USB Loader GX/Dios Mios doesn't detect Gamecube games

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Amanuel, May 4, 2014.

  1. Amanuel
    OP

    Amanuel Member

    Newcomer
    16
    0
    May 4, 2014
    United States
    I have USB Loader GX and am trying to play GameCube games off of my usb.

    The USB is formatted correctly to FAT32, and I used the Dios Mios toolbox thing to get the correct file path, which is in the "games" folder. I've looked at countless threads and can't seem to get an answer. Also should note that my games (Super Smash Bros. Melee) is being seen during testing in WiiFlow and CFG, both of which are not working when I try to run them. WiiFlow just freezes on a green screen after the Dios Mios screen appears. CFG gets to Dios Mios and then says "Apploader size is zero!". Also FYI my disc drive is dead from long use so that isn't an option, it's why I switched to usb in the first place. I need halp.
     
  2. DaMan4169

    DaMan4169 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    95
    4
    Aug 12, 2009
    United States
    For GX to play GC games w/DM you need to be running GX 3.0 r1208(?) or higher. If you're not sure what version you have the GX Installer for Windows will download r1221.
    USBLoader GX download list
    Changelogs

    The version in the AIO and the other v3.0 downloads dated May 2012 is r1180.
     
  3. Amanuel
    OP

    Amanuel Member

    Newcomer
    16
    0
    May 4, 2014
    United States

    I don't understand, if I downloaded 3.0 it's not the most recent revision? How do I get the most recent revision then? The in-loader updater?

    Edit: Yes my main problem is that I don't know where to get that revision.
     
  4. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,754
    9,037
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    yes, in the in-loader updater.
    Settings > Update > Loader > Full

    it will update from revision 1180 to 1226.

    We can't add new download to googlecode page, so only way to find new version is to:
    - update from inside the loader (though, it's not always up to date. It wasn't for a year)
    - update manually (download latest boot.dol and replace it in your SD or USB's apps/usbloader_gx/ folder)


    note:
    internal updater works only if you launch the loader from the Homebrew Channel or from a Forwarder.
    The "Full channel" doesn't have internal update ready yet.
     
  5. Amanuel
    OP

    Amanuel Member

    Newcomer
    16
    0
    May 4, 2014
    United States


    Ok I'm now using the USB loader homebrew app and have updated to the latest revision. I've restarted it, and it is still not detecting my GameCube games. Help?
     
  6. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,754
    9,037
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    You need few things:

    Hardware:
    - HDD must not be bigger than 2TB
    - HDD must be 512bytes per sector (Advanced format, or 4096 bytes per sector is not working)

    Format:
    - Partition must be physically the first one in your drive, if you have multiple partition and don't use the correct one you will get "Apploader size is zero"
    - Partition must be FAT32, 32k/cluster

    Path:
    The game's folder must be in the /games/ folder, and the filename must be "game.iso" (g+a+m+e, not the game's title!)
    /games/<whatever you want>/game.iso


    in the loader:
    - You need to define the path used for the "main gamecube path" to be USB1:/games/
    go to settings > user paths > GameCube Main Path
    - You need to enable the Gamecube source : Top menu, 4th icon
    - You need to select the folder to list (SD or Main, and the priority) : Settings>Loader Settings > Gamecube section > Source : SD, SD+Main, Main, Main+SD, auto

    auto detects the installed MIOS
    If you have DIOS MIOS, it's using Main+SD
    If you have DIOS MIOS Lite, it's using SD+Main
     
  7. Amanuel
    OP

    Amanuel Member

    Newcomer
    16
    0
    May 4, 2014
    United States

    Ok my problem was that it was looking for GameCube games in the SD, I changed it to USB and it sees it, then copies to SD. I run the game, Dios Mios comes up, then error "Incorrect config version. please update your loader!" Halp I feel like I'm close.
     
  8. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,754
    9,037
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    You probably are using the Full channel release of USBLoaderGX instead of the forwarder or Homebrew Channel version.
    Launch USBLoaderGX from the HBC.


    Verify in the Settings > Credit.
    if you really have the latest revision, it should be 3.0 r1226
    if you see "3.0c" then it's the channel version, don't launch from the channel.
    the channel is not updated.

    If you want to launch from a channel, install the forwarder channel.
     
  9. Amanuel
    OP

    Amanuel Member

    Newcomer
    16
    0
    May 4, 2014
    United States

    But I'm already using the USBLoaderGX from the Homebrew Channel. I double checked, I am running it from the Homebrew Channel (the one I updated).
     
  10. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,754
    9,037
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    Go to the credit page, and check which MIOS version is detected.
    tell me all the top information you see.
    MIOS version, Loader version, cIOS version etc.
    Maybe it's not detecting the version correctly.
     
  11. Amanuel
    OP

    Amanuel Member

    Newcomer
    16
    0
    May 4, 2014
    United States

    The credit page just has that star rotating on the bottom right and it doesn't say anything about Mios. It just says the testers and thanks and all that jazz (with some catchy music too). Is there anothercredits outside of the settings?
     
  12. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,754
    9,037
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    You didn't tell me what's written at the top.
    If it's 3.0 r1180, it's an old version and you didn't correctly update the loader.
    if it's 3.0 r1226, it's correctly updated and you have an issue detecting the MIOS, but it shouldn't even launch the gamecube game... so you are using an old version. You didn't correctly update the loader.


    or you can take a screenshot of that page.
    press Z+C (or C+Z, I don't remember), and it will save a png on your /apps/usbloader_gx/ folder



    Try to update manually :
    http://www.mediafire.com/download/m93xj8atj79xly0/R1226_IOS222-249-250.7z
    replace the boot.dol in your SD with one in this archive.
     
  13. Amanuel
    OP

    Amanuel Member

    Newcomer
    16
    0
    May 4, 2014
    United States

    "v 3.0 IOS 249 (Rev 21)"

    Is what I see at the top. It is kinda blurry though since I'm on a small T.V..

    Edit: Hang on I'll try that dol you gave me.
     
  14. Amanuel
    OP

    Amanuel Member

    Newcomer
    16
    0
    May 4, 2014
    United States

    I tried the .dol of IOS 249 you gave me. Now Dios Mios loads, then green screen, then freezes. What to do now?
     
  15. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,754
    9,037
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    I told you you were using an old version.
    now that you have rev1226, the issue is not the loader anymore but your setup or settings.

    If you have green screen, it's probably because you didn't use the correct video mode.
    Set the video mode to Auto, or "Game default" (or Disc Default) to use the game's region video mode.

    If it still freeze on green screen, try another video mode, or try another game.
    try a different loader if it didn't help.
    (I just changed the way video modes are used in r1220+, so maybe there's an issue as I didn't test it very well)
     
  16. Amanuel
    OP

    Amanuel Member

    Newcomer
    16
    0
    May 4, 2014
    United States

    Ok I've played with the video setting (as I changing it back in the Neogamma days) and now I've moved from a green screen to a black screen. I've tested with the most recent CFG, applied video settings as well as No disc patch (remember my disc drive doesn't work), black screen as well. All the options from the video options (force ntsc, force pal, etc.) still have given me a black screen. Making progress at least. Oh yea and the black screen freezes too, just fyi. Help?
     
  17. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,754
    9,037
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    Did you try different games ?
    Maybe your ISO is bad, or not compatible.
    Maybe the fact your drive doesn't work is the issue, as sometime it requires access as it require access to the Disc.
    Maybe it's just your USB which is not compatible.

    Try with DIOS MIOS Lite and an SD Card, you'll have less possibility of incompatibility.
    If it doesn't work on SD, it's probably your Disc drive issue.


    You can also try Nintendont, though it's currently not working with a lot of games.
     
  18. Amanuel
    OP

    Amanuel Member

    Newcomer
    16
    0
    May 4, 2014
    United States

    I'm about to try Dios Mios Lite but fyi I'm trying to run Super Smash Bros. Melee, which I checked is compatible without disc and with the main loaders.
     
  19. Amanuel
    OP

    Amanuel Member

    Newcomer
    16
    0
    May 4, 2014
    United States

    I'm currently experiencing an issue with the usb loader gx as when I try to run the game, it offers to copy it, even though I did that earlier. Now it says copy failed when it tries to copy. Then I clear manually the space on my SD (since it didn't actually delete the game when it said it did), it still says the copy failed. Occasionally is starts copying at like .06% then stops. What to do? I'm using Dios Mios Lite 2.2 right now.
     
  20. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,754
    9,037
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    Try another SD, or format it?

    I don't know why it's doesn't delete it if it says it does.
    I'll check the deletion code.

    And it asks to copy to SD even if you already have the game on SD?
    That's strange too. it should list the game on SD, not the one on USB, unless you explicitely told the loader to list only games on USB!

    Settings > Loader settings > Gamecube section > Gamecube source : Auto !
    (do not set only to "main path" or it will always list only the main path, not the SD path)