Trying to install a driver

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by LoloLakitu, Nov 22, 2012.

Nov 22, 2012
  1. LoloLakitu
    OP

    Member LoloLakitu Shwowow Schogog

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    That new rad hangout.
    Country:
    Canada
    There are a few games I want to play on my pc like Minecraft, and it says "Bad video card drivers!" So naturally, I try to update the drivers, so I go onto the Intel website (I have the q45 chipset) and I find there is no Windows 8 driver! I tried the Windows 7 driver, but it said something about my system requirements being too low.

    Running Windows 8 x64 8gb RAM
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  3. LoloLakitu
    OP

    Member LoloLakitu Shwowow Schogog

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    That new rad hangout.
    Country:
    Canada
    Still the same error.
     
  4. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,736
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    > Playing video games on an integrated Intel graphics chip.
    > Suprised that it's crashing.

    Windows 8 is a brand-new system and it'll take some time before hardware manufacturers adjust their drivers to it. On top of that, Intel GPU's aren't really made for gaming as much as they're made for multimedia purposes - they often crash when it comes to video games. Is this computer a laptop or a desktop? Because my advice would actually be "wait for new drivers or buy a decent graphics card", no rudeness intended.
     
  5. LoloLakitu
    OP

    Member LoloLakitu Shwowow Schogog

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    That new rad hangout.
    Country:
    Canada
    It has run minecraft before, fairly well and I am on a desktop, the Lenovo m58 sff. I am planning on getting an hd 6670, because I've read that it's the best for low power psus.
     
  6. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,736
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Usually you don't match your GPU and CPU to the PSU - you match your PSU to your CPU and GPU. Never under any circumstances limit yourself to lower-tier hardware just because you have a poor PSU - simply replace the PSU as well.
     
  7. LoloLakitu
    OP

    Member LoloLakitu Shwowow Schogog

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    That new rad hangout.
    Country:
    Canada
    [​IMG]
    Sadly, the psu is proprietary
     
  8. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,736
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    ...Ouch.

    Errr... Perhaps Lenovo manufactures ones with better output than yours...? You might find some on E-Bay if they do...
     
  9. LoloLakitu
    OP

    Member LoloLakitu Shwowow Schogog

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    That new rad hangout.
    Country:
    Canada
    Nope, all of them are 280w
     
  10. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,736
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Wow... Uhh... That sucks.

    Cardinal sin of ready-built PC's - lack or strongly restricted upgrade capabilities... I guess you'll have to wait for Windows 8 drivers then.
     
  11. LoloLakitu
    OP

    Member LoloLakitu Shwowow Schogog

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    That new rad hangout.
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, I did get the PC for free so I can't complain too much. Thanks for the help!
     
  12. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,917
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    You might try installing the latest Windows 7 driver manually. Sometimes, using the setup file fails because it thinks it's incompatible since you're using a different OS. Try going into Device Manager, going into your video card's driver properties, go to Update Driver, Browse for driver on my computer, point it to the location of the extracted driver, and tick the option to include subfolders. If this doesn't work, then you might try using the Have Disk method and point it to the INF of the driver.
     
  13. LoloLakitu
    OP

    Member LoloLakitu Shwowow Schogog

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    That new rad hangout.
    Country:
    Canada
    Guys, I figured it out. Instead I use the non Microsoft driver![​IMG]
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    To be fair, I only see this with smaller computers, most mid-tower or full-tower PCs (that aren't pulling off the slim look) use standard-sized parts, even from companies like Dell and such that are "known" for their custom factors (when in reality it's because most normal people buy slimline PCs and junk).
     

Share This Page