"the ordinal 681 could not be located..." Help?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by .Chris, Mar 23, 2011.

Mar 23, 2011
  1. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Okay so I installed this program called "Seven Remix XP". It said I had to restart, and so I did. After the computer rebooted , I logged on on it came up with pop-up saying:
    Code:
    The ordinal 681 could not be located in the dynamic link library iertutil.dll.
    Does anyone know how to fix this? I can't even access "explorer.exe".]

    I can only load Task Manager and Google Chrome.
     
  2. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What exactly does this program do? I only saw something about it on DeviantArt, but it was very vague.
    And what OS are you using?
     
  3. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    It just customizes XP to look like Seven
    I am using Windows XP.
     
  4. aiRWaLKRe

    Member aiRWaLKRe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    260
    Location:
    Orlando
    Country:
    United States
  5. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,276
    Country:
    Chile
    Perhaps it´s designed to run under certain Framework2.0/3.5 different Windows XP distribution.
     
  6. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States

    So what do I do now?
     
  7. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,276
    Country:
    Chile
    It means there`s not such function in the library you have already.

    IIRC ietutil.dll belongs to internet explorer.

    So either you have a old version of internet explorer, and need to upgrade, or your current Windows XP distribution doesn`t meet the minimal requirements the app requires. (Upgrade Windows XP to PRO SP3..)

    And looks like its iertutil.dll not ietutil.dl

    Download it here, then start in windows protected mode (F8 at startup)

    http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/dll-files.shtml?iertutil

    Then replace iertutil.dll in DRIVE:/WINDOWS/SYSTEM32/.


    But again, perhaps your IE version seems too low. Upgrade to IE8 (Or IE7 of you`re on windows XP)
     
  8. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    ^Okay, I will try that. But what do I do if it doesn't fix it?
     
  9. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, that doesn't work. I replaced the file and all, but 'explorer.EXE' doesn't want to load.
     
  10. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
  11. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, the install for IE8 did not complete, only came out with this:

    Code:
    Internet Explorer installation did not complete
    
    
    
    Setup could not verifty the integrity of the file Update.inf. Make sure the Cryptographic service is running on this computer.
    Okay first of all, where is "Update.inf" located?
    Second, what is the Cryptographic service?
     
  12. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,276
    Country:
    Chile
    I believe you`re running a custom XP build. Sadly most of them disables some vital functionality of part of libraries needed by now, or either your computer has severe troyan-horses / viruses.

    I`d strongly recommend you to backup all your data, upgrade to a CLEAN Windows XP SP3 fresh install, upgrade framework 2.0 then framework 3.5.

    Then you should be able to run all you may want.

    -

    Or either you have some hardware problems, but this is most unlikely. Do some clean up at your computer (format) at least twice / three times a year!
     
  13. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I dont have to backup any of the Programs, unless they're bought, right?
    If I format my computer, do I just go in "Computer" and right-click, then format?

    And I just scanned my computer with an anti-virus program, and found nothing.
     
  14. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,276
    Country:
    Chile
    Errr... no.

    Format means a total wipe of your current windows partition, then a fresh install of it. (Using Windows XP SP3 bootcd) Because seems you´ve got a real mess over there.
     
  15. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    What if i don't have Boot CD?
     
  16. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Bump.
    What do I do if I don't have a boot CD?
     
  17. jasonheuberger

    Newcomer jasonheuberger Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I am having the same problem. I have a Dell Netbook Mini with a Intel Atom processor, 7.40GB harddrive, Windows XP Operating System. I have followed most of the directions given here but when I tried to install Internet Explorer 8 it said installation not complete. I dont have a boot CD, nor a floppy disk, and I dont have a flash in my possession. I am running everything through Command prompt. I have done the registry check and it wont register the iertutil.dll file. Everything else checks out. There has to be some other way to fix this. Everytime I try to run a program or a install, it stops and says that it cant find explore.exe. I have looked for the .dll manually but there is to much to search through. I have firefox as my main browser so that is what I use now.
     

Share This Page