Upgrading my Graphics Card for Sonic Generations

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by BoxmanWTF, Oct 24, 2011.

  1. BoxmanWTF
    OP

    Member BoxmanWTF ♪Toot Toot Sonic Warrior♫

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,144
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    Canada
    I want to play Sonic Generations so bad but the Minimum requirement are:
    Microsoft Windows 7/Vista/XP Intel Pentium Dual-Core T4200 (2×2.0GHz) or AMD equivalent 2GB RAM (Windows 7/XP)/3GB RAM (Windows Vista) NVIDIA GeForce 8800 / ATI Radeon HD 2900 11 GB free hard drive space
    MY PC is Windows 7 Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q6600 2.4 GHz, with 3.00GB of RAM. (32 bit, if that matters)
    So I think I'm good for everything but for my Graphics I have a Intel® GMA 3100... ow :(
    Which of the two Graphics Cards should I get? And where might I find one in Canada? Or is there any alternative Card I could get?
    Cheapest I can find is $50.
    EDIT: Better yet, if you can recommend a laptop with those specs, that'd be even better :D
     
  2. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    according to tom's hardware, the best cheap card you can get would be 5570, which should be just enough to run the game with minimal detail.
    The game seems to be demanding as the recommended specs are:
    Microsoft Windows 7 Intel Core i5 @ 2.66 GHz / AMD Phenom II X4 @ 3.0 GHz 3GB RAM NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 / ATI Radeon HD 5850
    http://www.tomshardw...nce,3042-2.html

    About laptops, most core i (sandy bridge) processor should be powerful enough to power it, however we will have to wait the release to see if sonic generation will be able to run on hd3000 igp (probably not), a good discrete gpu would be required to run it for sure. (700+$)
    According to passmark and notebookcheck, both A6 and A8 apu beats the T4200, if the AMD alternative is of interest.

    in the following link: find the line "discrete: 8800gt / discrete: HD 2900 pro"
    http://www.tomshardw...nce,3042-7.html
    anything below this line shouldn't be able to play the game, also the mobile version of the gpu are marked as Go (nvidia) and Mobility (AMD).
     
  3. BoxmanWTF
    OP

    Member BoxmanWTF ♪Toot Toot Sonic Warrior♫

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,144
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    Canada
  4. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    as long as you pc has room for it, it should fit.

    If using the low-profile bracket, you might lose the 15 pin connector and the card doesn't come with a dvi to 15 pin adapter.
     
  5. BoxmanWTF
    OP

    Member BoxmanWTF ♪Toot Toot Sonic Warrior♫

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,144
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    Canada
    :D thank you very much!
    I'll probably get it sometime after generations comes out, just to see how people say it works on PC
     
  6. brandonspikes

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    You wont be able to play the game with that card, it will run sluggishly.
     
  7. BoxmanWTF
    OP

    Member BoxmanWTF ♪Toot Toot Sonic Warrior♫

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,144
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    Canada
    :/ oh... well good thing I don't buy things quickly :)
    what would you reccomend?
     
  8. PlutonPress

    Newcomer PlutonPress Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, people on the steam forum assumes that the recommended specs are for the 3D effect, since it's pretty demanding on the hardware to run. Since it's a console port, maybe there won't even have a "low/medium/high" setting. So expect the minimum to be what you want.
     
  9. Hells Malice

    Member Hells Malice Are you a bully?

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,651
    Country:
    Canada
    You can't get cheap and good.
    If it's good, it'll cost you.
     
  10. BoxmanWTF
    OP

    Member BoxmanWTF ♪Toot Toot Sonic Warrior♫

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,144
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    Canada
    well...I'll just settle for the ATI Radeon HD 2900
    I'm sure I can find it...somewhere
     
  11. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    The problem with the 2900 is that it's not more powerful than the 5570. Both card are minimum for the game and we don't really know if the minimum they set is technically playable but not enjoyable minimum or quite playable minimum.

    the other problem with the 2900/8800gt is that they are power hungry, and since you seem to have a basic build, I don't expect your power supply to be a powerful one. Even if you find a used 2900 on ebay for 40$, you may have to spend more money on a psu.
     
  12. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,300
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    I doubt my PC specs are up to snuff to play that game; I'll get the PS3 version, thank you. Skyrim on the other hand, would run just fine.
     
  13. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would wait until the game is released before buying hardware to run it. In the time you wait, you can save up a little more and get a slightly better graphics card. You will also be able to see from the game forums exactly what graphics cards work and how well. Don't forget that your screen size will factor into how well it plays. It should run on just about anything on a 15" screen, whilst you'll need high-end graphics to play it on a 27" screen or bigger.

    The HD 5770 will have no trouble in playing it. The HD 5850 is only one model higher up the scale. Also look into the GTX 460 or GTX 550.
     
  14. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You're forgetting the HD 5830. ;)
    Again I completely agree with you. Though the size of a monitor does not make a difference, it's the resolution if we're measuring performance. :)
     
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Not only will you have more money if you wait, but prices on cards tend to drop every so often, you might get lucky.
     
  16. BoxmanWTF
    OP

    Member BoxmanWTF ♪Toot Toot Sonic Warrior♫

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,144
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    Canada
    My monitor is about 18'' so I think I'm fine :D
    True!
    so I guess I'll be waiting, I'll probably get it sometime in november.
    Thanks everyone for your input!
     

Share This Page