Warhawk DS v1.0 7/8/09

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Another World, Jul 9, 2009.

Jul 9, 2009

Warhawk DS v1.0 7/8/09 by Another World at 1:58 AM (2,929 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    [​IMG] Warhawk DS v1.0 7/8/09
    NEW NDS Hombrew
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Warhawk DS is "based on a commercial C64 game released by Proteus Developments in 1986." This port has been coded 100% in ASM and given the professional touch, this homebrew is of "retro-commercial" quality. For more information on the project and the game itself, check the source page linked below.



    [​IMG] Download EFS
    [​IMG] Download FAT
    [​IMG] Download ALT
    [​IMG] Source
    [​IMG] Discuss
     
  2. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    can anyone else confirm that the musical audio does not function on the acekard 2.1 using akaio 1.4.1 proper? soundefx, however, are working. hmm using my rpg and a different msd i'm still getting no music. the rpg is running akaio 1.3 =/.

    i found out the issue:
    if the 3in1 is inserted the audio does not play. this is probably another 'efs' problem. these appear on every homebrew app i've tried that used 'efs' when the 3in1 is plugged in. i hate 'efs', everyone should. lol. i'm just happy that the 'efs' on this app doesn't screw up the nor of my 3in1 like AemioDA v2.0 by Alekmaul did.

    i've always wondered if there was a way to check if the 3in1 was inserted and then adjust how the 'efs' functions. from what i recall it is a file loading system based on slot2 linkers, and when it doesn't find a real slot2 linker it throws up problems, warnings, and crashes out.

    i hope the devs respond =)

    -another world
     
  3. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Just checked this out.....very nice. It has sweet music, frantic gameplay and production values that make many retail DS games look sad! Plays fine on a CycloDS. Tyrian is still my favorite DS shoot'em-up, but this game is fun too.

    Funny, I was playing the original Warhawk on my C64 emu just the other day. Why can't we get more retail releases like this and Tyrian? I mean seriously, these really should be sold in stores. I love shoot'em-ups. [​IMG]

    Kudos to all involved in WarhawkDS's creation! [​IMG]
     
  4. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Damn not play Warhawk in ages! Great port indeed, it all works so damn well.

    I'm with Raydar on this, this and Tyrian are more deserving of retail space than 90% of DS games out there.

    IMO this should be stickied so it shows up first.
     
  5. lincruste

    Member lincruste GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    france
    Country:
    I agree, if you want my two cents.
     
  6. AXYPB

    Member AXYPB GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    593
    Country:
    United States
    This doesn't work in M3 Real; Sakura boots to two white screens and TouchPod hangs at the load screen. Shame.
     
  7. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    make sure nothing is in the slot-2, efs will cause problems. give the fat version a try, i just added a link to the news post.

    -another world
     
  8. lincruste

    Member lincruste GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    france
    Country:
    You can run it via DsOrganize, enjoy! (both versions work, but I'd rather use the EFS one, since it doesn't require the Warhawk folder at the root)
     
  9. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm...I downloaded the EFS version and it played fine on my CycloDS with an M3 Perfect plugged into slot2.

    Man! This game gets a LOT tougher at level 3. [​IMG] I like it! [​IMG]
     
  10. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    neither works on the ak2.1/rpg with the 3in1 inserted, for me. i can sort of recall some stuff about how efs detects slot2 in the startup routine. the 3in1 does not register as a valid slot2 GBA cart. ejecting the 3in1 before starting allows both versions to work for me. i've had this issue on my rpg, and ak2(s) with the 3in1 inserted for all efs homebrew projects across different msd cards. thankfully warhawk just fails to load the audio. other homebrew projects have actually corrupted the nor of my 3in1. oddly those devs never responded to email about it either =P.

    the fat takes 10x as long to initalize, so i guess i'll stick to the efs build. =/

    i wish the transition from the top screen to the bottom included a bit of a delay. i get throw off by the plastic between the screens. this one might actually be more fun on an emu.

    -another world
     
  11. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I still have the £1.99 original in my draw.
     
  12. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i added a link to the news post.

    -another world
     
  13. tylerxian

    Member tylerxian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    I remember playing these shooter-plane games in the arcade when I was younger. This brings back memories, I definitely check this out later.
     
  14. greatflash

    Newcomer greatflash Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The links on the top of this post are now old versions.

    Please use the download for the latest version from www.headsoft.com.au

    The new EFS version should work on most cards now.
     
  15. headspin

    Member headspin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Australia
    From our website

    So in other words please dont host the downloads here; instead link back to the website http://headsoft.com.au/index.php?category=warhawk

    Good to hear people are enjoying the game [​IMG] I hope the recent updates help fix the problems some people were having with some older cards.
     
  16. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    you aren't numbering the files, how are we to know there is an update? unless your thought is that people link back to the page and the file name stays the same, so the link is always updated. if that is the case, could you at least list on the download page the update number and a change log?

    http://headsoft.com.au/index.php?category=...p;page=download

    you said the files linked are out of date but your homepage still says v1.0 and each readme says v1.0. from our standpoint, they aren't. this is a bit confusing =/. should these not be v1.1 or something?

    your readme also recommends to defrag a msd card? even the companies don't recommend that you ever defrag a msd card which already has a limited amount of read/writes. you guys should update that and tell users to reformat their msd and start fresh. that is the safe alternative to defragging.

    as for mirroring, gbatemp has an extensive catalogue of old files. the members enjoy it and rely upon it. if you didn't want to link so that you could keep track of downloads, that’s one thing, but asking not to mirror simply for new versions doesn't make sense. as we post news the new versions will get mirrored. i stay on top of these things =).

    do you have a problem with that way of thinking?

    i'd be glad to link an off-site link back to your download page with each updated news post. but i will also continue to mirror the files here at the temp.

    -another world
     
  17. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Wow !
    This game just remind me some pretty good days when i was playing it on one of my first computer.

    The DS version is just amazing ! Two screens, better graphics, remixed Rob Hubbard's music ! [​IMG]

    Very good job guys !

    Glad to see again some great coders in DS homebrew scene. [​IMG]

    /me gone to donate some buck on the official website.

    To those who even don't know what the game looks like on C64, check this.
    Now you can compare the job done on this great homebrew. [​IMG]
     
  18. yuyuyup

    Member yuyuyup GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3,300
    Location:
    USA MTN timezone
    Country:
    United States
    On the download page it sez to defragment your SD; I thought that defragging your flash memory was bad ?
     

Share This Page