What is the best Class for SDHC Cards?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Pedobear, Dec 6, 2008.

Dec 6, 2008
  1. Pedobear
    OP

    Banned Pedobear Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    I saw a post where a guy was asking how good is SDHC card is, and another guy asked what class it is. I looked at my box and saw class 2, and I was quite curious. Which class is the best? I have Class 2, is it the best?
     
  2. putifreak

    Member putifreak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    Germany
    class 2 = worst
    class 6 = best
     
  3. Annaaaaa

    Newcomer Annaaaaa Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
     /l、 (゚、 。 7
    Country:
    Denmark
    its the worst >.>
     
  4. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    Yeah, what they said [​IMG] The higher number, the higher speed!
     
  5. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah Class 2 is the worst but don't worry since you probably won't even notice a difference.
     
  6. Pedobear
    OP

    Banned Pedobear Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
  7. updowners

    Member updowners lurklurklurk

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,323
    Country:
    Australia
    Dammit! I realised I mine was class 2 as well. [​IMG]
     
  8. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    There's not really a huge difference. If you want a good class 4 you could get a cheap Kingston at Buy.com. Got my 4GB for $10! [​IMG]
     
  9. superdude

    Member superdude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    isn't there a class 8 now with the new 16gb cards and soon to be selling 32gb

    i have a 4gb class 2
     
  10. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    Not that I know of. I'm almost positive that even with the new 16GB cards the highest it goes is class 6.
     
  11. OneMichael

    Newcomer OneMichael Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I really don't know the classes on mine (they don't say on the card, and I didn't get any other materials with them), but I do notice the difference between my 1GB and my 2GB. When you're used to the menu loading at a certain speed every time you turn it on, that extra two seconds feels jarring.
    I'd like to try a class 6 card, sometime, just to see the difference. I'd imagine it would nearly halve the loading time.

    Has anyone here compared the lowest and highest classes?
     
  12. hetyu

    Newcomer hetyu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Hungary
    Country:
    Hungary
    Is there any difference between the brands?
    Now i would be able to buy a Kingmax SDHC 8gb Class6 with a cardreader for 25 dollar which seems for me the best solution atm.
    I just dont know if i would recognize some lagg in games later since i didnt heard anything from this cards yet, and still dont know if it is advised to use a 8gb in a DS lite with M3 card.
    Any opinions? Should i buy it?
     
  13. Kittymat

    Member Kittymat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    589
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I use a class 2 16GB card and have no lag in any games at all, (M3 Real)
     
  14. Mikef

    Newcomer Mikef Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    The classes are min Write speeds.
    Cameras need a fast Write speed, but the DS needs only a fast Read speed.
    You can benchmark the card with HD Tach or similar app.

    So the classes 2,4,6 don't really matter in the DS, only in a Camera. [​IMG]
     
  15. juntok_abot

    Member juntok_abot GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    Indonesia
    even class 2 still better than normal non sdhc microsd, so dont worry
     
  16. tbgtbg

    Member tbgtbg Shaking the ring ropes up in the sky

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    United States
    What about saving? Is there any significant difference when the saves are written that it could ever matter?

    (I don't mean to sound sarcastic, or anything, I just wondered and though I should ask.)
     
  17. DokiDoki98

    Member DokiDoki98 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    394
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    United States

    No, not really
     
  18. updowners

    Member updowners lurklurklurk

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,323
    Country:
    Australia
    I heard that if you try TWEWY with a class 2 microsd it might freeze in one of the cutscenes.
    It froze for me when I was using the M3Real so I had to delete the game [​IMG]
     
  19. xxmadxx

    Newcomer xxmadxx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    this is the absolute truth dont worry so much about the "class" its the latest buzz word.for the ds it wont matter much i have a ton of cards from old school ones with no class rating to 2,4,6 from 512-8gig and difference between cards? YES but its not the class lol some brands are just better or more consistent than others. instead of worrying about class try formatting your card differently ( there is more than one way to format a card ) or better yet try the sd format tool you just might be suprised on the results. right now im using a 8gb class 4 kingston when formatted with windows seems a little slow ( some stutters in game vids) formatted with sdformatter plays game vids 99% (slight very slight stutter in the sonic rpg video)other than that no problems at all. other than that dont worry so much enjoy your card you are not missing anything .
     
  20. tonybologna

    Member tonybologna GO VOLS!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    USA- East Tennessee
    Country:
    United States
    DealExtreme currently has a class4 Kingston SDHC MC for about $8.50 I believe. I'm ordering a bunch of things from there for our son tomorrow & have researched the SDHC class4 MC. I know it was around $10 about a week ago but the price has dropped recently. Thanks guys & yeah my first time posting here on the forums even though I've visited here a few times before. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page