Transferring saved game data

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by EJade, Sep 27, 2012.

Sep 27, 2012

Transferring saved game data by EJade at 7:50 AM (776 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. EJade
    OP

    Newcomer EJade Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Hello all. I've searched the forums and either I'm the first to ask, or I've missed this question. But recently I bought an R4i gold flash card. I've just did all the updates and whatnot and I was wondering if it is at all possible to transfer my saved game data from my old Acekard to my new R4? I've tried just straight copying anf pasting my game folder from one to the other, but that did not work. The R4 is acting as if there is no old data at all. If I can't transfer, it's understandable. I'm just wondering if I can.
     
  2. ground

    Member ground GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    906
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yes it can, you only have to rename the files correctly. Correct me if I am wrong, but acekard saves it in 'romname.nds.sav' while R4 saves it in 'romname.sav' format. so you can copy the files directly but take the .nds. out of the savefiles name.
     
  3. EJade
    OP

    Newcomer EJade Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    When viewing the files on my computer from my acecard it's just romname.sav There is no nds inbetween. That is why I tried to just directly copy and paste.
     
  4. ground

    Member ground GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    906
    Country:
    Netherlands
    my bad, then start one game with you're R4. Then view the files on you're sd card and see if the R4 puts .nds.sav after the save file.
     
  5. Shadow#1

    Member Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,092
    Country:
    United States
    make sure in windows that u have unchecked the setting under folder options "hide extensions of known file type" as it is checked by default, so u can always see the file extension of all files
     
  6. EJade
    OP

    Newcomer EJade Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I always have my folder settings to show file extensions. But I doubled checked to make sure. File extensions are still marked as shown. I tried starting a new game on my R4. it shows romname.sav just like how it is on my Acekard. Nevermind! there is a nds.sav file extension. For whatever reasson, it wasn't showin up the first time on my R4! But I fixed it!
     

Share This Page