wii backup loader

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by dkara, Nov 23, 2008.

Nov 23, 2008

wii backup loader by dkara at 9:03 PM (3,574 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. dkara
    OP

    Newcomer dkara Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hey,

    just a couple of days ago i installed wii backup loader v0.3 on my PAL wii.

    i installed everything properly.

    i played a mates backup game on my wii and all went well.

    so i downloaded call of duty world at war ntsc version.

    i ran region frii to change it to a PAL game, then ran wii brickbloacker.
    i opened imgburn and burned the game onto a TDK 16x disc on a speed of 2.4x.

    i inserted it into my wii and ran wii backup loader. it then came up with a message saying '' dvd read error (384) ''

    every time i put it in, it comes up with the same message but scarface backup still works fine.

    i don't no how to solve this problem!

    if theres anything i could do to solve it this problem, could u please tell me?


    thanks
     
  2. w_n_s

    Newcomer w_n_s Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Belfast
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    why didn't you just take an ISO backup of your mates DVD if you know his works fine?
     
  3. pebls123

    Member pebls123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    try reburning may be a media issue/bad burn and did you use -r dvds if not you have to booktype it to dvd-rom

    I think its two different games (friends- scarface and his -cod 5 am i right)
     
  4. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    use dvd-r and burn at 6x 2.4 is a bit low
     
  5. syst3merror

    Member syst3merror GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    I would recommend installing the newest backup loader Gamma or the newest "rock band" softchip backup loader.
     
  6. dkara
    OP

    Newcomer dkara Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i used TDK-r 16x!
    i also tried to burn it again at 2x and the same message came up.
    i used wii dumper to get scarface iso to my comp. and burned it at 2x.
    yet again the same message came up.
     
  7. w_n_s

    Newcomer w_n_s Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Belfast
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    make sure you installed the new cIOS that was released with Gamma.

    Your mates game probably worked with Wiigator 0.3 Beta with the beta cIOS.

    COD 5 only works with 0.3 Gamma and the Gamma cIOS.

    Read the guide here and ensure you install the cIOS thats included in the zip file on the link:

    http://www.iol.ie/~taz/WiiHowToGamma.html
     
  8. Beatchu

    Member Beatchu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    2.4 is ok for my crap quality Tesco DVD+Rs!
     
  9. dkara
    OP

    Newcomer dkara Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hey thanks u lots for the advice!!


    i used the site that w_n_s gave me to install everything!!

    buh installed Forsaekn_Gamma_Loader.wad file!
    does it matter or shuld i install different 1?

    also if in the futher i wnted to unistall everything u installed, how would i do that?

    thanks
     
  10. dkara
    OP

    Newcomer dkara Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i wondering if its my dvd burner.

    i have a TSSTcorp CD/DVDW TS-H653L!

    is it my dvd burner??
     
  11. techfreak713

    Newcomer techfreak713 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I also have the same dvd drive and have been experiencing problems!

    However, out of the four games I have tried to burn, I have managed to get Castlevania Judgment to work, after burning at 16x Memorex DVD+R with Alcohol 120%.
    I've heard the DVD's are part of the problem as well.

    It still kills me that I can't get Guitar Hero World Tour to run though...I've tried about everything with that iso.

    UPDATE!!! I found some DVD+RW's in my house and said "what the hell" and burned a 1:1 of Guitar Hero World Tour, using ImgBurn 4x speed on Maxell DVD+RW's. Surprisingly it worked PERFECTLY!!! It ran the game as well as it had when I had rented the game a few weeks ago. I also ran Excite Truck (PAL) and Castlevania Judgment, both 1:1, nearly flawlessly as well. So to answer your question, no it is not your dvd burner. It is the DVD you are using!

    Update 2. Metroid Prime 3 also works, but with slightly slower door load times. Upwards of 20 seconds on doors, but rest of game plays smoothly.
     

Share This Page