what am I doing wrong

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by flashmanx, Dec 11, 2010.

Dec 11, 2010

what am I doing wrong by flashmanx at 7:56 AM (949 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. flashmanx
    OP

    Newcomer flashmanx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    I have a softmodded wii at firmware 4.3 I came across a 4.3 softmodd guide and tried it out using brawl. Using wii backup manager to convert wbfs files to isos to burn. I use img burner at speed 4x and have successfully gotten wiiware and vc to run off a sd card. Burned dk returns, epic mickey, super mario galaxy 2, red steel 2, wii party, and a bunch of others and gamecube games and emulators to work
    I burned all those to memorex dvd + r disc

    rabbids in time I couldn't get to work on the +r so I went out to buy dvd-r disc and it works perfectly

    busy scissors stopped reading while my wife was playing. kirby epic yarn, marvel super heroes grandmaster challenge, mario party 8, all boot to the start menu then error. hells kitchen, soul clalibur legends I get a disc read error.


    I don't want to use a hd to do games I'd rather have them burned and I tried using a hd anyway and could never get it to work

    please tell me what I need to do to get work mostly epic yarn
     
  2. bulldog7114

    Newcomer bulldog7114 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was always told to use dvd- r to play backup disc's but it will eventually wear the drive lens out.
    This could be one reason your disc's are not working properly.
    i would recommend to buy a hd.
     
  3. flashmanx
    OP

    Newcomer flashmanx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    I already said I couldn't get a hd to work
    my lens won't be worn because I just modded my wii this past week and have only been burning and making sure games worked

    thanks for the thought though
     
  4. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well I'd only recommend Burned disc for gamecube Backups.

    For Wii you REALLY ought to have Backuploading from HD.

    99.9 % of all the games work from HD.

    SETING UP IS EASY. Probably quicker to do, than burning a game.

    The better USB loaders can load discs also. so there really no excuse anymore.
    They are more or less all in one apps.
    If you want to play those games without problems, get a HD. Period.
    Some usb loaders can run games from an SD card also.
    Usb sticks are also fine.

    If you want to delv deeper in this matter. Please lookup MODMII.
    It's the program to make your dreams come true.
     
  5. flashmanx
    OP

    Newcomer flashmanx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    see I tried the 8 gb sd card I searched youtube how to videos and people seem to say get wfbs manager and format the card or hd with that then use that to copy games

    well I tried it with wii backup manager and I believe usb loader sd usb
    it says failed to mount sd card

    i kept trying to use wfbs backup manager but it trys to install microsoft framenet or something I can't recall and that wouldn't install so the wfbs manager would not install properly

    so I just figured screw it I'll burn disc and most disc are 4.37 in size anyway

    I have a hd I use for movies and shows and wrestling. I store files on there and plug the hd into my xbox 360 or ps3 and watch them on there I'd really hate to format it and try using it

    I'll look into the modmii thing though thanks
     
  6. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    FYI you can use a FAT or NTFS drive just as well.
    Nowadays WBFS is'nt the only way.

    YOU MISSING OUT GREATLY.
     
  7. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    your dvd drive is probably a D3-2 or D4
    so NO Dvds
     
  8. RchUncleSkeleton

    Member RchUncleSkeleton Skeletron 9000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    This is excatly what I was gonna say, I'm surprised no one else before you came to this conclusion!
     
  9. smf

    Member smf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It can't be if it started working and then stopped.

    USB HD is the way to go, format with FAT32 and you don't even need an SD card anymore.
     

Share This Page