USB wi-fi???

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Shinigami357, Dec 14, 2010.

Dec 14, 2010

USB wi-fi??? by Shinigami357 at 1:19 AM (1,196 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Shinigami357
    OP

    Member Shinigami357 Current "give a fuck" level: Honey Badger

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,648
    Country:
    Philippines
    I am starting to get a wee bit desperate to get my DSi online. [​IMG]

    Anyway, I am curious exactly how the DSi will respond to those USB-plugged wi-fi thingies (dongles???) ??? You see, I was thinking of maybe getting one, but unsure of the whole idea (nice way to believe in yourself, huh?).

    To anyone who has tried this:

    1. Are there specific, uh, specifications I should be looking for in relation to connecting the DSi to such a device?

    2. Will it affect the speed if my USB ports are not USB 2.0?

    Thanks in advance for yer answers.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. haddad

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    1. Are there specific, uh, specifications I should be looking for in relation to connecting the DSi to such a device?
    No there is not

    2. Will it affect the speed if my USB ports are not USB 2.0?
    No it should not
     
  3. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    do you have a wireless router?
     
  4. Shinigami357
    OP

    Member Shinigami357 Current "give a fuck" level: Honey Badger

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,648
    Country:
    Philippines

    Nope.
     
  5. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    If he did, he wouldn't be looking into a dongle, now would he?

    Anyways, any USB dongle is fine. It just plugs in, sometimes they self install, or come with a cd, and it acts just as an access point for your DSi. You just go to your DSi, set it up, search for an access point, and it will pick one up that's really strong, which will be yours.

    Just don't get the Nintendo one, they're garbage and simply don't work.
     
  6. Zaertix

    Member Zaertix GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    565
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    What is the best choice here as I'm looking for a fix for me as well.
     
  7. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In reverse order....

    I actually DID buy a Nintendo one (IIRC - you can't anymore) & found it quite easy to install
    - & since it was actually a standard 'Buffalo' made Dongle - there were ways to 'convert' the Nintendo to a 'generic' USB one however it was a bit tricky - Because of this I agree don't buy a Nintendo one

    For the 'Newbie' I would suggest buying one that 'self-installs' as that will make life easier... but do remember that for you to use one of these you will need to have your PC switched on at the same time (this is why I went & brought a WiFi Router - don't need PC switched on then)

    One other thing to note with the DSi
    - If you are planning to play games via Wifi, the security of the dongle needs to be on WEP and not WPA (if you have a choice, some Dongles don't).

    Although the DSi Shop channel/browser will work with WPA (they can use 'Settings 4-6' in the 'advanced settings' of the DSi), Games don't - they can only use settings 1-3 which DON'T have WPA security options
     
  8. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    I won't deny that it was easy to install, but it just simply didn't work. You'd boot it up, it'd stay on for a couple minutes, then bam, it's out. It's as if it had a life of it's own.

    See the whole "you need your computer on" doesn't apply to me lol. I always have my computer on. I NEVER turn it off. I'm not even joking. Maybe I'll grab a dongle from somewhere.
     
  9. Shinigami357
    OP

    Member Shinigami357 Current "give a fuck" level: Honey Badger

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,648
    Country:
    Philippines
    Thank you for your wisdom and your time.
     
  10. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    @Shadow Soldier: I asked that question since the OP mentioned he was "thinking of maybe getting one, but unsure of the whole idea." I've read enough posts where someone can't get on the internet and wanted to get a dongle, but just didn't/wouldn't change the router settings. If a simple question can save $40, wouldn't you want to have it asked?
     
  11. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Dongles don't cost $40... You can easily get them for a lot cheaper, and they work too.
     
  12. Mario92

    Member Mario92 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Location:
    Finland
    Country:
    Finland
    Cheapest ones works only on XP, with good luck in vista/7 and not at all in vista/7 64bit.
     
  13. Stevetry

    Banned Stevetry Most perverted person in GBATEMP

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,294
    Location:
    Puertorico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    why not use the nintedo usb connector i use to have it
     
  14. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    I just found one that's 17 bucks, and works with PS3 / PSP / NDSL / Wii

    Because it's a broken piece of junk that's been discontinued for years.
     

Share This Page