Upgrading processor for the first time

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by RupeeClock, Jan 10, 2010.

Jan 10, 2010
  1. RupeeClock
    OP

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I've decided I wanna replace my current processor, an old Core 2 Duo E6850, and I was wondering if anyone could help me with this.

    From what I've gathered, replacing the processor is easy enough, wear anti-static equipment, take out old heatsink, replace processor, replace heatsink, assure cooling works properly, etc, but my concern is the motherboard.

    This is the processor I have my sights on, an i7 920, but what I don't know is if my Motherboard or chipset will accept it.

    CPU-Z says this:
    [​IMG]

    So, I'm not really that knowledgeable about this, should I be able to upgrade my processor?
    Also, if you recommend another processor, preferably Intel, do tell.
    Thanks.
     
  2. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    e6850 is a core 2 duo socket 775 processor.

    so if you want to upgrade to corei7 you also need a new motherboard (core i7 uses socket 1366)
    then you also need new memory because core i7 only supports ddr3 memory.

    instead you can also buy a Q9550 or Q9650 processor, this will fit into your existing motherboard and will give a good speed boost [​IMG]

    This is the list of supported processors:
    http://eu.msi.com/index.php?func=prodcpu2&...incat_no=1#menu
     
  3. Thoob

    Member Thoob LOLmonade.

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    An i7 will not fit in your mobo if you're currently using a C2D.
    C2D uses the LGA775 socket, but the i7 uses LGA1366 or LGA1156, so won't fit in your motherboard.
    I would recommend an E8XXX core 2 duo as an upgrade.
     
  4. dark42

    Member dark42 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    Your sockets are different, your motherboard socket is LGA775 but the Core i7 goes into LGA1366.
     
  5. RupeeClock
    OP

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's what I suspected.
    I didn't know about the whole socket thing, so I learned something there.

    Well I'm not prepared to replace the whole motherboard, that goes beyond my expertise, so an E8XXX it is I suppose.

    So, this E8500 looks nice.
    http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/prods/C...80570E8500.html

    But then the E8400 seems to be much more popular at Novatech
    http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/prods/C...80570E8400.html

    Anyway, thanks for the very fast replies.

    Edit: There also seems to be the Quad Core processors like the Q8400, but it wouldn't be worth sacrificing clock speed for quad cores would it?
     
  6. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Go for the E8400 if you have no programs to make use of multi-cores. The E8500 isn't worth it for the price. You can also easily overclock the E8400 safely to the speed of a E8500.
     
  7. RupeeClock
    OP

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well actually, I frequently use the Dolphin emulator, which makes use of dual cores.
    For the speed improvement there for just another £15, seems worth it to me.
     
  8. omgdaniel

    Newcomer omgdaniel Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    United States
    Both should OC easily if that's what you want. E8500 should hit 4Ghz (most of the time) with ease.
     
  9. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,185
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    the difference between those 2 cpu's is minimal

    also the fact that specific mobo probably cant OC makes it worse
    and you would need a 3rd party hsf to oc anyway
     
  10. RupeeClock
    OP

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, looking at these benchmarks...
    http://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html

    The E8500 ranked 113 with 2,311 score, but the Q400 ranks 55 with 3,680 score.
    They are both £154 in total.

    So uh, I should probably go for the quad core?
     
  11. Cermage

    Member Cermage GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,702
    Country:
    Australia
    i'd go for the e8500 if i were you, it'll perform better in games. cpubenchmark doesn't really mean much unless you model 3d, use the adobe suite or encode video heavily.
     

Share This Page