Wii Emergency help please

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by klight18, Aug 19, 2009.

Aug 19, 2009

Wii Emergency help please by klight18 at 5:31 AM (1,660 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. klight18
    OP

    Newcomer klight18 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    ok long story short, i softmodded a friends wii, he returned the wii to me bricked, the wii doesnt have the homebrew channel anymore and it wont load in system menu. it loads into preloader or into bootmii. i have made a NAND backup before giving him the wii. how do i restore the wii back with the backup? or how do i fix the wii in general? he also said he started having problems loading backups and said he tried to update the wii to start "fresh" even after i told him not to update his wii. he thought that updating his wii will reset it and remove all homebrew and stuff on it so he could do it again himself.
     


  2. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    if you can load into preloader you can load into hbc.

    if you made a NAND backup, load into bootmii and go to the settings, then restore NAND from SD Card

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    place the nand.bin on the root of your sd card.
     
  3. klight18
    OP

    Newcomer klight18 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    wow.. um i know i installed bootmii as boot2 succesfully but when i insert my sd card it loads me into wad manager 1.4 what do i have to do to go into bootmii? and i made the backup with the softmii NAND browser and its labeled 00000042.app i tried using preloader to boot into the HBC channel but it wont. my friend said he removed it before attempting to update the wii
     
  4. JKR Firefox

    Member JKR Firefox Back.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Why God why?

    Why must people with no knowledge do such things?

    I think your pal deleted the NAND backup on the SD card and with no access to the HBC, you may be fucked. Someone correct me if I'm wrong please.
     
  5. klight18
    OP

    Newcomer klight18 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] i successfully softmodded MY wii and it works perfectly fine and plays every backup and game just fine. idk why he was having problems with it.
     
  6. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    Uhm, can't you install the hackmii installer using preloader and install the HBC?
     
  7. klight18
    OP

    Newcomer klight18 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    ill try that
     
  8. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States

    That softmii nand browser backup is NOT a NAND backup. It is basically just a normal system menu that you would install to return the theme you installed to normal.

    When you boot your Wii, it loads you into wad manager because of cboot2.

    You would need to get the regular bootmii files again and boot the wii up with those files in it instead of the cboot2 files to load up bootmii, but since you don't have a real NAND backup, bootmii won't do you any good since the HBC is gone as well.

    Since you can boot up to that wad manager from cboot2 now anyways, you might as well use that to try to install the most recent IOS60 and the 4.1 system menu wad OF YOUR REGION. Then see if your system menu comes back and then reinstall everything you need using one of the stickied guides.
     
  9. klight18
    OP

    Newcomer klight18 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    okay ill try that instead.
     
  10. klight18
    OP

    Newcomer klight18 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    sorry if this is a stupid question but where can i get the system menu wad 4.1u?
     
  11. mrgarrison

    Newcomer mrgarrison Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Kelowna BC
    Country:
    Canada
  12. klight18
    OP

    Newcomer klight18 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    im having a problem using NUSD. can you give me a quick run down of what i need to do to obtain it? i get an error using it
     
  13. mrgarrison

    Newcomer mrgarrison Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Kelowna BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Step:

    1. Load it up [​IMG]
    2. Click "Database" at the top of the screen -> System -> System Menu -> v449 (4.1U)
    3. Select "Pack -> Wad" at the bottom of the window
    4. Start NUS Download!
    5. Grab the newly made .wad file out of the "0000000100000002" folder

    Redo setps but select Database -> IOS -> IOS 60 -> v6174

    You'll need both those
     
  14. klight18
    OP

    Newcomer klight18 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    thank you so much but i have a problem, i cant click anything when i load it up. only a giant button that says generate certs but when i click it i get "cannot connect to remote server" and "unhandeled exceptions occured" or something like that [​IMG]
     
  15. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Check the offline guide of the dude who posted here first.

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=171901

    particularly the part that says:

    then get NUS Downloader

    extract from NUSDv12.zip and open this program up

    Check "pack -> wad" on the bottom first

    and on the top where it says "database" click &

    navigate to system, system menu, choose v449 [4.1u] [[450 4.1e for pal users]] and click start NUS Download.

    and then

    navigate to IOS, IOS 60, choose v6174 and click start NUS Download.


    Don't follow the instructions to uncheck the pack to wad for that one though. In this case you want IOS60 as a wad.
     
  16. klight18
    OP

    Newcomer klight18 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    nabster i did, but i cant even do anything with NUSD because everytime i click generate certs i get some error.
     
  17. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Did you try downloading the version posted in that offline guide thread that includes that database.xml file with it?

    Edit: This one
     
  18. klight18
    OP

    Newcomer klight18 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    yes i did
     
  19. klight18
    OP

    Newcomer klight18 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    ugh...! what do i do?! ive been trying to fix this for days and ive been searching everywhere. is NUSD not working because i have 64bit vista?
     
  20. Ajax

    Newcomer Ajax Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    I'm running 64-bit windows 7 and NUSD is working just fine.

    Here are some tentative solutions:
    1. Right click NUS downloader.exe and select "Run as Administrator"
    2. Windows XP compatability mode? (I dont think this will help but go ahead)
    3. This program requires .NET 2.0. Vista should not have a problem with this, but try downloading and installing both these (x86 - x64) just for completeness sake
    4. Go find a different computer and run NUSD from there in order to create the wads you need (there are a half bazillion computers in the world, you should have access to more than one)
    5.Whine at somebody (via pm) to do something illegal for you (create the wads and send them to you [NOT recommended... at all])

    I'm certain that one of these options will solve your problem


    ... Before you ask, I will not do anything for you concerning #5

    ... I never knew until I read this thread that they had a database for this program, lol.
     

Share This Page