USB Loader GX Simple Problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by WiiForgotten, Jun 30, 2009.

Jun 30, 2009
  1. WiiForgotten
    OP

    Newcomer WiiForgotten Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Canada
    I have a small but i think simple problem with USB Loader GX
    I always have to plug in my usb 4gb Kingston drive AFTER I select CIOS rev 249 or relse it wont load or detect it

    But my friend just starts the channel with the usb already in and it shows the main menu
    He has a 4GB sandisk USB stick

    Is this fixable?
     
  2. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Some drives are just like that. I have a flash drive that is like yours. My USB HDD doesn't have the problem though.

    You might try using Hermes' cIOS 222 instead of 249 and see if that fixes it, but it probably won't.
     
  3. WiiForgotten
    OP

    Newcomer WiiForgotten Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Canada
    Hmm, that is what I thought too
    but there must be a fix for not selecting CIOS rev 249 every time

    Is Hermes CIOS rev 222 any different then 249?
     
  4. WiiForgotten
    OP

    Newcomer WiiForgotten Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Canada
  5. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, in settings go to the Game Load option, set the global game load cIOS to 222. Restart the loader. Now unless you tell it otherwise you'll use 222 for the loader and on individual games.
     
  6. phistyle

    Newcomer phistyle Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    my kingston 16gb flash drive does the same thing..I'm thinking that the usb drive is not being active when its plugged in already...I have to select cIOS 249 then unplug and replug the flash drive back in so the Wii can access it..
     
  7. WiiForgotten
    OP

    Newcomer WiiForgotten Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Canada
    @Hooya
    I would like it to do that for 249

    @phistyle
    Yea, it isnt much to do but would save alot of time of unplugging, etc

    Anyone Else?
     
  8. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    It's nice that you would like to do that for 249, but it won't. You can try different revisions if you want, but chances are you'll have the need to re-plug in the drive every time with every revision. Use 222 if it works or don't and deal with the unplugging. There are no options to configure to fix this problem, some drives are simply not as compatible.
     
  9. WiiForgotten
    OP

    Newcomer WiiForgotten Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Canada
    Darn, there really should be a list that actually tells you if you need to replug, etc
     
  10. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
  11. WiiForgotten
    OP

    Newcomer WiiForgotten Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Canada
    I already know about that
    but it only tells you if it "works"
    not the way it works
    like replugging etc
     

Share This Page