Touch Screen stopped working

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by .Darky, Mar 14, 2010.

Mar 14, 2010

Touch Screen stopped working by .Darky at 9:20 PM (1,301 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. .Darky
    OP

    Member .Darky GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,163
    Location:
    Lima
    Country:
    Peru
    So, today the touch screen of my DS lite stopped working. I first noticed something when I turned it on some hours ago: just after the "health and safety" screen appeared, where you're supposed to press a button or touch the screen to continue, it automatically skipped to the DS Menu (you know, the one when you can choose DS download play, pictochat, etc) w/o me doing anything. I thought something was wrong with the screen since I didn't press any button. After that I tried to play some Ragnarok DS and the screen was completely dead so I couldn't do shit...

    Since both the L and R buttons are hardly working and my DS lite is 3 years old (not under warranty)... should I bother to repair it or should I get a new one?


    Also, I'm not sure if this is the problem but some minutes before everything happened I cleaned both screens, as I always do, with a fluid and a soft tissue. I think that perhaps some of it managed to get into the DS and mess up something but I doubt it.

    So, what do you guys think?
     
  2. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Do you have a screen protector? If so, try removing it and see if it works.
     
  3. .Darky
    OP

    Member .Darky GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,163
    Location:
    Lima
    Country:
    Peru
    Ok, I'll give it a try.
     
  4. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Try to fix the touchscreen by doing this. Get a napkin and make it wet not really wet but a little. Clean the Touchscreen with the napkin. Then take another dry napkin and dry the Touchscreen that will fix it. I had the same problem as you before.
     
  5. gozza

    Newcomer gozza Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    Germany
    if you know what you are doing, then open your ds and try to find the error, maybe its just a ribbon cable that lost its position
     
  6. .Darky
    OP

    Member .Darky GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,163
    Location:
    Lima
    Country:
    Peru
    I fail to see how cleaning the screen again will fix the problem...


    Also, Nadrian... what you said didn't work.


    Any more ideas, guys?
     
  7. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    It fixed mine.
     
  8. xxRAG3

    Member xxRAG3 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Country:
    United States
    Every single point on the screen doesn't work? Like, no matter where you touch? This is probably signaling to some internal problem, which would result in you having to crack open your DS. No warranty?
     
  9. .Darky
    OP

    Member .Darky GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,163
    Location:
    Lima
    Country:
    Peru
    Um...this is weird. I went to hang out with my friends for a while and I just returned. Just for the hell of it I turned on my DS and the touch screen works perfectly now. I even booted Ragnarok DS again and I can play without problems.

    The fuck?
     
  10. Shufflemac

    Newcomer Shufflemac Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    NB, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Nintendo's secrete attempt to give people a reason to buy a DSi XL through background WiFi because they no that nobody gives a shit for it. :D
     
  11. BlackDave

    Member BlackDave Official GBATemp "Cleanup Guy"

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    The Promised Land...
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah but it might happen again so be prepared
     
  12. gozza

    Newcomer gozza Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    Germany
    sounds like a connection problem

    my GF's DS has the same prob, it doesnt plays the sound all the time
    i opened her DS and saw that a ribbon cable is torn apart
     

Share This Page