USB Loader GX+Monster Hunter Tri+Keyboard

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by LightyKD, Jan 20, 2013.

Jan 20, 2013
  1. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Someone please tell me how the hell I can use my USB Keyboard with MH3. :( It really sucks not being able to chat. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    you can try with d2x v10-alt (which support multiple usb ports), but I've read report of users where the accessories didn't work.

    You can try to use a cIOS from Hermes (IOS222 or 223 or 224, depending which base you installed in these slots).
    (just don't use USBLoaderGX r1208, there's a bug with hermes. use 1207mod1 or 1209 which I'll release soon)
     
  3. nukeboy95

    Member nukeboy95 Leave luck to heaven.

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,273
    Location:
    not sure
    Country:
    United States
    does this matter the mh tri wii servers are geting shut down in march
     
  4. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    already? it didn't last long.
    They don't have enough users playing online?
     
  5. siliconmessiah

    Member siliconmessiah GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    When was that announced?

    EDIT: Found a source and it's apparently th 30:th of April.
     
  6. siliconmessiah

    Member siliconmessiah GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Will you be able to use friend codes even with the server beng shut down?
     
  7. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Well, that sucks :( I hate when companies pull out the "shut down" card. It wouldnt hurt them to give us one more year :(
     
  8. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If you are going to run the game via usb loader gx you have to understand you can only use on of both.
    Hermes 223 works fine. ( base 37 )
     
  9. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. I'll give it a shot.
     
  10. medtechgreg

    Newcomer medtechgreg Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, I am new to a lot of this. But I have a similar problem. I am using USB loader GX v 3.0 IOS249 rev 21006 with d2x v6 base37.
    Do I have to use Hermes and Configurable USB loader? I got GX working like I like and would really hate to switch at this point. Or could I just use Hermes to get cIOS 223/224 and use the GX loader for that cIOS?
     
  11. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Most softmode guide installs the Hermes cIOS.
    You probably already have them, so you can select the slot 223 for Monster Hunter Tri in USBloaderGX.

    Select the game, instead of choosing START, select Settings.
    Go to Game settings > IOS : 223 and save the settings.
    If you don't have 223, the loader will tell you. If there's no message, it means it detected the 223 and will use it for that game from now on.

    But the game works fine with 249 too.
    The 223 is only if you want the keyboard support.
     
  12. medtechgreg

    Newcomer medtechgreg Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Very cool. I did what you described, but my keyboard is still not working. The game I'm trying to get it to work with is Animal Crossing City Folk. Is that going to make a difference?
     
  13. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    try with other IOS slots, like slot 250 if it's based on IOS 57, or 222, 224 etc. (it all depend what you have installed)
    connect your keyboard before launching the game, or even before powering the console.

    update your d2x cIOS to v10 or v10-alt (the alternative version has plug and play support for USB devices such as keyboard)

    I never tested it myself. maybe another user can provide more informations on how he uses his keyboard.
     
    medtechgreg likes this.
  14. medtechgreg

    Newcomer medtechgreg Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    YES! I got it to work with IOS 222. I also learned how to install different version with d2x. Thanks so much for all your help!
     
  15. MassiveRican

    Member MassiveRican GBATemp's Unofficial Vigilante

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,417
    Location:
    Creeping in the Shadows
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    IOS 222 and which version of D2X. Also does it have to be a specific MH3 keyboard or can I use any USB keyboard?
     

Share This Page