have the built-in one synced up with the Wii. We tried new batteries just to be safe & that didn't help either.

    I've not been able to find many reviews about the built-in MotionPlus controller. I've gotten it setup right. It's showing in slot #2 from the Wii. I even switched the slot to #1 and made the other controller #2 but still it's not working right. Does anybody know what may be causing my problem? Thanks!
     


  2. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have 2 wii remote plus controllers and they work fine, are you sure it's not a fake one? if you brought it from a 3rd party seller then it may be fake.
     
  3. tonybologna
    OP

    Member tonybologna GO VOLS!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    USA- East Tennessee
    Country:
    United States
    I'm talking about the built-in one though. The MotionPlus as a connection works just fine. They are not fake. It's the official ones from Nintendo. I bought them from a trusted seller on eBay. Thanks!
     
  4. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    That statement kind of destroys everything. Even if it looks legit it might still be fake
     
  5. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Maybe the IR sensor inside the Wii Remote Plus is at a wonky angle. If you're brave enough, you can open up the Wiimote and see at what angle the sensor is behind the lens at the tip of the Wiimote.
     
  6. tonybologna
    OP

    Member tonybologna GO VOLS!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    USA- East Tennessee
    Country:
    United States
    I've bought items from this eBay seller before. It's nothing to do with the seller. I don't wanna open up the built-in remote. I mean it's brand new. I think it's something to do with sensitivity to the sensor bar. Thanks!
     
  7. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    It could be either that, or the remote took damage on the way to your house. Like what bowser said, you should try to open it up and see if it has mis-aligned.

    Or, if you want, you can take a picture and let us look for damage?
     
  8. tonybologna
    OP

    Member tonybologna GO VOLS!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    USA- East Tennessee
    Country:
    United States
    Does anybody know anything about these built-in MotionPlus controllers? Reviews are hard to find. You can find quite a few reviews of the MotionPlus connectors but not the built-in controller ones. I took a close look at the remote. There's no signs of any damage. Looks like it should & that's brand new. I mean there's no signs of anything wrong.

    I can make selections with certain things from the Wii menu but after that it's hit & miss. I need to have it in a certain location. It's very odd! Even when I get it at that location, it's very sensitive. Slightest movement up/down/left/right & the cursor disappears off the screen. I'd like to know more about this thing before I jump to any conclusions. Thanks!
     
  9. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,358
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    i have a black one and never had any probs. sounds like you got a cheap Chinese knock-off
    post the ebay link i'll tell you if it is.
     
  10. tonybologna
    OP

    Member tonybologna GO VOLS!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    USA- East Tennessee
    Country:
    United States
    I finally got it working right. We have a projection HD TV setup with the Wii. We keep the sensor bar above the TV. That's the way it's been since we had this TV for about 6 years. I decided to experiment where I placed the sensor bar. I found a hot spot it seems. I moved it to the right of the TV more closer to the actual Wii console.

    The Wii console is about 2 1/2 feet off the ground. The sensor bar is about a foot away a little higher off the ground. That seems to have worked. I don't know exactly why but the bult-in controller is now working pretty much like it should. Does anybody know why? Surely, the console is not that sensitive. Thanks!
     
  11. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,358
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    you can adjust the sensitivity in the wiis option menu
     
  12. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,828
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    This statement destroys everything. Even if they look legit at GameStop, BestBuy or other major retailers, they still might be fake. (right?)
     
  13. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yep, that is certainly fake, and OP i was talking about the inbuilt wii remote +, i have 2 of them and they both work fine.

    also proof that you can get fake wii remote plus.

    http://www.dealextreme.com/p/nunchuck-remo...ue-2-x-aa-80848

    i wouldn't even trust ebay for anything.
     
  14. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,358
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    i got mine off ebay and it works fine. as long as you dont buy them from hong kong, korea or any asian country you'll be fine. when searching check the box that says browse your country ONLY to stop them from showing up. i buy nearly everything from ebay cos shopping sux here you just need to know WHAT YOUR DOING [​IMG]
     
  15. tonybologna
    OP

    Member tonybologna GO VOLS!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    USA- East Tennessee
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the replies everybody. However, I'm experienced with most of the comments.

    For the ones knocking eBay. I've been an eBay member for years. I've not came across one single bad transaction either. I know it can happen but eBay has put a stop to most fraudulent activity on there. This controller isn't a Chinese knock-off. I know all about fake stuff. I also know how to filter items out from other countries. I'm not a newbie on eBay by any means. Been buying & selling from there since 2004.

    I also know how to adjust the sensitivity from the Wii. I've done it many times in the past just tinkering with the controllers.

    Did you guys catch my previous reply? I said I got the built-in controller working. It wasn't what I thought it needed. Moving the sensor bar to another location has solved the problem with that controller. I still don't know exactly why but it's not about a fake or Chinese knock-off controller. The eBay seller has a 99.8% seller rating(trusted seller) & has been in constant communication since I emailed the problem to them.

    They've even offered me a free replacement in return & keep the one I have. It doesn't appear that I need a replacement. Maybe this built-in controller is just more sensitive than most or it did receive slight damage during shipment. I just feel it's okay now with the sensor bar being moved to a different location. Thanks guys!
     
  16. morgan200

    Newcomer morgan200 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Canada
    just so you know the sensor bar is nothing more than two LEDs so that your wii-mote has a point of reference, it doesn't transmit nor receive any form of data. If you had to move the senor bar specifically for this new controller then I think you have a problem with your control, as someone pointed out, being out of alignment...Something to think about [​IMG]
     
  17. tonybologna
    OP

    Member tonybologna GO VOLS!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    USA- East Tennessee
    Country:
    United States
    I'll keep that in mind. I've communicated with the seller & they're aware that I could have a somewhat faulty controller. It's working like it should but like you said I did have to move the sensor bar. I shouldn't need to do that. Thanks!
     
  18. luminalace

    Member luminalace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    462
    Country:
    Australia
    Wow I bought a Wii Motion Plus controller from Amazon from one of their sellers called digi. Anyway I got it very cheap but when I got it, I suspected it was a fake but found no info on the net about fake Wii Motion Plus controls so thought I was OK. Now I'm not so sure.
     
  19. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,358
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    the officical ones have Wii MotionPlus INSIDE (exact writing) in an arc under a big Wii text under the 4 blue sync buttons
     
  20. luminalace

    Member luminalace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    462
    Country:
    Australia
    Well Blade you would know. I paid AU $26 all up with shipping included for my Wii Motion Plus but it could be real. It looks legit and came in a Japanese Nintendo box but it was shipped from Hong Kong by looking at the packaging.
     

Share This Page