What wi-fi does the 3ds support?

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by cris92x, Mar 30, 2011.

Mar 30, 2011
  1. cris92x
    OP

    Member cris92x GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    419
    Country:
    United States
    Also since i have a wired connection what would be the easiest way to be able to create a wifi accesspoint so my 3ds can connect to the internet
     
  2. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Official Nintendo Wi-Fi USB Connector.
    Pretty sure they aren't made now though
     
  3. altorn

    Member altorn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    or just buy a $30-$40 router. once you setup a wireless access point, then it would be rolling.
    i'm glad that the 3DS supports my home network (a common type). my phone can tether, so my 3DS can access it's wifi/3G too!
     
  4. Nollog

    Member Nollog GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,691
    Country:
    Ireland
    It supports 802.11 b and g
    A n router will work with it in b/g/n or g/n mode, but not in n-only mode.
    It's not accredited to support a, but it might.
     
  5. Oceanborn712

    Member Oceanborn712 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Germany
    If you have a smartphone that is capable of tethering you could also use it to set up a mobile hotspot. That's what I'm doing for regular DS games (since I don't want to set my WLAN's security to WEP)
     
  6. altorn

    Member altorn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    well, N signal supporting devices are still not popular in the market, but it's getting there.
    but it depends on the type of b/g/n signal, the 3DS MAY support the wireless N and be able to connect to it, just not the N speeds (300mbps?)
     

Share This Page