Weird Wifi Issues with DSTWO

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by schmocke, Jan 3, 2011.

Jan 3, 2011

Weird Wifi Issues with DSTWO by schmocke at 2:49 AM (2,914 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. schmocke
    OP

    Newcomer schmocke Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Germany
    Hey guys.
    I stumbled upon a weird issue a few days ago. A friend of mine and me wanted to play Mario Kart DS in Wifi-Mode. We did it before as well as other games like Tetris Party Deluxe, Space Invaders Extreme, Bust A Move DS etc. Last time, we used EOS 1.07 and it worked like a charm.
    This time, both DSTWOs were on EOS 1.08 with latest patches installed - identically setup you could say. My friend owns a DSi, mine is a DSi XL. We are on Firmware 1.4E.
    But, here comes the pain: none of the games we tried to play wireless gives us a connection - on both NDSes. the "Wifi-meter" shows nothin´ but red = no communication (yes, Wifi was enabled on both systems [​IMG] ). What can cause this behaviour!? Were it our DSTWOs, our NDS systems? I have no clue. Perhaps some weird W-Lan signals from the laptops which laid around there?
    Any ideas how to get things to work again?
     
  2. Devilkid32177

    Member Devilkid32177 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    hiding in my mind, im lost
    Country:
    United States
    do you have any other systems to test the flashcart on?

    were you using the EOS 1.07 on the DSi XL?

    make sure the mario kart rom you have is set to the region for both of them, cause different region games have a bad habit of not connecting to other region games alto of the time
     
  3. schmocke
    OP

    Newcomer schmocke Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Germany
    As I said. The first time we played (a few weeks/months ago) both DSTWOs were on 1.07 - now, both are on 1.08 with latest updates installed (system3.dat etc.). And, of course there´s no region mismatching involved - we used european versions of the mentioned roms.
    Unfortunately, I have no other DS systems to test these issues but I doubt it´s a hardware defect - as there are two DSis, hooked up with two DSTWOs which shows the exact same problem.
     
  4. Devilkid32177

    Member Devilkid32177 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    hiding in my mind, im lost
    Country:
    United States
    hm.. try to downgrade one of the DSTwo cards and see if either one of you can connect to the other person and see if it works, cause i had a similar issue with blue dragon rom, i could connect to other people but they couldn't connect to me >__>
     
  5. schmocke
    OP

    Newcomer schmocke Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Germany
    I have to bump up this thread again, 'cause the problem persists. [​IMG]
    Same DSi & DSi XL setup as before but this time again with the latest patches and firmwares for our DSTWOs (FW 1.12, EOS 1.11 from July 23rd, no plugins at all installed).
    The DSis are still on 1.4E and we were not able to connect to each other in any game.
    Downgrading wasn't done yet, because we'd like to play newer games as well.
    Any ideas how to play on Wifi again against each other with our setups!?
     
  6. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    so this is with all wifi games? and why are you using wifi if you two are right next to each other?
     
  7. thela_kid

    Member thela_kid GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    The Void
    Country:
    United States
    i think i've had this issue before too. what I did is i made sure i had the latest patch file for the dstwo and make sure cheats are "off" and make sure the game is set to PATCH NOT clean.

    edit: I also had to re-dump one of the roms.
     
  8. schmocke
    OP

    Newcomer schmocke Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Germany
    Oh, I meant "Download Play" of course - the direct connection between the two of us doesn't work.
    And, latest patches and firmwares are installed on both DSTWOs and there are no cheats activated, nor are we in "clean mode".
     
  9. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    then try it in clean mode
     
  10. schmocke
    OP

    Newcomer schmocke Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Germany
    I did - patch mode, clean mode, nothin' works.
    Only issue I can think of right now is, that his or mine DSi (XL) has a damaged Wifi-Module which leads to our connection problems.
     
  11. X_Frost

    Member X_Frost GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    Any chance that you have wireless communications off? I must've had that problem a couple of times with Pokemon SoulSilver.
     
  12. schmocke
    OP

    Newcomer schmocke Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Germany
    Sadly, no chance. Both DSis had wireless communication enabled.
    I guess I have to live with this annoying issue.
    So I'll have to dig out my M3i Zero to play Mario Kart DS against my friend. [​IMG]
     
  13. TheDreamLord

    Member TheDreamLord GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    Àre they different regions of mario kart? that COULD be the cause. iirc europe + usa do not mix with some games. same with usa + japanese or europe + japanese or w/e
     
  14. schmocke
    OP

    Newcomer schmocke Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Germany
    As I mentioned above, there's no region mismatching. Both roms are the European ones.
     
  15. digipokemaster

    Member digipokemaster Innocent Uke

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    so is this about wifi or wireless play if it wifi i have the same problem with some of my games like pokemon b/w. i have the latest fw and eos too but still no luck and i have tryed patched mode and clean mode
     
  16. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    it's download play, not wifi
     

Share This Page