Upgradable or not upgradable?

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Costello, Sep 19, 2010.

Sep 19, 2010

Upgradable or not upgradable? by Costello at 5:03 AM (2,440 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Costello
    OP

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    Hi everyone,

    there are many clones for the PS3 Jailbreaker now and I'd like to know which are updatable and which aren't.
    We cannot rely on manufacturers claims. ShopTemp was selling the PS3BREAK from http://www.ps3break.com which claims to be upgradable.
    I have a few questions, since I'm not an expert I'm hoping a few of the clever and knowledged guys around here will be able to help [​IMG]

    1. How to make sure that a PS jailbreak is upgradable or not?
    I heard something about ATMEL chips and PIC chips. Who can provide more information?

    2. Which PS jailbreaks are upgradable and which aren't?
    - Original $150 PS Jailbreak ?
    - PS3BREAK http://www.ps3break.com ?
    - USBBREAK http://www.usbbreak.com ?
    - PS3KEY http://www.ps3key.com/en/ ?
    - ecliPS3 http://www.eclipsemod.com/ DEFINITELY UPGRADABLE (comes blank, needs to be flashed before use)
    - [insert more here] ?

    3. Why are upgrades important?
    Of course the easiest answer is: to bypass future protections that Sony inserts in its newer PS3 firmware updates.
    Though I wonder: hackers have been able to find such an important breach on the PS3 like 5 years after its release. Is it likely that they'll just find another breach, that will be installable on a simple USB drive? I'd say it's unlikely. So I believe that if USB jailbreakers get updates, it likely wont be to bypass new protections from Sony. So are jailbreaker updates THAT important? Perhaps sceners are now going to focus on modifying firmwares such as 3.42 disabling the new protections. Or they'll just modify games that come with updates to remove said updates.
    I think the "upgradable firmware" feature of most PS jailbreakers was just meant as a selling point but obviously the manufacturers have no idea if there's ever going to be updates that will allow bypassing future protections.
    Though I'm wondering about the backup manager itself, is it actually located within the firmware of the jailbreaker? if it is, then that's something that could potentially be updated.

    Thanks for helping me complete this thread [​IMG]
    Needless to say once I manage to establish a list of really upgradable PS3 jailbreakers I'll try to force Shoptemp to stop selling the non-upgradable ones. Even though I don't think thats very important at the moment like I stated in #3 (but again I might be wrong).
     
  2. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    this seems to be another upgradable jailbreak called ecliPS3
    http://www.eclipsemod.com/

    edit:
    it ships blank and users must flash the firmware to the chip using the upgrade utility on their site
    so it is upgradable
     
  3. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    3. Why are upgrades important?
    Of course the easiest answer is: to bypass future protections that Sony inserts in its newer PS3 firmware updates.

    I wouldn't hold my breath for that one, the PS3 version of the Trucha exploit is probably now well and truly fixed.
     
  4. Costello
    OP

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    thanks joe, I added to the list.
    Tanas: yes thats the answer that people immediately think of. Thats why I added further notes.
     
  5. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    As far as I understand it the Backup Manager is just a prgramm/software you install to the PS3. It is not linked to the USB device directly. That's why it can be installed no matter if you have a PSGroove, PSFreedom or any PS3 Jailbreak USB dongle. The PS3Jailbreak Team, which developed the Backup Manager, claim that the upcoming Backup Manager 1.1 would only work with their USB dongle. Though I doubt this as it's just a .pkg installation file every jailbreaked PS3 can install. Tbh I have my doubts that they'll ever release it because of that. I think it's more likely that someone else (Waninoko?) will develop another alternative. Oh, I'm drifting away from the topic...

    Anyway, I have a PS3Break which according to the manufacturer is upgradable. On the upper side of the dongle you can find a small button labeled "Upgrade" which should be pressed for flashing, so it should be technically upgradable. But as you wrote only time will tell if this ever happens (for all Jailbreak (I hate this term) dongles)...

    However there are clones of the PS3Break minus this button, so beware buyers. I got mine from Shoptemp and it has that button [​IMG]
     
  6. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Info on the PS3Break Atmel vs PIC differences and how to spot here.
     
  7. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes, you can clearly see the missing button on the clone.
     
  8. agimann

    Member agimann GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    Norway
    i just read and saw two pics of two different cases for the ps3break, shoptemp sent me the white case, not the blue case. so that means i recieved PIC chipped? while blue cased one is with atmel chip?
    someone knows for sure which is which, the writings called it "white" and "pink" ....and i dont get it

    edit:"I just got my 2 PS3 Breaks from Leetmod today and they are packaged in the white foam. It has the right chips not the PIC. " i got the correct one, thanks shoptemp
     
  9. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    No problem [​IMG] I hope everything I said is correct.
    Might be important, or might be not. Only time will tell, sadly. Obviously, having the capability of upgrading will put you on the safe side! [​IMG]
     
  10. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    I can confirm the PS3Key is upgradable
    they released an update today with the new play without disc support and applied it to mine
     
  11. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Have you tried updating the clone PS3Key you received as well?
     
  12. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    I could not get it into upgrade mode, tried the same method as the ps3key but didnt work
    the ps3key needs to be in upgrade mode or the program wont even see it
     
  13. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    Hmmm... do they work on 3.50 OFW?
     
  14. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    still just 3.41
     
  15. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Well it also has to do with the payload of each device. They must run certain procedures to actually allow the bluray emulation process. So some of them have those procedures deactivated to prevent possible piracy. Though if the source is included you can easily recompile it will bluray emulation enabled.
     

Share This Page