unbricking a ds

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by kenio8185, Dec 22, 2008.

Dec 22, 2008

unbricking a ds by kenio8185 at 6:22 PM (2,867 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. kenio8185
    OP

    Member kenio8185 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    canada
    Country:
    Canada
    i'm trying to unbrick my ds but i'm pretty new to this scene. I did some research and according to what i found, i need to use something called flashme (which is why im here) and r4crypt. I'm not sure what each of them do, i read here on what flashme does and it seems like it will work, it's not the same firmware but if it's almost the same, it should work. I just need to know how to upload it if the ds is bricked. I also read that i need an r4, i've got like three of them so that isn't really a problem. Anyways, can someone give me some instructions or a place to go.
     
  2. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
  3. kenio8185
    OP

    Member kenio8185 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    canada
    Country:
    Canada
    ok, so i go get this noflashme thing put it in my r4 and then boot it up. Now how exactly do i boot up noflashme. Booting something up on a bricked ds isn't something i know how to do, i suspect it has something to do with holding buttons to boot straight from the r4 without booting the ds, but i could be wrong. Can someone explain, also, do i put noflashme on the r4 by itself or can i keep all my other stuff?
     
  4. fabi280

    Member fabi280 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Somewhere in Europe
    Country:
    Germany
    If you wanted to install Flashme and your power went off for some reason, then you can unbrick it.
    If you have installed Flashme on your DS and bricked it, then you can unbrick it.
    If you dont have an installed Flashme on your DS, then you can NOT unbrick it
     
  5. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    So how did you brick it?
     
  6. kenio8185
    OP

    Member kenio8185 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    canada
    Country:
    Canada
    would it hurt to try?
     
  7. fabi280

    Member fabi280 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Somewhere in Europe
    Country:
    Germany
    You cant try, if the DS is bricked without a previous installation of flashme
     
  8. kenio8185
    OP

    Member kenio8185 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm going to be using noflashme, not flashme. I think it's worth a shot. But do you think there is a chance things will get worse?
     
  9. paul3100

    Member paul3100 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To unbrick your ds you will need:

    1)your bricked ds
    2)working ds
    3)slot 1/2 cart
    4)flashme.nds

    Basically you load the flashme program up on the working ds and before pressing (A) to install flaskme you take out the bios chip and put your bricked ds bios chip in place and then bress (A) and it flashes the bios.

    Switch the ds off replace all bios to original ds and try! I have done this on all 3 of my ds lites and works perfectly

    paul
     
  10. fabi280

    Member fabi280 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Somewhere in Europe
    Country:
    Germany
    I would suggest that you are going to read this
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FlashMe#FlashMe
    and this
    http://home.comcast.net/~olimar/flashme/

    EDIT:
    How to switch the bios?
     
  11. paul3100

    Member paul3100 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The bios is the little metal chip with the red? wire attached to it and has some black roam on the top, to remove the bios simply pull it up and remove the wire.

    You can do this safely when the ds is turned on when using the flashme program and the method used above.

    paul
     
  12. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    If its a DS Lite, I can unbrick it. PM me.
     

Share This Page