USB loading not working

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by emperorblade, Feb 7, 2011.

1. emperorblade
    OP

emperorblade Newbie

Newcomer
    Feb 7, 2011
    Belgium
    Hello guys, I am very new to the softmod scene and just got into it a couple of weeks ago. I have a firstgen PAL wii with 4.2E

I followed the CompleteSoftmodGuide on http://sites.google.com/site/completesg to softmod my Wii
    I have bootmii as boot2, installed cios rev 21.

but when i try to load a usb it always freezes. this happens in USB loader GX, cUSB loader, Neogamma and Wiiflow. I have tried several USB drives and sticks on NTFS, FAT32 and WBFS but it's always the same.
    I have also installed Darkcorp and because of that, i can play wii backup disks, the gamecube backup disks make the wii reboot.

I know this must be a stupid problem because i can't find questions of the same nature on FAQs, i must have forgot something esential?
    thanks in advance

2. Taleweaver

Taleweaver Storywriter

Dec 23, 2009
    Belgium
    Belgium
    Hi there. Welcome to gbatemp. [​IMG]

Hmm...at first glance, everything seems fine. The completesoftmodguide is up to date, your wii has a nice model and firmware number, having bootmii and cios rev21 installed is also good...

So why don't the USB drives work? Strange...A couple questions/remarks:

-have you tried switching the ports, and are you sure the devices are turned on? (yes, I know...kinda basic...but it has to be checked)
    -you haven't mentioned the homebrew channel (or HBC). Is it updated to 1.0.8?
    -not all USB devices are supported. Check this list for more info.
    -if you have a supported one...I suggest partitioning it as a FAT32 partition.
    After (re)creating it (make sure to set it as active and primary), create a folder "\apps" on the drive.