OP
Newcomer
Trophies
Website
sylvainhb.blogspot.com
XP
Country
Belgium
Hello there. I've been making NDS games for 10 years. I've developed editors and a game engine (libgeds). They are open-source, and it would be a shame to keep that for myself. If I'm right, it would be as good as having a game maker for NDS on the NDS.

The first layer is a framework of compilation scripts (Makefile) together with low-level libraries (including a modified version of 0xtob music player. Well, everything needed to get a first program built and running.

This program is pretty simple, it loads a .XM sound track in memory from data embedded into the NDS ROM
Code:
void setactive() {
    FileDataReader fd("efs:/sndtrk.xm");
    ntxm9->stop();
    u16 err = ntxm9->load(&fd);
    ge.setWindow(active);
    if (err!=0) iprintf("ntxm says %x\n",err);
}

The "ge" you see there is the Game/GUI Engine. It has for instance the logic to detect when you press a button and call the handle() function. There, you're free to ask for the music to start or stop.
Code:
bool handle(uint& keys, Event evt) {
    if (keys & KEY_A) {
      ntxm9->play();
    }
    if (keys & KEY_Y) {
      ntxm9->stop();
    }
    return true;
}

Okay, next time we'll see how to show on screen graphics made with Sprite Editor for DS

Stay Safe.

PypeBros

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
Website
sylvainhb.blogspot.com
XP
Country
Belgium
Before I can show you how to load graphics with the GEDS engine, I must ensure you all know about how the NintendoDS builds the image we see on screen. I'm using the tiled mode here, where pictures are made of elementary 8x8 pixels elements called "tiles".
tile-to-scene.png