Wad Manager 1.3 : retreiving device content error (Ret=-1)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by tolzadoom, Dec 20, 2008.

  1. tolzadoom
    OP

    Newcomer tolzadoom Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    France
    Hi there,
    I never managed to run any wad from the homebrew channel.
    When running WadManager 1.3 I constantly get "retreiving device content error (Ret=-1)"
    I put wadmanager into SD\apps\wadmng\boot.dool
    I created a wad dir containing 2 wads at root of SD. I put a copy as well in SD\apps\

    I tried as well using WAD-Installer_v2.1. It says as well that it can not find any "wad" directory (Ret=1)

    My WII is in 3.1E

    Any hints dudes ?
     


  2. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Make sure your wad folder on the root of your SD card is named 'wad' and not anything else. You say you put wadmanager in SD\apps\wadmng\boot.dool right? It should be boot.dol not boot.dool. Also I hope your apps folder is on the root of your SD card and not in a folder called SD. So wadmanager should be in (Drive letter):\apps\wadmng\boot.dol
     
  3. tolzadoom
    OP

    Newcomer tolzadoom Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    France
    >Make sure your wad folder on the root of your SD card is named 'wad' and not anything else.
    That is what I did.

    >You say you put wadmanager in SD\apps\wadmng\boot.dool right? It should be boot.dol not boot.dool.
    That was a typo. Indeed that it boot.dol

    >Also I hope your apps folder is on the root of your SD card and not in a folder called SD.
    by using SD I mean root :-)

    >So wadmanager should be in (Drive letter):\apps\wadmng\boot.dol
    Correct and that is what I have.

    Sorry mate... another hint ?
     
  4. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Have another SD Card lying around?

    Try them.
     
  5. tolzadoom
    OP

    Newcomer tolzadoom Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    France
    >Have another SD Card lying around?
    Well, from the homebrew channel, it sees the app dir with boot.dol (wadmanager) from my SD. I can run it from there. So I would assume it is not a problem with the SD card (this is transcend class 6 16GB SD card).
    I put both the wadmanager and the wads on my SD.
    damned !!!
    could that be because of my wii beeing 3.1E ?
     
  6. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    format the SD card, ret -1 means device error i believe(may be wrong tho)
     
  7. tolzadoom
    OP

    Newcomer tolzadoom Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    France
    Did that.. no change :-(
     
  8. Logan

    Member Logan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    599
    Location:
    Northampton, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Had the exact same problem once upon a time. Its your SD card. Its either not formatted correctly or its bust.

    Are you using an adapter i.e. Micro/MiniSD card inside an SD adapter? Because that causes this error.

    The problem only went away for me when I went and bought a 2GB standard SD card.
     
  9. tolzadoom
    OP

    Newcomer tolzadoom Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    France
    You damned right !!!
    I used another SD card and that works now.
    Crazy...

    So whenever U have a ret=-1 when looking for wad dir on your SD card, just chnage the SD card.
    It was not working with a 16GB class 6 fro, transcend.

    Thx dude.
     
  10. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    glad your prob got fixed... but for other errors even non cIOS type check out my signature for my cIOS error code guide...

    -kitt050383
     
  11. Logan

    Member Logan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    599
    Location:
    Northampton, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Probably was down to the card being greater then 2GB. I had issues with an 8GB card. For compatibility, use a 2GB or less card.

    That's what I've found anyway.
     
  12. IronMask

    Member IronMask Official WiiStuntman First to Test ciosCorp!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Location:
    Somewhere in USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yea.. it's come to my attention that forwarder.dol wads are not compatible with some/maybe all sdhc cards. There was 2 different forwarder channels it was tested with and same thing on both. So hopefully this is just an added command to run... dunno
     
  13. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India

    I am using a 2GB microSD with SD adapter and it works fine. Like you said, it's mostly because tolzadoom's card was greater than 2GB.
     
  14. TiMeBoMb4u2

    Member TiMeBoMb4u2 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,169
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using a SanDisk 8GB SDHC Class 2 card, and I'm getting the "retreiving device content ERROR (ret=-1)" too!

    I had a PNY 2GB SD card, which was working perfectly, but I ran out of space. I copied all the data from the 2GB card to the 8GB card. Everything works fine, except for my "WAD Manager v1.3".

    Isn't version 1.3 supposed to be compatible with SDHC?

    Is Waninkoko going to release a "fixed" version, so this will start working?



    Thanks, for any information!

    TiMeBoMb [​IMG]
     
  15. distortedgamer

    Newcomer distortedgamer Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you to everyone on the whole site for all of the help and information!!

    I have a 4 gb SD card that runs everything fine except the WAD Manager 1.3, I am getting the same error as mentioned. I have gone through all of the advice in the thread and still have the same error.

    I also have tried it on a 128 mb micro through adaptor and with a 512 mb micro/adaptor and they both did the same thing. I believe that I have even used those micros before to install wads. I know that I have installed wads before and I haven't bought any new cards since then.
     
  16. distortedgamer

    Newcomer distortedgamer Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    The 128 mb micro was already FAT32 but for some reason when I reformatted it to FAT32 and put WAD Manager back on there, it worked.
     
  17. vagalugo

    Newcomer vagalugo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Brazil
  18. ToddlerTN

    Newcomer ToddlerTN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    This is exactly what I'm running into now that I have a 16GB SDHC card.

    Edit: The version posted above does work for me, but why doesn't Waninkoko release an updated version himself? I'm not big on running apps of unknown origin.
     
  19. sexconker

    Newcomer sexconker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Had a 2 GB Kingston card that worked fine.
    Got an 8 GB Transcend (SDHC) card and it loads up homebrew and stuff fine, but WAD Manager 1.3 returns -1.

    Going to try formatting it.
    Then I'll try the linked version above.


    Is there an easier way to load wads as channels straight to the SD?

    I have WAD files (some stuff I bought from the shop, some stuff I own & injected into stuff I bought with AutoInjectuWad).
    I want to get the WAD files onto my Wii as channels.
    I then want to move the channels from my Wii to the SD card.

    I'm running 4.0 so I can load VC games and WiiWare games from the SD directly.
    I want all my WADs (as channels) on the SD card in case I have to send my Wii in again.

    My current plan is to dump all my WADs to the SD card, install them one-by-one with WAD Manager (if I can get it or the other version working), and then move them back to the SD card one-by-one via the Wii system menu. And since the Wii's space is limited, I will have to do several rounds of filling up the Wii's memory then dumping to SD.

    You all know how slow SD writes are on the Wii. This process will eat up my Saturday.
     
  20. phaerun

    Member phaerun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Αθήνα
    Country:
    Greece
    Just use the wad manager version linked above and it will work for SDHC cards np.
    When I was using the 1.3 version from wanins blog with my 8 gig card i was getting that -1 error. With the version linked above wad manager works fine.
     

Share This Page