What Programming Language do I need to learn to make games?

Discussion in 'Computer Programming, Emulation, and Game Modding' started by Gizametalman, Nov 7, 2016.

1. Gizametalman
    OP

Gizametalman GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Dec 18, 2015
    Mexico
    D.F. - Zona Cero.
    Hi all.
    Uh, I've been learning C# in UNITY. Unity is a great tool, you can use C# and JavaScript AND Boo in order to make games for almost any modern device.
    And I was thinking about something today... while playing Super Smash Bros 64.
    When I got to fight against Samus, I was thinking about how come Nintendo did not made a Metroid game for the N64. I mean, the fight against Samus in Brinstar (Smash 64) looks amazing. And I was wondering, if I could... make a Metroid game from scratch.
    Must say that my programming knowledge is not very vast :shy: I can barely make platforms, object collition and programming key controls... ugh, so much to learn.
    But nevermind, since I'm still learning, I questioned about what type of Programming Language did Nintendo used to program their games.
    Did they used C? or C#?
    And yes, I know that C# is very different than C.
    That's a question I've been wondering for quite a long time. And because of that question, I made the decision to learn how to code games.
    :D
    Regards!

raystriker likes this.
  2. deisuke1234

deisuke1234 Advanced Member

Newcomer
    Mar 4, 2016
    i would say both of them since from what i know opengl and other graphic developing uses libary from C and C#. Not a pro but this is what i think at least.

3. Gizametalman
    OP

Dec 18, 2015
    Mexico
    D.F. - Zona Cero.
    I already said that I don't have a vast knowledge... so, for Instance... If I ever get to make a Metroid 64 game... do I require something else aside C pr C# in order to make the ROM work with N64 emulators? Like Project64 and Not64 (Wii)?

4. 44100hz

44100hz Member

Newcomer
    Apr 7, 2016
    United States