What SDHC card should i get?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by gokuguy, Jan 24, 2009.

Jan 24, 2009

What SDHC card should i get? by gokuguy at 2:23 AM (1,335 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. gokuguy
    OP

    Member gokuguy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    403
    Country:
    United States
    What card should i get for around $10-$15 4gb sdhc?
     
  2. CoconutCake

    Member CoconutCake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Get an 8GB Transcend Class 6. Only $15 delivered at Newegg.

    Plays POR with no freezes, the DOS video smooth as butter and the TWEWY intro with no freezes. Great SDHC card!
     
  3. gokuguy
    OP

    Member gokuguy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    403
    Country:
    United States
    Are the Kingston any good? Because dealextreme has a 4gb TF Micro SDHC Kingston for $9. I know that Kingston worked well in R4, but how bout this?
     
  4. Taza

    Member Taza GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Finland
    Any Genuine Kingston will do well. But the Transcend is an awesome deal as well.

    Just remember the Panasonic SDHC formatter
     
  5. CoconutCake

    Member CoconutCake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Fake flash media is rampant in Hong Kong, and it's not smart buying those from DX IMO because you may get a fake.

    Besides, why bother with 4GB when you can get 8GB from Newegg for $15 shipped? It's a killer card. Take a look:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16820208453
     
  6. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    if you do want 4gb and you live in the states (so you can order from newegg) you can get the class6 transcend for 5.99 (last i looked). i own 3 of the 8gigs now and love them. i also have some kingston 2gb kits which i use often. i read about issues on the kingston sdhc msds but have not owned one. my point is, do a bit of research -- don't just follow this 1 thread.

    -another world
     
  7. Diosoth

    Member Diosoth GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Country:
    United States
    Kingston doesn't seem to sell anything above a class 4 card. My 4 GB SDHC freezes in POR.
     
  8. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
  9. bollocks

    Member bollocks GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i dunno if there are any class 6's out there that are crap (afaik the class rating isnt based on random access speed which is what's really important for nds games) but you can also get a-data 8gb class 6 for $15.49 if you're lucky enough to live in the states and therefore able to use bloody newegg (here), and my 4gb a-data class 6 has been great so far. so yeah transcend, a-data, all good. i think.

    im sure the kingston are fine as well, just dont treat them like theyre untouchable. theyre not and never have been, its just that in the pre-hc days their rebranded toshiba cards were the best. but about a million other companies rebrand toshiba cards as well (integral, dane-elec, bytestor come to mind) and the taiwanese manufacturers have more than caught up - i dont think toshiba are even making class 6 microsdhc yet.
     
  10. Diosoth

    Member Diosoth GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Country:
    United States
    My 2 GB Kingston Japan cards seem able to play POR without lockups, but my 4 GB Kingston Japan can't go 5 minutes without freezing.

    I broke down and ordered that 8 GB class 6 Transcend card mentioend above. It'll let me expand for more games and actually give fair room for music.
     
  11. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    using the panasonic formatter and akaio 1.3 final (with dma) should fix your problem. have you tried that?

    -another world
     
  12. Diosoth

    Member Diosoth GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Country:
    United States

    Panasonic formatter, yes. I'll go back to AKAIO once I get this new card. I can't get Virus DS to run on AKAIO with my current SD card, so I reverted back to official FW.
     
  13. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
  14. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Kingstons are arguabally the best, as they are made in china/japan/somewhere around there.
     
  15. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am going to second this, I bought the same card for £10 and it works fine.

    I don't think anything less than class 6 is worth touching, not considering the prices class 6 cards like this are available for!

    brand used to be important before SDHC, mostly because the was no way of knowing the quality of a card by any other means, but the new SDHC class system seems quite reliable, at least for measuring speed. that said transcend seems to be a reliable brand
     

Share This Page