Hacking Transferring Super Card Two + .sav data to Cia

phill122004

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
33
Country
United States
Hey Guys,
I have several save files on my Super Card Two Plus that I would like to transfer to my cia versions of the game. I tried to follow a guide for transferring Gateway saves to Cias but run into a problem where I need to load the cartridge through gateway, which I cannot do on the Super Card Two Plus. Is there anyway for me to get these save files transferred over?

Thanks,
Phil
 

phill122004

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
33
Country
United States
If you made the saves through Gateway mode then you should be able to follow the tutorial to transfer the saves. What do you mean exactly by you can't do it? Did you try, and run into a problem, or just assume? For all intents and purposes the DSTwo + can act like a Gateway.

Sorry I wasn't more clear. I cannot access gateway mode anymore since I setup Luma 3DS and Boot9strap. I updated to the most current firmware after I set up Luma and Bootstrap. The only way the Super Card could access gateway mode was using the internet browser exploit on a lower firmware. I have all the .sav files but havent figured out how to transfer them to the cias.
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,071
Country
Australia
Sorry I wasn't more clear. I cannot access gateway mode anymore since I setup Luma 3DS and Boot9strap. I updated to the most current firmware after I set up Luma and Bootstrap. The only way the Super Card could access gateway mode was using the internet browser exploit on a lower firmware. I have all the .sav files but havent figured out how to transfer them to the cias.
Follow this https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial-using-luma3ds-gateway-on-b9s.431691/
 

phill122004

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
33
Country
United States
Thanks for all the advice. I cannot use any Gateway launchers but an old outdated version that works with the Super Card Two Plus. Is there anyway to transfer these saves and not use Gateway?
 

r5xscn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2014
Messages
311
Trophies
0
Location
On earth, somewhere
XP
1,887
Country
Antarctica
Thanks for all the advice. I cannot use any Gateway launchers but an old outdated version that works with the Super Card Two Plus. Is there anyway to transfer these saves and not use Gateway?
As far as I remember, I was able to import a save of a game from gateway to cfw.

You need to use safedatafiller to export the unencrypted safe, then import it using safedatafiller too to the cfw system.

Good luck. I think there is a tutorial somewhere here in GBATemp.

No need for gateway launcher as long as you can install safedatafiller cia.
 
Last edited by r5xscn,

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,071
Country
Australia
As far as I remember, I was able to import a save of a game from gateway to cfw.

You need to use safedatafiller to export the unencrypted safe, then import it using safedatafiller too to the cfw system.

Good luck. I think there is a tutorial somewhere here in GBATemp.
You need to be able to be in Gateway mode, and he already knows how to move the saves, cause he mentioned it in his first post.
 
Last edited by Quantumcat,

phill122004

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
33
Country
United States
No, I'm afraid not. You can use a newer launcher.dat, there's just a risk of your console bricking. Try the older one too in case it works.

Crap, I know that it was highly recommended not to use an updated version of Gateway because it has code intentionally made to brick consoles that use a Super Card Two Plus.
I ignorantly feel like there is a work around from needing to load the cartridge through gateway. I was following the guide (Importing Gateway Saves to Cias) that uses JKSM to import saves to your cias. I see the saves and I have the cias. Why can't it be imported easily? It seems like it would be as simple as transferring the save I see on my SD card to my cias.
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,071
Country
Australia
Crap, I know that it was highly recommended not to use an updated version of Gateway because it has code intentionally made to brick consoles that use a Super Card Two Plus.
I ignorantly feel like there is a work around from needing to load the cartridge through gateway. I was following the guide (Importing Gateway Saves to Cias) that uses JKSM to import saves to your cias. I see the saves and I have the cias. Why can't it be imported easily? It seems like it would be as simple as transferring the save I see on my SD card to my cias.
JKSM/Checkpoint need to be able to see the save as attached to a game, ie the cartridge that Gateway is emulating.

You could make a NAND backup, CTR transfer to 9.2, install JKSM, load up Gateway mode with the browser, extract the saves, copy the JKSM folder to your computer, restore the NAND backup, and import the saves. However, 2 things. You'll need to find an archive of the guide to get the torrent links for the 9.2 CTR transfer file, and the browser exploit may not work while running Luma (if the browser exploit doesn't work, try launching the 3dsx through Rosalina homebrew menu - you'll need to put it in the 3ds folder and have the normal boot.3dsx). But you can try!
 
Last edited by Quantumcat,

phill122004

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
33
Country
United States
JKSM/Checkpoint need to be able to see the save as attached to a game, ie the cartridge that Gateway is emulating.

You could make a NAND backup, CTR transfer to 9.2, install JKSM, load up Gateway mode with the browser, extract the saves, copy the JKSM folder to your computer, restore the NAND backup, and import the saves. However, 2 things. You'll need to find an archive of the guide to get the torrent links for the 9.2 CTR transfer file, and the browser exploit may not work while running Luma (if the browser exploit doesn't work, try launching the 3dsx through Rosalina homebrew menu - you'll need to put it in the 3ds folder and have the normal boot.3dsx). But you can try!

Thanks so much! I am not sure if I want to even attempt doing this with the risk of screwing something up but it is a really good idea. Maybe something will come along down the road and make this easier.
 

phill122004

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
33
Country
United States
JKSM/Checkpoint need to be able to see the save as attached to a game, ie the cartridge that Gateway is emulating.

You could make a NAND backup, CTR transfer to 9.2, install JKSM, load up Gateway mode with the browser, extract the saves, copy the JKSM folder to your computer, restore the NAND backup, and import the saves. However, 2 things. You'll need to find an archive of the guide to get the torrent links for the 9.2 CTR transfer file, and the browser exploit may not work while running Luma (if the browser exploit doesn't work, try launching the 3dsx through Rosalina homebrew menu - you'll need to put it in the 3ds folder and have the normal boot.3dsx). But you can try!

Hey Quantumcat,
I did all the steps to go back to 9.2, and it worked well, but your guess was right and the browser exploit for gateway will not work with Luma. I am not sure how your second suggestion with using 3DSX and boot.3dsx in homebrew is supposed to work. Do you mind explaining that idea a little more?
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,071
Country
Australia
Hey Quantumcat,
I did all the steps to go back to 9.2, and it worked well, but your guess was right and the browser exploit for gateway will not work with Luma. I am not sure how your second suggestion with using 3DSX and boot.3dsx in homebrew is supposed to work. Do you mind explaining that idea a little more?
Take the 3dsx from Gateway and put it in the 3ds folder. Download the regular boot.3dsx from the guide (https://3ds.guide/finalizing-setup). Follow the instructions on the aforementioned link to set the homebrew launcher to the Download Play app, open the homebrew launcher, choose the Gateway 3dsx file.
 

phill122004

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
33
Country
United States
Take the 3dsx from Gateway and put it in the 3ds folder. Download the regular boot.3dsx from the guide (https://3ds.guide/finalizing-setup). Follow the instructions on the aforementioned link to set the homebrew launcher to the Download Play app, open the homebrew launcher, choose the Gateway 3dsx file.

You have been an amazing help. One more question for you. I believe the version of Gateway needed to launch from Homebrew was after they started injecting it with bricking code for SC2+ users. I feel like its pretty foolish to attempt to do this just to get all my saves unless I know that I don't stand a chance at bricking my system. Would you happen to know?
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,071
Country
Australia
You have been an amazing help. One more question for you. I believe the version of Gateway needed to launch from Homebrew was after they started injecting it with bricking code for SC2+ users. I feel like its pretty foolish to attempt to do this just to get all my saves unless I know that I don't stand a chance at bricking my system. Would you happen to know?
I think - but I'm not sure - that in the later launcher.dats they removed the brick code and replaced it with a screen that just tells you to buy a genuine Gateway card. Maybe wait for confirmation on that. But if true you would be fine using a newer one.
 

phill122004

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
33
Country
United States
I think - but I'm not sure - that in the later launcher.dats they removed the brick code and replaced it with a screen that just tells you to buy a genuine Gateway card. Maybe wait for confirmation on that. But if true you would be fine using a newer one.

I have done a ton of research and tried several different methods to launch gateway on my super card but every attempt fails. I tried clearing the browser save data. I also tried launching super cards freegame.dat through homebrew to use gateway and it crashes the exact same way the browser exploit crashes. I think that Luma especially does not like browser exploits. Does anyone know why it crashes and if there is something I could try to fix it?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Here is an Idea I had while reading through other forums that might be my final and only hope. If I sent someone my saves, could they follow https://gbatemp.net/threads/importing-gateway-saves-to-cia-games.425743/ and send me the exported saves so I could import them to my cias?
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,071
Country
Australia
I have done a ton of research and tried several different methods to launch gateway on my super card but every attempt fails. I tried clearing the browser save data. I also tried launching super cards freegame.dat through homebrew to use gateway and it crashes the exact same way the browser exploit crashes. I think that Luma especially does not like browser exploits. Does anyone know why it crashes and if there is something I could try to fix it?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Here is an Idea I had while reading through other forums that might be my final and only hope. If I sent someone my saves, could they follow https://gbatemp.net/threads/importing-gateway-saves-to-cia-games.425743/ and send me the exported saves so I could import them to my cias?
Browserhax and all other hax besides Rosalina will not work on Luma (at least on 8.0+)
 
Last edited by Quantumcat,

phill122004

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
33
Country
United States
perhaps that legacy version of luma would do the trick?

I'll give that a shot. I just got the legacy boot.firm. What would be the next step to setting up an older verion of luma safely?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I'll give that a shot. I just got the legacy boot.firm. What would be the next step to setting up an older verion of luma safely?

Sorry to be such a noob. I realized that replacing the boot.firm file with an older version of Luma should do the trick. Time to test your theory.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

perhaps that legacy version of luma would do the trick?

Well, it was a great idea but I run into the exact same issues. It still crashes upon browser exploit and homebrew exploit. Any other ideas?
 

GothicIII

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
809
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,794
Country
Gambia, The
Did you try this from emunand? I believe that these exploits don‘t work if running them from emunand. It has been a while but I think I struggled with same issues.

Just downgrade your 3ds sysnand to 9.2.0 (with browser) and use the web exploit to load launcher.dat for your supercard. For this to work you dont even need luma/cfw if you remove b9s. In worst case if b9s is removed, you can just reinstall it in under 5 minutes.
At least the legacy builds of luma should support exploits. I can confirm that at least they worked with menuhax until 6/17.
I would help you converting the saves since i have a gw card and a 9.2 sysnand but i lend the 3ds a friend and I wont get it back until next year.

Please dont use the newer launcher.dat provided for gateway cards. You‘ll risk bricking your 3ds and recovering fromthat brick is pretty difficult. I never read that the brickcode was removed.

One more thing though: you must load the saves with your supercard/gw and the corresponding cfw (launcher.dat) to access them. There are no public ways to convert them without the cards. The saves are encrypted with an unknown pseudokey(+gameheader of the rom if ending is .3dz). So converting them without gw/supercard and its cfw is not possible.
 
Last edited by GothicIII,

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    Maybe only old senoirs would have loved to hear noisy kids
    +1
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    But then again, I see kids as a health hazza

    rd
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Their ears would have troubles hearing their loud screeches that they can sleep in peace.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @ZeroT21, They lack any common sense because their brain hasn't been fully developed.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    If old people learned how to use tablets more we might get them off the road :tpi:
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Anyways, I'm off for tonight. See you all later.
    +1
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Old people flip tables in anger :P
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I remember The Onion.
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    YOOO whats this
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    If anyone is here please help me with my wii
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Ask nicer
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    bruh please im just tryna play mariokart
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Bruh
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    usb loader is taking forever to load
    +1
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    i just wanna play mario kart:cry:
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Make a thread in the Nintendo forums
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    um ok
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The chatbox is for chatting not everyone here knows how to solve your issue
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    Oh alright my bad
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    Rip
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I wouldn't advise anyone to stick anything else down there. :creep:
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: I wouldn't advise anyone to stick anything else down there. :creep: