Which cIOS do I need?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Hebon, Jun 26, 2012.

Jun 26, 2012

Which cIOS do I need? by Hebon at 12:35 AM (1,083 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Hebon
    OP

    Member Hebon Dabbling in the videogamagical

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    I'd like to know what (if there is any) cIOS do I need for USB Loader GX AND to load Virtual Consoles from Gecko OS. Thanks.
    A single cIOS is preferable to multiple, but if necessary, I will do multiple.
     
  2. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    d2x 24956 and d2x 25057 will do
     
  3. Hebon
    OP

    Member Hebon Dabbling in the videogamagical

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, Installing cIOS's have always given me trouble. Is there an automatic installer I could use? Or a tool?
     
  4. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Modmii is as close as you'll get.

    Hermes cIOS222 v5 loads the majority of games faster than d2x, but it takes a small compatibility hit (maybe 5 games).
     
  5. Hebon
    OP

    Member Hebon Dabbling in the videogamagical

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    There isn't a list showing the differences of them, is there?
     
  6. kirbymaster101

    Member kirbymaster101 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,048
    Country:
    Canada
    249 for 95$ of games
    250 for Cod black ops , cod mw 3 and etc.
     
  7. Hebon
    OP

    Member Hebon Dabbling in the videogamagical

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    Which cIOS?
     
  8. Hebon
    OP

    Member Hebon Dabbling in the videogamagical

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    Also, I'd prefer one that doesn't add extra functionality. Just allows me to use USB Loader GX and Gecko OS.
     
  9. kirbymaster101

    Member kirbymaster101 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,048
    Country:
    Canada
    cios249(base 56)
    cios 250(base57)

    IF you want a simple method use modmii, go to dowload page 4 and set the option to download all recommended cios's.
    Install them using a wad manager
     
  10. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I mainly go with the selection mentioned on this wiiflowiki page. It mentions the version, base IOS and slot. The download link has a package to d2x version 8 final, which is most likely better than the mentioned beta r41 package.

    As mentioned, the IOS'es with bases 56 and 57 will be enough for roughly 99,9% of the games (I remember one that only worked on 58, but that was an unique one...and some d2x versions ago). Note that the "added functionality" doesn't hinder anything if it's installed in other slots. So even though I probably never use those in slots 245 to 248, it doesn't hurt to have them.



    @[member='kirbymaster101']: you have no idea what you're talking about, right? "249" is just the name of the slot. I can install my mother to slot 249 and call her cIOS249...it doesn't make her a recommended cIOS to load anything. Even if she was based on IOS56.
     
  11. Hebon
    OP

    Member Hebon Dabbling in the videogamagical

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    Reading all this makes me realize that I really don't understand cIOS's. What do you mean by slots? And are there multiple IOS's on a Wii at once?
     
  12. kirbymaster101

    Member kirbymaster101 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,048
    Country:
    Canada
    srry buit I do know what I am talking about. Sorry if I should have made it clear. ios with base 56 installed into 249 and base 57 installed in ios slot 250.
     
  13. x4mer

    Newcomer x4mer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Canada
    You reinforced his point. That only tells which slots were used to build the cios in, and which official IOS was used as a base to build the cios. In no way does it tell which cios to use.
     
    1 person likes this.
  14. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    Slots are numbers where cIOS's and IOS's take shape in. For example, I could install IOS60 into slot 59, and then IOS60 would take the form of IOS59.

    To answer your other question, yes.
     

Share This Page