Update 3.5 out now?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by aragon, Mar 25, 2009.

Mar 25, 2009

Update 3.5 out now? by aragon at 9:48 AM (12,700 Views / 0 Likes) 80 replies

  1. aragon
    OP

    Member aragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,

    I just noticed that wiimpersonator (http://wii.marcansoft.com/wiimpersonator/) logged an update for all regions.
    Can anybody confirm that 3.5 is reaching US and EU now?
     


  2. sempron

    Newcomer sempron Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Yugoslavia
    I just did an upgrade/downgrade an hour ago. Still 3.4e.
     
  3. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
  4. SanGor

    Member SanGor Witchhunter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    993
    Country:
    United States
    goodbye IOS16
     
  5. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    Pretty sure they aren't.... my 3.4E Wii doesn't have 60 or 61, and didn't have 16 until I added it from the pink fish disc.
     
  6. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    This is possibly a new update to be forced from wii shop... system menu title doesn't seem to be changed... like the 23rd oct. update.. so it's possibly not 3.5 but 3.4v2 or something
     
  7. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Adding IOS16 would be a very smart move. That would block downgrading 3.4 and also installing wad's through the patched wad manager.
     
  8. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    Could we remove it though? Then re-install the vulnerable IOS16?
     
  9. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    And possibly 60 is the new ios for the upcoming system menu, it seems soon we'll see new system menu with all the goodies [​IMG]
     
  10. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Sorry, but lol. If somebody could do this, IOS16 wasn't used in the first place.

    PS: Finally no more stupid, update to 3.4 and then downgrade to 3.2 guides and advises
     
  11. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    @SenorClean
    Well on an already homebrew enabled 3.2 system you can do all sorts of things, this will have an effect on those who updated to this system and didn't install a custom ios or downgraded any of his ios's beforehand
     
  12. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    I guess you need a cIOS to run anytitledeleter to remove an IOS... so it's a chicken and the egg thing?

    I thought there'd have to be something stopping it... but had never really thought too hard about it.
     
  13. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Since the 3.3v2 update fix with IOS16, it's was really clear that nintendo only needs an IOS16 with the trucha bug fixed to block trucha signed stuff in all new Wiis and in all Wiis from people clueless enough to update.

    The question is: How does the HBC installer work? I doubt the HBC is signed correctly, so how does it get installed? Team twiizers will never tell, but if the HBC is still installable, we know at least that there's still an unpatched way to install trucha signed stuff.
     
  14. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Is this the response wii shop channel currently gives? Can anyone confirm?

    [​IMG]
     
  15. UranusKiller

    Member UranusKiller TranceMaster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    Redcar, England, UK.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WiiCrazy yes it it, definitely do not update that wii heh when it's live.
     
  16. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Well I borrowed the screenshot from somewhere, not my wii [​IMG]

    Even if I update I still have a few custom ios's with trucha enabled... That sounds to me I'm still safe with this update homebrewwise...
     
  17. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    seems like there are patching the last remaining holes

    goodbye signature bug
    so long softmodding & VC/wiiware piracy [​IMG]

    (for now)
     
  18. Linuks

    Member Linuks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    Could someone post the log here? I can't access to the site...
     
  19. Chrissi1993

    Newcomer Chrissi1993 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Steinfeld, Bavaria
    Country:
    Germany
    same here in Germany. Firmware Version 3.2E with MiiWii

    [​IMG]
     
  20. DarkCamui

    Member DarkCamui GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Country:
    Sweden
    Thank god my Wii is hardmodded [​IMG]
     

Share This Page