Updating Firefox

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by machomuu, Mar 17, 2011.

Mar 17, 2011

Updating Firefox by machomuu at 1:51 PM (619 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. machomuu
    OP

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    So I'm at school right now using firefox version 2, and I want to update it. Do you guys know if there's a way to update firefox? I mean I like to say I'm in the knowledgeable about the web, but this has me stumped [​IMG].
     
  2. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Probably with the restrictions set up, you won't be allowed to install a new version of Firefox.
     
  3. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Under "Help"

    There should be a "Check for Updates".
     
  4. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm guessing you don't have administrative rights at the PC.

    You might as well just use Portable Firefox. There is no need to install anything on the PC and it doesn't need administrative rights.
     
  5. machomuu
    OP

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    That's the odd thing, it's greyed out. It's as if they want to keep us from updating for some reason.

    ...Sorry for that video game reference, I've been playing a lot of Ghost Trick and Phoenix Wright lately, and I'm bored.
     
  6. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    It's greyed out because you need administrative rights.
     
  7. machomuu
    OP

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, I was typing that before you posted, I'll try porta-firefox...actually, no I won't, class is over in 3 minutes [​IMG]

    Thanks for the healp anyway, guys [​IMG]
     

Share This Page